
Alaska Public Offices Commission 
 

2008 ELECTIONS 
 

Please read the following pages carefully for important information about 
starting your campaign. 

 
The 2008 elections are approaching and it is time for candidates to set up 
procedures to comply with Alaska’s Campaign Disclosure Law. AS 15.13   
 
It is your responsibility and obligation to familiarize yourself and your campaign 
workers with the details of the disclosure laws and administrative regulations to 
make sure that you file reports both on time and accurately completed.  Visit the 
APOC homepage to keep informed about your requirements and responsibilities 
as a candidate.  To download forms and other information and to research 
information filed by other candidates and groups. www.apoc.alaska.gov 
 
GETTING STARTED FOR LEGISLATIVE CANDIDATES 
 

1. Letter of Intent:   
 A Letter of Intent allows the individual to campaign as if they were 
a candidate.  However, if a candidate files a Declaration of 
Candidacy first, they do not need to file a Letter of Intent.  
AS 15.13.100, 2 AAC 50.274  Letter of intent Form 

  
2. The Declaration of Candidacy:    

 Declaration of Candidacy is what gets a state candidate’s name on 
the ballot. The Declaration of Candidacy must be filed at the 
Division of Elections. http://ltgov.state.ak.us/elections/    

  
3. The Registration Statement:  

 Lists the campaign name (this is the name that must appear on 
the “Paid for by” disclaimers), Treasurers, Deputy Treasurers, 
Chair (an option, not a requirement), bank information, etc.  If the 
Declaration of Candidacy has already been filed with the Division 
of Elections, a state candidate has 15 (fifteen) days to file their 
Registration Statement.  The registration form may be amended as 
needed.  NOTE: Until a candidate files information about 
Treasurers or Deputy Treasurers, only the candidate may accept 
or expend campaign funds. AS 15.13.060,  2 AAC 50.282 

  Candidate Registration Form   
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4. The Candidate Reimbursement Form:  

 If candidates loan money to their campaign, and they want to repay 
themselves at the end of the campaign, they MUST file a 
Candidate Reimbursement Form with the APOC within 5 days of 
loaning the money to their campaign account.  This includes 
weekends.   AS 15.13.078, 2 AAC 50.254  Candidate 
Reimbursement Form 

 
5. Electronic filing system: 

 We are working to develop an online filing system.  For now, you 
may file your reports using the Excel Spreadsheets that are on the 
APOC front page.  There is a one-page Filing Contract that must 
be completed, signed and returned to the APOC.  
  

 
6. START UP CONSIDERATIONS: 

 Remember, only the candidate, a registered Treasurer or a 
registered Deputy Treasurer may spend money on behalf of the 
campaign.  AS 15.13.067, AS 15.13.076 

 
 If a candidate uses personal funds to buy things for the campaign, 
they may be reimbursed by the campaign as long as 
reimbursement occurs within 72 hours of when the initial 
expenditure was made. If a candidate uses personal money and 
wishes to repay that money at the end of their campaign, he/she 
must file a candidate reimbursement form with the Commission 
within five days of using their personal money.  AS 15.13.078, 
2 AAC 50.254 
 

 
7. PAID FOR BY IDENTIFIER: 

 PLEASE pay particular attention to AS 15.13.090, “Identification 
of Communications,” and the related regulations 2AAC 50.306.  
All political communications must have a “paid for by” identifier.  
In addition to the “paid for by” identifier on campaign 
communications, independent expenditures must also show “paid 
for by” information and if the independent expenditure is on behalf 
of or in opposition to a candidate, it will need to include an 
additional statement.  See AS 15.13.135.  Campaign workers 
sometimes overlook identifiers on political communications. Fixing 
missing or incomplete “paid for bys” costs time and money for your 
campaign, and may result in civil penalties.   

 
8. REPORT INFORMATION: 

 Most statewide candidates who make it to the general election will 
have to file six reports.  Reports are due 30 days before an election, 
7 days before an election and at yearend, due February 15th. In 
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addition, there is a 24 hour report that must be filed if a candidate 
receives more than $250 from any one contributor in the nine days 
preceding an election.   

 
 

 Candidates are required by law to disclose information about their 
campaigns. The purpose of a campaign disclosure statement is to 
provide a snapshot of a candidate’s activity during a specific 
reporting period. The reporting period is the time period covered by 
a campaign disclosure report. A due date is the date when a report 
is due, and comes three days after the end of a reporting period. The 
three days allows a treasurer time to complete the report.  AS 
15.13.110, 2 AAC 50.317   Campaign Reporting Forms 

 
 

9. CIVIL PENALTIES: 
 The law requires APOC to assess civil penalties against candidates 
who fail to file a campaign disclosure report on time or fail to file a 
complete and accurate campaign disclosure report.  It is YOUR 
responsibility as the filer to familiarize yourself (and your campaign 
workers) with the requirements of the campaign disclosure law and 
reporting deadlines. The APOC doesn’t remind candidates when 
reports are due.  Initial penalties range from $10 to $50 a day for 
late reports. You will have the right to appeal a civil penalty 
assessment before the Commission.   If you have questions about 
whether you are required to file, what you are required to file and 
when you are required to file, check with APOC staff.  

 AS 15.13.390, 2 AAC 50.399 
 
 

Contact Information 
 

Alaska Public Offices Commission 
2221 East Northern Lights Blvd., #128,  

Anchorage, Alaska 99508 
Phone: 1(907) 276-4176  

Outside of Anchorage: 1 (800) 478-4176 
Fax: (907) 276-7018 

 
Juneau Office 

Alaska Public Offices Commission 
POB 110222 / 240 Main Street, #201,  

Juneau, Alaska  99811-0222 
Phone :( 907) 465-4864 Fax: (907) 465-4832 

 
Web Site: www.apoc.alaska.gov 
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Address to Electronically File Disclosure Reports: 

DOA-APOC-Reports@alaska.gov 

mailto:DOA-APOC-Reports@alaska.gov

	5. Electronic filing system:

