State of Alaska

Department of Administration

Division Of Motor Vehicles

Alaska Department of Administration, Divison of Motor Vehicles
Administration >  Motor Vehicles >  DUI Consequences & Alternatives                                             
 

     

DUI Consequences & Alternatives

Before you drink and drive, consider the consequences and alternatives

Before you drink and drive, consider the consequences and alternatives

CONSEQUENCES

AVERAGE COST OF A FIRST DUI
$24,265

3 days in jail
Court Fines
Sentencing
Vehicle Impound Fee
Ignition Interlock Device for 12 months
Loss of Vehicle (30 Days)
Attorney (Your attorney)

  • Change of Plea
  • Court Proceedings
  • DMV Administrative Hearing

Attorney (Court Appointed)

  • Change of Plea
  • Court Proceedings

SR22 Insurance

  • $2,000 Per Year for 5 years

Replacement License
License Reinstatement Fee
Education Compliance

$330
$1,500
$250+
$600+
$1,300+
$$$
$$$

$5,000+
$3,500 to $5,000+
$850

$200

$200
$500

$10,000

$20
$200 to $250
$390+

IN ADDITION:

Written Test
Embarrassment
Taxicab/Bus/Friends
Loss of Driving Privileges (90 Days)
Loss of Job / Future Jobs
Loss of Property
10 points on your driving record

Free

$$$
$$$
$$$
$$$

DUI'S STAY ON YOUR RECORD FOREVER
LOSS OF LIFE
Priceless

ALTERNATIVES:

Average cost of an alternative ride
Designated Driver
Taxicab (per mile)

$15
0
$2

For the cost of a first time DUI you could ride 12,133 miles in a taxicab.
That is almost 1/2 way around the world.

REV. 07/01/2010