
Form # 440 REV 01/29/2014 
 

STATE OF ALASKA 
Division of Motor Vehicles 
Request for Crash Report Form 

 

I am requesting the following: 

       Crash Report Form 12-200 completed by law enforcement             Crash Report Form 12-209 completed by myself 

*All motor vehicle records are subject to the Federal Driver Privacy Protection (Chapter 123, Section 2721) and considered 
confidential under Alaska law (AS 28.10.505).  Personal information from these records may only be released to individuals or 
organizations that qualify under one of the exceptions listed on the back of this form. 
 
                
Crash Report/Incident # (if available)   Date of Incident/Crash 
 
                
Region or City the Crash Occurred    Name of Driver 

       I qualify to obtain this information as part of my own personal record 
 
       I qualify under exception number    on the back of this form. 
 
My signature on this document acknowledges that I understand that improper release of information and/or false 
representations to gain information from DMV record are prohibited acts. 
 
                
Signature of Requestor        Date 
 
                       
Printed Requestor Name     Date of Birth   Alaska Driver’s License Number  
 
                
Government Agency or Business Requesting  Contact Telephone #  Email 
              
                 
Mailing Address to Send Crash Report    City    State  ZIP Code 
 
There is a $10 fee per crash report requested.  Payment can be made by check or money order payable to the State of Alaska.  
A Visa, or MasterCard may be charged by completing the below information and authorization. 
 
                
Credit Card #        Expiration Date 
 
                
Name Shown on Credit Card 
 
I understand that my credit shown above will be charged $10.00 for each crash report requested. 
 
                
Signature of credit card holder      Date  
 
Return form to:  Division of Motor Vehicles  
   PO Box 110221 
   Juneau, AK 99811-0221 
   Fax:  (907) 465-5509 
   Phone:  (907) 465-4361 Option #2  



 
Disclosure of Personal Information Contained in Motor Vehicle Records AS 28.10.505  
 
The department may not disclose personal information notwithstanding AS 40.24.300 or unless excepted as provided in this 
section.  Personal information means information that identifies a person, including a name, address, telephone number, and 
medical or disability information, but does not include information on vehicular accidents, driving- or equipment-related 
violations, driver’s license or registration status, or a zip code. 
 
Permissible Uses: 
 

A. Motor vehicle or driver safety and theft 
B. Motor vehicle emissions 
C. Motor vehicle product alterations, recalls or advisories 
D. Performance monitoring of motor vehicles and dealers by motor vehicle manufacturers 
E. Removal of non-owner record from the original owner records of motor vehicle manufacturers as required by federal 

law. 
 
Exceptions: 
 

1. By written consent of person who is the subject of the information. 
 

2. For use by a government agency, including a court or law enforcement agency, in carrying out its functions or by a 
private person or entity acting on the behalf of a government agency in carrying out its functions. 
 

3. For use in the normal course of business by a legitimate business or an agent, employee, or contractor of the business, 
but only to: 
a. Verify the accuracy of personal information submitted by an individual  
b. To obtain correct information, but only for purposes of: 

• preventing fraud by the individual 
• pursuing legal remedies against  
• recovering on a debt or security interest against, an individual 
  

4. For use in connection with a civil, criminal, administrative, or arbitration proceeding in a court or government agency 
or before a self-regulatory or enforcement of a judgment or court order; 
 

5. For use in research activities, or in producing statistical reports, if the personal information is not published,            
re-disclosed, or used to contact an individual; 
 

6. For use by an insurer or insurance support organization, or by a self-insured entity, or an agent, employee, or 
contractor of an insurer, in connection with claims investigation activities, anti-fraud activities, rating, or underwriting; 
 

7. For use by an employer or an agent or insurer of an employer to obtain or verify information relating to a holder of a 
commercial driver’s license that is required under 49 U.S.C. 31101 – 31162 (Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act); 
 

8. For use in connection with the operation of private toll transportation facilities; 
 

9. For use in connection with a legitimate business operating under a contract with the department; 
 

10. For bulk distribution for surveys, marketing, or solicitations if the person who is the subject of the information has 
provided written consent to the release; 
 

11. For any other purpose specifically authorized by law that is related to the operation of a motor vehicle or related to 
public safety 
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