## STATE OF ALASKA DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

## AFFIDAVIT OF ABANDONMENT AND/OR SALE OF A MOBILE HOME

Serial Number (VIN)		Make	Year	
Registered Owner		Address		
		City/State/Zip		
Lienholder		Address		
		City/State/Zip		
Ι, _	(Name)		, do hereby swear under penalty of perjury that:	
1. I am the person(s), corporation(s) or company(ies) who posses the personal property described above.				
2.	2. The registered owner of the personal property described above did willfully and intentionally abandon the premises where said personal property was situated.			
3.	I have had to store the personal property on behalf of the registered owner and have incurred space rent as well as storage fees associated with abandonment of said personal property.			
4.	4. I provided by registered mail to the registered vehicle owner and to the lienholder of record, if any, at the mailing address shown on Division records, notice of demand of payment and notification of public sale and have attached a copy of such notice to this affidavit.			
5.	I have posted a notice of public sale of the personal property in three public places within the recording district of the public sale, one being the post office nearest the public sale, and <b>have attached a copy of said notice to this affidavit.</b> This notice was posted at least ten (10) days prior to the public sale.			
6.	I sold the personal property at public auction and have applied the proceeds of the sale as follows: first, to the expenses of the sale; second, to the discharge of my lien; third, to the lienholder of record, if any, as shown on the records of the Division of Motor Vehicles; fourth, to the registered owner of the property described above. A copy of the Bill of Sale is attached to this affidavit.			
7.	I have complied with all applicable requirements as set forth in AS 34.03.260 and AS 09.35.140.			
8.	In the event of litigation arising from the sale of the above described property and/or issuance of title thereto, I agree to indemnify and hold harmless the State of Alaska, Division of Motor Vehicles, for any liability incurred thereof.			
9.	I am further aware that if any statement within this affidavit is false, I may be prosecuted pursuant to Alaska Statute and Regulations.			
Dated This Day of , ,				
Name of Company or Individual		Signa	ture of Authorized Agent or Individual	
		Subso	cribed and Sworn to before me this Day of,,	
Signature				
Address			y or DMV Representative (LOGIN ID & Office Location)	
City/State/Zip				

## **INSTRUCTIONS:**

Follow all instructions outlined in Number 1 - 9 on Form 838 as requested.

The information requested on the top of the form is what is on DMV records.

The name of the person or company that is requesting a title in their name would complete the bottom of the form. Your signature must be witnessed by a DMV representative or notarized. Notary's can normally be found at banks and credit unions. If you are not in Alaska when completing the paperwork, cross out the word "ALASKA" and write in the name of the state where the document is being notarized.

The following items are required in addition to Form 838:

- A copy of the notice of public sale.
- A bill of sale from the property owner.
- A copy of the notice of demand of payment.
- An Application for Title & Registration ~ Form 812 (See our web site under FORMS).
- \$100.00 title fee.
- \$15.00 additional if there is a lienholder.

NOTE: A title must be issued in the buyer's name before the mobile home can be resold.