State of Alaska

Department of Administration

Division Of Motor Vehicles

Alaska Department of Administration, Divison of Motor Vehicles
Administration >  Motor Vehicles >  DUI Court Revocation                                             
 

     

DUI (Driving Under the Influence) Court Revocation

IT IS AGAINST THE LAW TO OPERATE
A VEHICLE, AIRCRAFT OR WATERCRAFT UNDER THE INFLUENCE (See below).

You commit the crime of DUI if:

  • You are under the influence of intoxicating liquor, or any controlled substance
  • Your breath or blood test result is .08 or greater
  • Your breath or blood test result is .04 or greater when operating a commercial vehicle
  • You are under the combined influence of intoxicating liquor and a controlled substance

When you are arrested for DUI you face criminal prosecution and administrative license action.

Penalties for DUI or refusal to submit to a chemical test include:

  • Jail time
  • Fines
  • Referral to Alcohol Treatment and Rehabilitation
  • License revocation or disqualification

The court must revoke your privilege to drive for at least the minimum period required by law.  The court may revoke your privilege to drive for longer than the minimum period

The minimum revocation periods are:

  • 90 days for a first offense
  • 1 year if you have one prior conviction of DUI or refusal
  • 3 years if you have two prior convictions of DUI or refusal
  • 5 years if you have three or more prior convictions of DUI or refusal

For commercial motor vehicle operators, the court must disqualify your privilege to drive a commercial vehicle for the minimum period required by law.  The disqualification period can be for 1 year to life depending on the severity of the offense.

The court's revocation may be concurrent with or consecutive to an Administrative revocation.

Reinstatement Information

If you have additional questions you can call, write, e-mail or visit a DMV office.