
Alaska Public Offices Commission 
2011 MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS 

 
Please read this document carefully for important information about starting your 

campaign. 
 
The 2011 elections are approaching and it is time for candidates to set up procedures to 
comply with Alaska’s Campaign Disclosure Law.  This information is presented as an 
overview of your disclosure requirements.  It is your responsibility to familiarize yourself 
and your campaign workers with the details of the disclosure law and to make sure that 
you file accurate and timely reports.  
 
Please visit the APOC homepage at www.doa.alaska.gov/apoc for further information, 
to download forms, and to remain updated about your requirements and responsibilities 
as a candidate. 
 
GETTING STARTED 
 
Letter of Intent:  Must be filed with the APOC before any candidate engages in 
campaign activity.  A Letter of Intent allows the individual to campaign as if they were a 
candidate.  The date that a campaign may start is 18 months prior to the date of the 
election.  However, if a candidate files a Declaration of Candidacy first, they do not need 
to file a Letter of Intent. 
  
The Declaration of Candidacy:  Municipal candidates file their Declaration with their 
specific Municipal Clerk’s Office.  The Declaration of Candidacy is what gets a municipal 
candidate’s name on the ballot.  Check with your Municipal Clerk’s Office to find out 
when your filing period opens and closes. 
 
Public Official Financial Disclosure Statement:  must be filed "simultaneously" at the 
Municipal Clerk’s Office with the Declaration of Candidacy.  Some municipalities have 
opted out of the requirement of filing a Public Official Financial Disclosure Statement.  
Check with your municipal clerk to be sure that you are complying with the requirements 
of your municipality.  
  
Candidate Registration: is where a candidate lists the campaign name, Treasurers, 
Deputy Treasurers, Chairpeople (an option, not a requirement), bank information, etc.  
This form is due within 7 days following the filing of the candidate’s Declaration of 
Candidacy at the Municipal Clerk’s Office.  Candidates may amend registrations as 
needed.  Until a candidate files their registration, designating a Treasurer or 
Deputy Treasurers, only the candidate may accept/expend campaign funds. 
 
Municipal Exemption Statement: May ONLY be filed by municipal candidates that do 
not intend to exceed $5,000 in campaign activity, including any personal money that 
they may use.  So long as you remain under the $5,000 reporting limit (including your 
own money that you contribute to your campaign), this is the only form you are required 
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http://www.doa.alaska.gov/apoc/
http://doa.alaska.gov/apoc/forms/cdintent.pdf
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http://doa.alaska.gov/apoc/forms/candidate_exemption_10.pdf


to file with APOC.  While exempt municipal candidates are not required to file campaign 
disclosure reports, they are still subject to the laws that apply to candidates, including 
the requirement that ads, yard signs, and other campaign materials include “paid for by” 
identifiers as required under AS 15.13.090 and 2 AAC 50.306.   
 
Candidate Reimbursement Notification: If candidates put their own money into their 
campaign and intend to repay themselves at the end of the campaign, they MUST file a 
Candidate Reimbursement Form with the APOC within 5 days of depositing personal 
funds into their campaign account. This includes weekends. HOWEVER, if the 
candidate can reimburse their personal contributions from the campaign account within 
72 hours they may; they do NOT then need to file the Reimbursement Form.  (There is 
also a prohibition against any candidate giving or loaning their campaign more than 
$5,000 in the 33 days prior to the election.)  
 
START UP CONSIDERATIONS 
 
Remember, only the candidate, a registered Treasurer or a registered Deputy 
Treasurer may spend money on behalf of the campaign. 
 
If a candidate uses personal funds to buy things for the campaign, they may be 
reimbursed by the campaign as long as reimbursement occurs within 72 hours of when 
the expenditure was made.  If a candidate uses personal money and wishes to repay 
that money at the end of their campaign, he/she must file a candidate reimbursement 
form with the Commission within five days of using their personal money.   
 
PAID FOR BY IDENTIFIER 
 
PLEASE pay particular attention to AS 15.13.090, “Identification of 
Communications,” and the related regulations (2 AAC 50.306). All political 
communications must have a “paid for by” identifier.  Campaign workers sometimes 
overlook identifiers on political communications.  Fixing missing or incomplete “paid for 
bys” costs time and money for your campaign, and may result in civil penalties.   
 
REPORT INFORMATION 
 
Candidates and groups are required to disclose information about their campaigns.  The 
purpose of a campaign disclosure report is to provide a snapshot of a candidate or group’s 
activity during a specific reporting period. The reporting period is the time period covered 
by a campaign disclosure report.  A due date is the date when a report is due, and comes 
three days after the end of a reporting period.  The three days allows a treasurer time to 
complete the report.  
 
The number of reports filed by municipal candidates will vary depending on when the 
campaign begins.  If candidates filed a Letter of Intent on or before February 1, 2011, they 
will begin with a year-start report, which will be due February 15, 2011.  Otherwise the 
cycle will begin with a 30 day report (due 30 days before the election), 7 day report (due 
7 days before the election), 105 day report (due 105 days after the election), and a year-
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end report, due February 15, 2012 (required only if the 105 day report was not a final 
report.)  In addition, during the 9 days before an election, candidates must report the 
contributor name and amount of all monetary and non-monetary contributions, from a 
single source, over $250 within 24 hours of the time they receive the contribution.  
Candidates may need to report each day during that period, or not at all.  These 24 hour 
reports must be emailed, faxed, hand-delivered, or phoned in after hours.  Do not mail 24 
Hour Reports. 
 
Prior to 2011, APOC did not require municipal candidates to file the 105 day report and 
instead permitted municipal candidates to file only a final report due February 15 of the 
year following the municipal election.  Requiring a 105 day report serves several important 
functions related to APOC’s mission, the most important being that it enables APOC to 
provide disclosure to the public regarding the winding up of municipal campaigns on a 
much more timely basis.  The 105 day report is required by Alaska Statute 15.13.110(a).  
As stated above, the 105 day report may replace the requirement of filing a February 15 
year-end report, if the 105 day report is a final report.  Please contact APOC staff with any 
questions about this change in practice. 
 
For more detailed information regarding completing campaign disclosure reports, please 
refer to our Candidate Manual which can be found on our website. 
 
CIVIL PENALTIES 
 
Civil penalties apply to candidates and groups who violate campaign disclosure law.  
Violations include failure to file a campaign disclosure report on time or failure to file a 
complete and accurate campaign disclosure report.  Even if you are filing a report 
indicating that you have had no activity in that report period, you will be assessed a 
civil penalty if the report is late.  It is YOUR responsibility as the filer to familiarize 
yourself (and your campaign workers) with the campaign disclosure law requirements and 
reporting deadlines.  Initial penalties range from $10 to $50 a day for late reports.   

Review the APOC Website for further reporting requirements.  This information is only 
meant to provide you with an initial overview of your requirements as you begin your 
campaign.  Do not hesitate to call APOC staff if you have questions.  Thank you! 
 

Contact Information 
 

Anchorage Office 
2221 East Northern Lights Blvd., #128, Anchorage, AK 99508 

Phone: (907) 276-4176 / Outside of Anchorage: (800) 478-4176 
Fax: (907) 276-7018 

 
Juneau Office 

P.O. Box 110222 / 240 Main Street, #500, Juneau, AK 99811-0222 
Phone: (907) 465-4864 / Fax: (907) 465-4832 

 
Web Site: www.doa.alaska.gov/apoc 

http://doa.alaska.gov/apoc/pdf/CandidateManual.pdf
http://www.doa.alaska.gov/apoc
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