
 
Page 1 of 2 

Form 480 (Rev. 3/18/2016)   Alaska.gov/dmv 

STATE OF ALASKA  
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

 
REMOTE ALASKA  

APPLICATION FOR DRIVER LICENSE, PERMIT OR IDENTIFICATION CARD 
 

 
INSTRUCTIONS: You must provide two documents to verify your full legal name and date of birth. Original or certified copies of the documents are 
required for a first time issuance or to make a change to your legal name, date of birth or social security number. Original documents will be returned to 
you. If you are renewing or obtaining a duplicate card with no changes, copies of your documents are acceptable. A social security number in your current 
legal name or documentation that you are not eligible for a social security number is required. Non-US citizens must provide a passport and current visa.  
 

FULL 
LEGAL 
NAME: 

First Middle Last Suffix 

Alaska License / Permit / ID Number, if applicable. Date of Birth  Sex Height 
            ft                in 

Weight Hair Color Eye Color 

PLACE 
OF 

BIRTH: 

City State Country (If other than USA)  Social Security Number 

 
MAILING ADDRESS: (The address that will appear on the card and where the card will be mailed.) City State Zip Code 

 
INSTRUCTIONS: A residence address and verification of that address are required. Documents include utility bill, mail, rental agreement, etc.  

 
INSTRUCTIONS:  A veteran’s designation requires documentation of your service. Please see list of acceptable documents on next page. 

  

VETERAN 
I declare myself an honorably discharged US Armed Forces veteran and authorize DMV to send my personal 
information to the Dept. of Military and Veterans Affairs to provide benefits to me.  YES      NO 

I have a US Armed Forces honorable discharge and wish to have a veteran designation on my license.    YES      NO 

ORGAN DONOR 
Would you like to be an organ donor with a designator displayed on your license / ID card?  YES      NO 
Would you like to donate $1 or more to the anatomical gift awareness fund?  If so, how much? $ 

PREVIOUS 
NAMES If applicable, list any previous / maiden names by which you have been known:  

DRIVER 
LICENSE 

QUESTIONS 
 

If applicable, list any states in which you have been previously licensed in the last 10 years:  

Have your driving privileges ever been suspended or revoked or application for license refused?  YES      NO 
    State: Date: Reason:   

    State: Date: Reason:   

Within the last five years, have you had a medical condition or impairment, mental or physical disorder, seizure or 
any other health problems that could affect your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle?  YES      NO 

If yes, please explain:   

Within the last five years, have you been convicted of three or more alcohol or drug-related offenses?  YES      NO 

If yes, you must provide physician verification that the problem is under control or proof of completion of a rehabilitative treatment program. 
COMMERCIAL 

DRIVERS ONLY 
Are you domiciled in the State of Alaska?  YES      NO 

 
I have personally reviewed the information on this application and certify under penalty of perjury that to the best of my knowledge and belief the 
information on this application is true and correct. NOTE: Making a false statement in connection with this application may be punishable by a maximum 
penalty of $50,000 or five years imprisonment or both per AS 11.46.505.   

 
 

LICENSE / PERMIT CLASSIFICATION ENDORSEMENTS 

   Driver License       Non-Commercial (D)              Hazardous Materials (H)        Passenger (P) 

   Instruction Permit       Motorcycle         Tank (N)        School Bus (S) 

      Identification Card     CDL      A     B      C   Tank (N) + HazMat (H) = (X)        Doubles / Triples (T) 

RESIDENCE ADDRESS: (Physical location. No PO Box or Mail Receiving Stations.) City State Zip Code 

EMAIL ADDRESS:  
 

PHONE NUMBER:   

     

X     

 SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE  SIGNATURE OF WITNESS DATE 



Mail Completed Application and 
Required Documents to: 

Requirements for Original License/ID 
(Must be original or certified copies) 

Requirements for Duplicate or Renewal 
Documents can be copies unless changing name, DOB or 

SSN, which require original documents. 

Division of Motor Vehicles  
P.O. Box 110221 
Juneau, AK 99811-0221 
 

Phone: (907) 465-4361, ext. #2  
Email: doa.dmv.jds@alaska.gov  
Website: http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/ 
 
 

• A birth certificate or valid passport (with current 
visa documents if applicable). 

• A second document such as a state ID or 
license, school ID or tribal card.  

• Proof of SSN with current name and DOB 
verified with the Social Security Administration. 

• Proof of physical/residence address.  
• Proof of tests passed within one year.  
• If under 18 years of age, an original notarized 

Parental Consent (Form 433). 
• Vision Test. 
• Fees. 

• Birth certificate or valid passport (with current visa 
documents if applicable). 

• A second document such as a state ID or license, 
school ID or tribal card.  

• Proof of SSN with current name and DOB verified 
with the Social Security Administration. 

• If under 18 years of age, an original notarized 
Parental Consent (Form 433). 

• If turning 21 years of age, proof of passed alcohol 
awareness test.  

• Vision Test. 
• Fees.  

 
 

Commercial Driver License (CDL) or Commercial License Permit (CLP) Instructions: A Commercial Driver Medical & Self Certifying Verification 
(Form 413 Rev. 12/4/15 or later) is required, accompanied by a current DOT medical card if required by the type of operation on your self-certification. You 
must have held a valid license for at least one year before obtaining a CDL or CLP. The minimum age for an intrastate (Alaska-only) CDL is 19 years of 
age; 21 years of age for an interstate CDL. If you have not passed a required skills test in the class vehicle for which you are driving, your CDL will be 
restricted “Off-Highway” and can only be used to drive in off-highway communities in Alaska. Prior to taking a road skill test to remove the off-highway 
restriction you must hold a CDL permit for a minimum of 14 days. CDLs will not be mailed out of state. 
 
There are additional requirements to obtain a School Bus Driver License, including a road skills test. Visit DMV’s website for additional information. 
 
Off-Highway Restricted Licenses are only valid for use in Alaska off-highway communities and will not be mailed out of state.  
 
A “Valid Without Photo” Driver License may be issued to an individual when no Alaska DMV digital photo is available. A “Valid Without Photo” ID card 
cannot be issued unless the division has a digital photo on file. 
 
To add a Veteran Designation requires a Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (DD Form 214 or 215) or; Report of Separation and Record 
of Service (Form NGB22 or NGB22A); or a letter signed by the Veterans Department that identifies you as a retired veteran or a veteran discharged under 
honorable conditions; or a valid military identification card that identifies you as a retired veteran or veteran discharged under honorable conditions. 

 

 

 

VISION TEST  
Completed by a doctor, nurse practitioner or qualified person 

Left Eye:  20/ __________   Right Eye:   20/  ___________  Corrective lenses used for test?:   Yes   No 

Color Blind Test (Commercial License Only):     Pass    Fail (Requires Vision Waiver)   Not Available (DOT Medical Card Required) 

X________________________________________________________________________________ 
Printed Name of Vison Test Administrator 

_____________________________________________________________ 
Company or Agency Name 

X_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
Signature of Vision Test Administrator 

_____________________________________________________________ 
Contact Phone Number 

FEES: Contact DMV for Reinstatement Requirements at 907-465-4361 (ext. 2) 
Identification Card:   
Original/Duplicate/Renewal: $15 
Alcohol-Restricted:  $50 

Noncommercial or Motorcycle License:   
Original/ Renewal:  $21   Duplicate: $15   
Alcohol-Restricted (first issuance): $50 

Commercial Driver License: 
Original/ Renewal :  $101  
Duplicate: $15 

Instruction Permit:    
Original:  $15    Duplicate: $15  Renewal:  $5 

Credit Card Charge Authorization  
Credit Card Number:  
Visa or Master Card:     ____________/____________/____________/____________ 

Expiration Date: 
                              ______ / _____ Visa Card VIN Code: 

Printed Card Holder Name: Daytime Phone:  Authorized  
Charge:   $                             

 
X  ____________________________________________________________________________  
       Signature of Card Holder 

Date: 

*****DMV USE ONLY ***** 
LICENSE 
ISSUED 

 Original      Re ne w     Duplica te Endorsements Added  Endorsements Removed 

Class: Restrictions Added Restrictions Removed  

DOCUMENTS SEEN / OTHER NOTES 
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