ALASKA PUBLIC OFFICES COMMISSION MINUTES REGULAR COMMISSION MEETING JUNE 6, 2013

A regular meeting of the Alaska Public Offices Commission came to order at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, June 6, 2013. The meeting was held at the Anchorage APOC office at 2221 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Room 128, Anchorage, Alaska.

Brackets [] indicate an agenda item number and that an information packet is included in the meeting binder. Asterisks * indicate that no information was included in the meeting binder.

In Attendance:

Commission: Elizabeth Hickerson - Chair

Kathleen King - Vice-Chair Kenneth Kirk - Commissioner Vance Sanders - Commissioner Ronald King - Commissioner

Staff: Paul Dauphinais - Executive Director

Jerry Anderson - Assistant Director

Joan Mize - Juneau Program Coordinator, Telephonically

Thomas Lucas - Associate Attorney II Heather Hebdon - Associate Attorney II

July Lam - Associate Attorney I Tamara Douglas - Paralegal I Delight Mells - Paralegal I

Maria Bulfa - Law Office Assistant II

In Person Attendees:

Bill Milks - Assistant Attorney General, Department of Law David Dunsmore - Representative, Alaska Democratic Party

Roselynn Cacy - Self

Telephonic Attendees:

John Ptacin - Assistant Attorney General, Department of Law William M. Walker - Requestor, Advisory Opinion Request, 13-01-CD

Lindsay Hobson - Representative, Advisory Opinion Request, 13-

Pat Lavin - Requestor, Advisory Opinion Request, 13-02-CD

Renee M. Limoge - Requestor, Advisory Opinion Request, 13-03-

CD

Scott Kendall - Counsel for Requestor, Advisory Opinion Request,

13-04-CD

ON RECORD: 9:00 a.m.

Chair Hickerson called the meeting to order.

Advisory Opinion Request, William M. Walker, AO 13-01-CD [6]

The staff draft advisory opinion was presented by Delight Mells, APOC staff. Mr. William M. Walker, requestor appeared telephonically and gave his statement.

Commissioner Sanders moved to approve staff draft advisory opinion.

Commissioner Kirk seconded the motion.

The Commission voted 5-0 to approve advisory opinion AO 13-01-CD.

Review of Recommended Changes to Statutes and Regulations [9]

The staff recommended changes to Statutes and regulation presented by Jerry Anderson, APOC staff. Paul Dauphinais, APOC staff also provided comment.

The Commission asked Staff to provide more information on recommended statutory changes at the next Commission meeting.

OFF RECORD: 9:15 a.m.

Break

ON RECORD: 9:27 a.m.

Advisory Opinion Request, Pat Lavin of Vote Yes, Repeal the Giveaway, AO 13-02-CD [7]

The staff draft advisory opinion was presented by Thomas Lucas, APOC staff. Mr. Pat Lavin, requestor, appeared telephonically and gave his statement.

The Commission took the matter under advisement.

Advisory Opinion Request, Renee M. Limoge of We are Alaska, AO 13-03-CD [8]

The staff draft advisory opinion was presented by Thomas Lucas, APOC staff. Ms. Renee M. Limoge, requestor, appeared telephonically and gave her statement.

The Commission took the matter under advisement.

OFF RECORD: 10:13 a.m.

Break

ON RECORD: 10:26 a.m.

Continuation: Review of Recommended Changes to Statutes and Regulations [9]

The Commission and staff recommended changes to proposed regulations presented by Jerry Anderson, APOC staff. Joan Mize, APOC staff, also provided comment.

The Commission asked Staff to provide more information on recommended regulatory changes at the next Commission meeting.

OFF RECORD: 11:40 a.m.

Deliberation/Lunch ON RECORD: 1:00 a.m.

Advisory Opinion Request, Renewable Resources Foundation, AO 13-04-CD [*]

The staff draft advisory opinion was presented by Thomas Lucas, APOC staff. Mr. Scott Kendall of Holmes Weddle & Barcott, counsel for the requestor, appeared telephonically and gave his statement.

The Commission took the matter under advisement.

Election of Officers [*]

Commissioner Sanders nominated Elizabeth Hickerson as chair of the Commission. Commissioner R. King seconded the nomination.

The Commission voted 5-0 to approve Ms. Hickerson as chair of the Commission for FY 2014.

Commissioner Sanders nominated Kenneth Kirk as vice chair of the Commission. Commissioner R. King seconded the motion.

The Commission voted 5-0 to approve Mr. Kirk as vice-chair of the Commission for FY 2014.

The Commission went off the public record to deliberate.

OFF RECORD: 1:42 p.m.

Deliberation

After deliberating, the Commission did not come back to the public record. Meeting adjourned at 3:30 p.m.