State of Alaska

Department of Administration

Division Of Motor Vehicles

Alaska Department of Administration, Divison of Motor Vehicles
Administration >  Motor Vehicles >  Commercial Drivers License                                             
 

     

School Bus Endorsement

Medical / Vision | Forms

Non-Commercial Requirements | CDL Requirements

ALT Commercial Driver Manual

School bus (S) –This endorsement allows a person to operate a school bus or a bus transporting school pre primary, primary or secondary school students from home to school, from school to home, or to and from school- sponsored events. Anyone who drives a school bus to and from a public school must have a school bus endorsement to do so. Those who drive a bus designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver are required to have a CDL with a passenger endorsement "P" and a School Bus "S" endorsement. Both written and skills tests are required to obtain this endorsement.

Important Note: An applicant who drives a bus designed to transport less than 16 passengers including the driver is not required to obtain a CDL.

A background check will be conducted by the Alaska Department of Public Safety and a national criminal history background check by the FBI will be done in accordance with AS12.62.160, AS12.62.400, and Title 28 C.F.R. § 16.34.

FOR SCHOOL BUS ENDORSEMENT

ORIGINAL OR TRANSFER COMMERCIAL LICENSE (CDL):          

  • Surrender Previous license.
  • Valid Alaska CDL or Valid Out-of-State CDL with S endorsement.
  • Application For Commercial Driver License (CDL) (Form 415)
  • Commercial Driver Medical & Self Certifying Verification (Form 413)
  • School bus endorsement application (Form 412)
  • DOT Medical Card issued under 49 C.F.R. (2 AAC 90.015) Return original to customer. 
  • Fingerprint card
  • $51.50 check - Payable to "State of Alaska".  (Do not reject if payable to “Department of Public Safety”.)
  • Original certificate for completion of a Department of Education (DOE) approved school bus training course.

Tests Required:     

  • Vision test
  • General Knowledge or valid CDL Permit or CDL.
  • Passenger knowledge test or valid CDL with passenger endorsement.
  • School bus knowledge (written) test.
  • Performance (road skills) test in a school bus representative of the class(even in Off-Highway Areas).
  • Air Brakes knowledge test or valid CDL without air brakes restriction “L”.  If the road test vehicle does not have air brakes, the test is not required, and the license must be restricted. See C-001 for more information on this restriction.

NOTE: The road test vehicle must be representative of the vehicle the applicant intends to drive. If the road test vehicle does not have air brakes and the CDL has the “L” restriction, it will remain restricted to vehicles without air brakes.  If an applicant’s CDL is not restricted and the road test bus does not have air brakes, the CDL does not need to be restricted.

RENEWAL COMMERCIAL LICENSE (CDL):

  • DOT Medical Card issued under 49 C.F.R. (2 AAC 90.015) Return original to customer. 
  • Fingerprint card
  • $51.50 check - Payable to "State of Alaska".
  • Vision test
  • Expired over 1 year - Knowledge test
  • Expired over 2 years - New DOE Certificate of school bus training
  • Expired over 5 years - Same as original

DUPLICATE COMMERCIAL LICENSE (CDL):

  • Vision test.

CDL MEDICAL CARD & VISION REQUIRMENTS

Under Federal law a medical card it is not required, it is a requirement of the State of Alaska. (2 AAC 90.015)

Please see the following for information on CDL Medical Cards.

FMCSA New Medical Certification Requirements
A Guide for Commercial Drivers License (CDL) Holders
General Information and Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Medical Report:  DOT FORMS

Vision requirements for a CDL are 20/40 or better corrected in both eyes & must met color vision standards of 49 CFR Part 391 Subpart E  If you do not meet the requirements, you may be eligible for a waiver for INTRASTATE, ONLY. See your eye doctor for a current vision test. If you cannot meet the vision requirements, you will need the results from your eye doctor before you can apply for a waiver. These are issued by the Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division of the Department of Transportation (DOT). Vision Waiver Application. 
Federal Regulation is CFR 49 391.41 (10)


 

ORIGINAL OR TRANSFER NON-COMERCIAL:          

  • Surrender Previous license.
  • Valid Alaska Non-Commercial License.
  • Application For Driver License (CDL) (Form 478)
  • School bus endorsement application (Form 412)
  • DOT Medical Card issued under 49 C.F.R. (2 AAC 90.015) Return original to customer.  (Valid up to two years from date of issue.)
  • Fingerprint card
  • $51.50 check - Payable to "State of Alaska".  (Do not reject if payable to “Department of Public Safety”.)
  • Original certificate for completion of a Department of Education (DOE) approved school bus training course.

Tests Required 

Original:       

  • Vision test
  • Non-Commercial General Knowledge or Valid Alaska Non-Commercial License.
  • School bus knowledge (written) test.
  • Performance (road skills) test in a school bus representative of the class(even in Off-Highway Areas).

RENEWAL NON-COMERCIAL:

  • DOT Medical Card issued under 49 C.F.R. (2 AAC 90.015) Return original to customer.  (Valid up to two years from date of issue.)
  • Fingerprint card
  • $51.50 check - Payable to "State of Alaska".
  • Vision test
  • Expired over 1 year - Knowledge test
  • Expired over 2 years - New DOE Certificate of school bus training
  • Expired over 5 years - Same as original

DUPLICATE NON-COMERCIAL:

  • Vision test.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS:

  1. Must be at least 21 years of age.
  2. Must have at least three years of driving experience.
  3. An applicant is not eligible for an original school bus license if they have been:
    1. convicted of driving while under the influence of an alcoholic beverage, inhalant, or controlled substance (DUI) under AS 28.35.030 within two years of the time of application or to an applicant who has had two or more DUI convictions within 10 years of the time of application [AS 28.15.046 (d)].  Be sure these license actions do not appear on the applicant’s driving record before issuing a license with the school bus endorsement.
    2. convicted of certain offenses.  These offenses will be verified by Juneau Driver Licensing (JDL)(Disqualification List).
  4. Must meet the following medical requirements (Original or Renewal):
    1. DOT Medical Card issued under 49 C.F.R. 391.41.  (2 AAC 90.015) The card must be current at the time of application. It is the responsibility of the driver to keep this up to date. Keep a copy and return the original to the customer. The card is valid up to two years from date of issue.

NOTE:  There is currently nothing to prevent a person with a hearing aid from obtaining a School Bus License.

FORMS

Application for Commercial License or Permit (Form 415)
Commercial Driver Medical & Self Certifying Verification (Form 413)

School Bus Endorsement Application (Form 412)
DOT Medical Report Forms

Federal Website (FMCSA)

REV.  06/30/2014