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License Plate Number State Serial Number (VIN) 

Year Make Model Body Style Color 

Registered Owner(s) 
 

Mailing Address City State Zip Code 

Lienholder 
 

Mailing Address City State Zip Code 

 
I claim a lien / ownership of the above vehicle as permitted by the following Alaska Statute / Regulation: 

C
LA

IM
 IN

FO
R

M
A

TI
O

N
 

 

 

Impound Lien – I understand 28.10.502 and swear/affirm that all requirements of the statute have been met and that I have a legal 
lien on this vehicle. 
Work Lien – I understand 34.35.175 and swear/affirm that all requirements of the statute have been met and that I have a legal lien on 
this vehicle. 
Storage Lien – I understand 34.35.175, 34.35.220, and 34.35.225, and the Alaska Rules of Civil Procedure 4(e)(2) and swear/affirm 
that all requirements of the statutes have been met and that I have a legal lien on this vehicle. 
Abandoned Vehicle – I am the owner of the property on which the vehicle was abandoned and I understand 28.11.025 and 
28.05.121 and swear/affirm that all requirements of the statutes have been met and that I have a legal right to this vehicle. I may not  

         transfer this vehicle until it has been successfully titled in my name. 
Repossessed Vehicle – I have reviewed Alaska Statutes 45.29.601-45.29.628 and swear/affirm that all applicable requirements of 
the statutes have been met and that I have a legal lien on this vehicle. 

Odometer Reading (miles) (A) The actual mileage Date of Sale 

(B) The mileage stated is in excess of mechanical limits 
(C) The odometer reading is not the actual reading. WARNING: 

Odometer Discrepancy 
I have personally reviewed the information on this application and certify under penalty of perjury that to the best of my knowledge and belief 
the information on this application is true and correct. (NOTE: Making a false statement or omitting a material fact is subject to a maximum 
penalty of $10,000 or 1 year imprisonment or both per AS 11.56.210 and AS 28.35.135.) 
Printed Name of Claimant 

Company Name (if applicable) 
 

Signature ID / Driver License Number 
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Subscribed and Sworn to before me this 
 
                     day                   of, 20 

(SEAL) 

Signature of Notary Public or DMV Representative (AMVC & Office Location) 
 

Commission Expiration: 
A notary public or other officer completing this certificate verifies only the identity of the individual who signed the document, to which this certificate is attached, and 

not the truthfulness, accuracy, or validity of that document. 
 

***DOES NOT APPLY TO ABANDONED VEHICLES*** 
In accordance with all applicable statutes, the vehicle described above was sold to the person shown below as the Buyer: 

SA
LE

 

Printed Name of Buyer 
 

Signature of Buyer  
 

Location of Sale 
 

Cash Payment Amount 
$ 

 



FAILURE TO PROVIDE ALL DESCRIBED DOCUMENTATION OR FOLLOW DESCRIBED PROCESSES MAY RESULT IN DIFFICULTY OBTAINING A TITLE 
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� EVIDENCE OF AUTHORIZATION TO TOW 
This is normally a tow bill, two log, police report, or written authorization from a private property owner.   
 

� EVIDENCE OF NOTIFICATION OF IMPOUND 
Evidence demonstrating that a letter notifying the owner of the impound was sent via Certified Mail to the Primary Owner and 
Lienholder on record with the Department.  A copy of this letter must be presented.  This letter must be sent within seven days.  
Failure to do so prevents the tow company from charging more than 60 days’ storage.  
 

� WAIT AT LEAST 30 DAYS 
  

� EVIDENCE OF NOTIFICATION OF INTENT TO SELL 
Evidence demonstrating that a letter notifying the owner of the intent to sell the vehicle was sent via Certified Mail to the Primary 
Owner and Lienholder on record with the Department.  A copy of the letter must be presented and must contain the following: 

- Description of the vehicle, including VIN and Plate Number 
- Date AND time of the sale (This date must be at least 20 days after the letter is sent) 
- Location of the sale 
- Statement of the amount due 
- The name and address of the person to whom the charges are due 

 
� WAIT AT LEAST 20 DAYS 

 
�  SELL THE VEHICLE AS DETAILED ABOVE 

The sale must take place as detailed in the Notification of Intent to Sell.  The date, time, and location may not be changed without 
sending a new notice with at least 20 days’ notice of the new sale. 
 

� DISPOSITION OF FUNDS 
All monies realized must be applied FIRST: to the costs and expenses of the sale, SECOND: to the discharge of the lien, and 
THIRD: all remaining funds are to be turned over to the Division of Motor Vehicles. 
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� PROVIDE MATERIALS /LABOR (IMPROVEMENT LIEN)  -OR- SAFELY STORE AT OWNER’S REQUEST 

Please provide documentation of the materials / labor furnished, or an agreement to safely store the vehicle.  This documentation 
must be dated. 
 

� THREE MONTHS NON-PAYMENT 
If the charges are not paid within three months, the vehicle may be sold at PUBLIC AUCTION 
 

� EVIDENCE OF NOTIFICATION OF INTENT TO SELL 
Provide evidence demonstrating that a letter notifying the owner of the intent to sell the vehicle was sent via Registered Letter to 
the Owner or Purported Owner of the vehicle at the last known place of residence. 

  
� EVIDENCE OF PUBLIC POSTING 

The notice of public sale must be posted in three public places located in the same recording district as the sale location.  The 
notices must remain in place for at least ten days before the public sale.  Please provide a copy of the notice to satisfy the 
evidence requirement for posting notice(s) of the sale.   
Both the public notice and the letter to the owner/lienholder must contain: 

- Description of the vehicle, including VIN and Plate Number 
- Date AND time of the sale (This date must be at least 10 days after the letter is sent/posted) 
- Location of the sale 
- Statement of the amount due 
- Name of the owner or reputed owner. 

 
� WAIT AT LEAST 10 DAYS 

 
� SELL THE VEHICLE AT PUBLIC AUCTION 

The sale must take place as detailed in the Notification of Intent to Sell.  The date, time, and location may not be changed without 
sending a new notice with at least 10 days’ notice of the new sale. 
 

� DISPOSITION OF FUNDS 
All monies realized must be applied FIRST: to the costs and expenses of the sale, SECOND: to the discharge of the lien, and 
THIRD: all remaining funds are to be turned over to the Division of Motor Vehicles. 
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� ESTABLISH ABANDONMENT 

In order to be considered abandoned, the vehicle must have been placed on private property WITHOUT CONSENT.  If the 
property owner gave permission for it to be parked, it is not considered abandoned for this process. 

 
� WAIT SIX MONTHS  

If the vehicle remains on the property after being initially parked without consent, it may be claimed by the property owner. 
 

� EVIDENCE OF NOTICE OF CLAIM 
Provide evidence demonstrating that a letter notifying the owner of the intent to claim the vehicle was sent via Certified Mail to the 
Primary Owner and Lienholder on record with the Department.  If there is no record with the Department, or the owner’s identity 
cannot reasonably be found, notice may be given by publication as dictated by the rules of the court for service of process by 
publication.   
This notice must contain the location of the vehicle and the period of abandonment. 
 

�  WAIT AT LEAST 30 DAYS 
 

� CLAIM THE VEHICLE 
If the vehicle is not reclaimed within 30 days after notice is given, the title to the vehicle vests with the owner of the property. 
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