Motor Vehicle Dealer or Buyer's Agent Registering & Bonding
As of July 2002, boat
dealers are no longer required to be bonded.
To register as a dealership or as a buyer's agent in the State of Alaska the following requirements must be met:
1. An original, notarized surety bond in the amount of $50,000 ($25,000 in the case of a dealer who sells only motorcycles) must be submitted to DMV. The surety bond must be in force at all times while the dealer or buyer's agent is doing business in the State of Alaska.
2. An Application for Registration as a Dealer in Motor Vehicles or Buyer's Agent must be completed and submitted to DMV. The signature of the person signing the application must be notarized. The application is for a two year period. Upon receipt, the dealer is required to display the assigned Motor Vehicle Dealer certificate of registration at the business location.
3. $50.00 registration fee.
The certificate is valid only for the name and addresses listed on the application filed with the department. During the registration period, each dealer or buyer's agent will be responsible for notifying the Division of Motor Vehicles of any business or location changes and providing the Division with a rider for the bond showing such changes (i.e. new or different name or location).
If a dealer or buyer's agent ceases to do business, in whole or in part, during the registration period, the dealer or buyer's agent will return the registration certificate, any dealer plates and temporary permits to the Division of Motor Vehicles.
Every two years the dealer or buyer's agent will be sent a letter and appropriate enclosures for renewal for the following two year period. This renewal letter is a courtesy and a dealer's or a buyer's agent's timely renewal should not be based upon receipt of this letter.
Processing time for issuance of dealer registration certificates may be 4-6 weeks. If you have any questions regarding dealer licensing, please contact our Dealer/Fleet office.
If you are interested in an application to become a Dealer or Buyer's Agent, please request the application through one of the sources listed below. This does not include other licenses or registrations from other agencies. You will need to contact those agencies for their specific requirements.
In Person: 1300 West Benson Boulevard - Dealer/Fleet Unit
*Mail: State of Alaska
Division of Motor Vehicles
1300 W Benson Boulevard STE 300
Anchorage, AK 99503-3691
*If you are interested in receiving a packet of information to become a dealer, you must include a name and address that you would like the packet mailed to.
Phone: (907) 269-3755
For specific statutes regarding Dealer and Buyer's Agent requirements, please see:
Alaska Statutes: Title
8, Chapter 66.