826

STATE OF ALASKA DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

CLAIM OF OWNERSHIP / INVOLUNTARY LIEN

E INFORMATION	License Plate Number		State Serial Numb		per (VIN)				
	Year Make		Mo	Model		Body Style	Color		
	Registered Owner(s)								
	Mailing Address			City		State	Zip Code		
VEHICLI	Lienholder								
	Mailing Address			City		State	Zip Code		
l cla	nim a lien / ownership of t	he above vehicle	as permitted b	by the following A	Alaska Statut	e / Regulation:			
	Towing / Impound Lien – I understand 28.10.502 and swear/affirm that all requirements of the statute have been met and that I have a legal lien on this vehicle.								
	Improvement / Mechanic / Work Lien – I understand 34.35.175 and swear/affirm that all requirements of the statute have been met and that I have a legal lien on this vehicle.								
	Warehouse / Storage Facility Lien – I understand 34.35.175, 34.35.220, and 34.35.225, and the Alaska Rules of Civil Procedure 4(e)(2) and swear/affirm that all requirements of the statutes have been met and that I have a legal lien on this vehicle.								
	Abandoned Vehicle – I am the owner of the property on which the vehicle was abandoned and I understand 28.11.025 and 28.05.121 and swear/affirm that all requirements of the statutes have been met and that I have a legal right to this vehicle. I may not								
NO	transfer this vehicle until it has been successfully titled in my name. Repossessed Vehicle – I have reviewed Alaska Statutes 45.29.601-45.29.628 and swear/affirm that all applicable requirements of the statutes have been met and that I have a legal lien on this vehicle.								
MATI	Odometer Reading (miles)		7 == 3				Date of Sale		
FORM			(B) The mileage stated is in excess of mechanical limits						
N			(C) The odometer reading is not the actual reading. WARNING: Odometer Discrepancy						
CLAIN	I have personally reviewed the information on this application and certify under penalty of perjury that to the best of my knowledge and belief the information on this application is true and correct. (NOTE: Making a false statement or omitting a material fact is subject to a maximum penalty of \$10,000 or 1 year imprisonment or both per AS 11.56.210 and AS 28.35.135.)								
	Printed Name of Claimant								
	Company Name (if applicable)								
	Signature					ID / Dr	iver License Number		
	Subscribed and Sworn to before me this						(SEAL)		
	day of, 20 Signature of Notary Public or DMV Representative (LOGIN ID & Office Location)								
NOTAR									
	Commission Expiration: A notary public or other officer completing this certificate verifies only the identity of the individual who signed the document, to which this certificate is attached, a								
not the truthfulness, accuracy, or validity of that document. ***DOES NOT APPLY TO ABANDONED VEHICLES***									
In a	accordance with all applicable statutes, the vehicle described above was sold to the person shown below as the Buyer: Printed Name of Buyer Signature of Buyer								
Щ									
SA	Location of Sale					Cash Payment A	mount		

ABANDONED VEHICLE

) PROV	IDE ALL DESCRIBED DOCUMENTATION OR FOLLOW DESCRIBED PROCESSES MAY RESULT IN DIFFICULTY OBTAINING A
	EVIDENCE OF AUTHORIZATION TO TOW This is normally a tow bill, two log, police report, or written authorization from a private property owner.
	EVIDENCE OF NOTIFICATION OF IMPOUND Evidence demonstrating that a letter notifying the owner of the impound was sent via Certified Mail to the Primary Owner and Lienholder on record with the Department. A copy of this letter must be presented. This letter must be sent within seven days. Failure to do so prevents the tow company from charging more than 60 days' storage.
	WAIT AT LEAST 30 DAYS
	EVIDENCE OF NOTIFICATION OF INTENT TO SELL Evidence demonstrating that a letter notifying the owner of the intent to sell the vehicle was sent via Certified Mail to the Primary Owner and Lienholder on record with the Department. A copy of the letter must be presented and must contain the following: - Description of the vehicle, including VIN and Plate Number - Date AND time of the sale (This date must be at least 20 days after the letter is sent) - Location of the sale - Statement of the amount due - The name and address of the person to whom the charges are due
	WAIT AT LEAST 20 DAYS
	SELL THE VEHICLE AS DETAILED ABOVE The sale must take place as detailed in the Notification of Intent to Sell. The date, time, and location may not be changed without sending a new notice with at least 20 days' notice of the new sale.
	DISPOSITION OF FUNDS All monies realized must be applied FIRST: to the costs and expenses of the sale, SECOND: to the discharge of the lien, and THIRD: all remaining funds are to be turned over to the Division of Motor Vehicles.
	PROVIDE MATERIALS /LABOR (IMPROVEMENT LIEN) -OR- SAFELY STORE AT OWNER'S REQUEST Please provide documentation of the materials / labor furnished, or an agreement to safely store the vehicle. This documentation must be dated.
	THREE MONTHS NON-PAYMENT If the charges are not paid within three months, the vehicle may be sold at PUBLIC AUCTION
	EVIDENCE OF NOTIFICATION OF INTENT TO SELL Provide evidence demonstrating that a letter notifying the owner of the intent to sell the vehicle was sent via Registered Letter to the Owner or Purported Owner of the vehicle at the last known place of residence.
	EVIDENCE OF PUBLIC POSTING The notice of public sale must be posted in three public places located in the same recording district as the sale location. The notices must remain in place for at least ten days before the public sale. Please provide a copy of the notice to satisfy the evidence requirement for posting notice(s) of the sale. Both the public notice and the letter to the owner/lienholder must contain:

Description of the vehicle, including VIN

- Date AND time of the sale (This date must be at least 10 days after the letter is sent/posted)
- Location of the sale
- Statement of the amount due
- Name of the owner or reputed owner.

WAIT AT LEAST 10 DAYS

SELL THE VEHICLE AT PUBLIC AUCTION

The sale must take place as detailed in the Notification of Intent to Sell. The date, time, and location may not be changed without sending a new notice with at least 10 days' notice of the new sale.

DISPOSITION OF FUNDS

All monies realized must be applied FIRST: to the costs and expenses of the sale, SECOND: to the discharge of the lien, and THIRD: all remaining funds are to be turned over to the Division of Motor Vehicles.

ESTABLISH ABANDONMENT

In order to be considered abandoned, the vehicle must have been placed on private property WITHOUT CONSENT. If the property owner gave permission for it to be parked, it is not considered abandoned for this process.

If the vehicle remains on the property after being initially parked without consent, it may be claimed by the property owner after proper notification.

SEND NOTICE OF CLAIM & SUBMIT DOCUMENTATION

Provide evidence demonstrating that a letter notifying the owner of the intent to claim the vehicle was sent via Certified Mail to the Primary Owner and any Lienholder on record with the Department.

If there is no record with the Department, or the owner's identity cannot reasonably be found, notice may be given by publication as dictated by the rules of the court for service of process by publication. (Posting once a week for four consecutive weeks on the Alaska Court system legal notice website or in an Alaskan Published Newspaper.)

This notice must contain the vehicles information (including VIN), the location of the vehicle, the period of abandonment and intent to claim ownership if not recovered.

WAIT AT LEAST 30 DAYS after notice was sent or initially published.

CLAIM THE VEHICLE

If the vehicle is not reclaimed within 30 days after notice is given, the title to the vehicle vests with the owner of the property.