
Alaska Public Offices Commission 

MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS 
 

Please read this document carefully for important information 

about starting your campaign. 
 

This information is presented only as an overview of your disclosure requirements.  It is your 

responsibility to familiarize yourself and your campaign workers with the statutes and 

regulations to ensure you that you are in compliance with the law.  Please visit the APOC 

homepage at www.doa.alaska.gov/apoc for further information, training opportunities, and to 

remain updated about your requirements and responsibilities as a candidate.  
 

Unless they meet specific criteria found in AS 15.13.040(m)(1), candidates must file all forms 

and reports electronically through myAlaska.  Many Alaskans already have a myAlaska 

account to apply for their Permanent Fund Dividend. You may use this same account for APOC 

purposes.  Candidates have the option to allow others to view their filings, but this access is 

specific to APOC services only. 
 

FORMS TO GET STARTED 
 

Letter of Intent:  Must be filed with the APOC before any candidate engages in campaign 

activity.  A Letter of Intent allows the candidate to begin accepting and spending contributions 

and may be filed 18 months prior to the date of the election.  However, if a candidate files their 

Declaration of Candidacy first, they do not need to file a Letter of Intent. 
 

The Declaration of Candidacy:  Municipal candidates file their Declaration with their specific 

Municipal Clerk’s Office.  The Declaration of Candidacy is what gets a municipal candidate’s 

name on the ballot.  Check with your Municipal Clerk’s Office to find out when your filing 

period opens and closes. 
 

Public Official Financial Disclosure Statement:  Must be filed with the Declaration of 

Candidacy at the Municipal Clerk’s Office.  Some municipalities have opted out of the 

requirement of filing a Public Official Financial Disclosure Statement.  Check with your 

municipal clerk to be sure that you are complying with the requirements of your municipality. 
 

Candidate Registration: Must be filed within 7 days after filing the Declaration of Candidacy 

with the Municipal Clerk’s Office. The registration provides your campaign contact information, 

designates your campaign committee, and your campaign depository.  Candidates may amend 

registrations as needed.  Until a candidate files their registration, designating a Treasurer or 

Deputy Treasurers, only the candidate may accept/expend campaign funds. 
 

Municipal Exemption Statement: May be filed by municipal candidates that do not intend to 

exceed $5,000 in campaign activity, including any personal money that they may use.  As long 

as they remain under the $5,000 threshold, this is the only form they are required to file with 

APOC.  Although exempt candidates do not file campaign disclosure reports, they are still 

subject to the laws that apply to candidates, including the requirement that ads, yard signs, and 

other campaign materials include “paid for by” identifiers as required under AS 15.13.090 and 

 2 AAC 50.306 (see page 2).   

http://www.doa.alaska.gov/apoc/
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#15.13.040
https://my.alaska.gov/
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#15.13.090
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp#2.50.306


Candidate Reimbursement Notification: If candidates loan personal funds to their campaign 

with the intent to repay themselves after the election, they MUST file a Candidate 

Reimbursement Form within 5 days of depositing personal funds into their campaign account. 

The maximum limit a municipal candidate can loan and recover is $5,000.  HOWEVER, if the 

candidate is able to reimburse their personal contributions from the campaign account within 72 

hours they may do so, and they do NOT need to file the Reimbursement Form.   
 

CAMPAIGN DISCLOSURE REPORTS 
 

Candidates, who are not exempt, are required to disclose financial information about their 

campaigns.  The purpose of a campaign disclosure report is to provide a snapshot of a candidate’s 

activity during a specific reporting period. The reporting period is the time period covered by a 

campaign disclosure report.  A due date is the date when a report is due, and comes three days after 

the end of a reporting period.  The three days allows a treasurer time to complete the report.  
 

The number of reports filed by municipal candidates will vary depending on when the campaign 

begins.  If a candidate filed a Letter of Intent on or before February 1, they will begin with a Year 

Start Report, due February 15.  Otherwise the cycle will begin with a 30 Day Report (due 30 days 

before the election), 7 Day Report (due 7 days before the election) and a 105 Day Report (which 

should be a final report and is due 105 days after the election).  In addition, during the 9 days before 

an election, candidates must report the contributor name and the amount of all monetary and non-

monetary contributions, from a single source, over $250 (i.e. $250.01) within 24 hours of receipt.  

Candidates may need to report each day during that period, or not at all. 
 

OTHER START UP CONSIDERATIONS 

 

Only the candidate, a registered treasurer or a registered deputy treasurer may spend money on 

behalf of the campaign.  Any action by a treasurer or registered deputy treasurer is considered an 

action of the candidate. 
 

If a registered treasurer or deputy treasurer uses personal funds to make a purchase on behalf of 

the campaign, it is a personal non-monetary contribution to the campaign (against their 

individual $500 contribution limit) unless it is (1) $500 or less and (2) it is reimbursed within 

the same reporting cycle.  
 

PAID FOR BY IDENTIFIERS 
 

Alaska Statute 15.13.090 and Regulation 2 AAC 50.306 require a paid for by identifier on all 

political communications.  For candidate campaigns, print or video communications (i.e. 

newspaper ads, videos, Facebook pages, yard signs, etc.) must have the visible identifier: 

 “paid for by” followed by the name and address of the candidate 
 

Audible communications (i.e. radio ads, videos with sound, robo calls, etc.) must have the 

audible identifier:  

“This communication was paid for by (candidate’s name only)”  
 

If the communication has both a print/video and audio component (i.e. commercials, YouTube 

videos, etc.) it must have both a visual and audible disclaimer. Fixing missing or incomplete paid 

for by disclaimers costs time and money for a campaign, and can result in civil penalties.   



CIVIL PENALTIES 

Civil penalties apply to candidates who violate campaign disclosure law.  Violations include failure 

to file a campaign disclosure report on time or failure to file a complete and accurate campaign 

disclosure report.  Even if you are filing a report indicating that you have had no activity in 

that report period, you will be assessed a civil penalty if the report is late.  It is YOUR 

responsibility, as the filer, to familiarize yourself (and your campaign workers) with the campaign 

disclosure law requirements and reporting deadlines.  Penalties range from $50 to $500 a day 

depending on the report.   

Review the APOC website for further reporting requirements.  This information is only meant to 

provide you with an initial overview of your requirements as you begin your campaign.  Do not 

hesitate to call APOC staff if you have questions.  Thank you! 

 

CONTACT INFORMATION 

 

Anchorage Office 

 

2221 East Northern Lights Blvd., #128 

Anchorage, AK 99508 

Phone: (907) 276-4176 

Toll Free: (800) 478-4176 

Fax: (907) 276-7018 

 

Juneau Office 

 

P.O. Box 110222 

240 Main Street, #500 

Juneau, AK 99811-0222 

Phone: (907) 465-4864 

Toll Free: (866) 465-4864 

Fax: (907) 465-4832 

 

 
Website: www.doa.alaska.gov/apoc 

Information Email: apoc@alaska.gov 

File Forms and Reports at: https://my.alaska.gov/ 

 

http://www.doa.alaska.gov/apoc
mailto:apoc@alaska.gov
https://my.alaska.gov/

