STATE OF ALASKA
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
REQUEST FOR RESEARCH OR VERIFICATION OF MOTOR VEHICLE RECORD
INSTRUCTIONS: PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE CLEARLY. You may only obtain the information if you certify you are authorized to receive the information
for one of the reasons outlined under TYPE OF RESEARCH NEEDED below. Personal information contained in vehicle records is confidential under
federal and state law. You must submit a separate form and $10 for each vehicle research request. Please allow 8 to 12 weeks for processing.
REQUESTOR INFORMATION

Requestor Name Business Name
Alaska Driver’s License Number Date of Birth* Last 4 Digits of Social Security Number*
Contact Phone Number * Required if requestor does not have an Alaska driver’s license. Information will be used solely

to verify requestor identity.

Requests will be held for 3 days. If payment information has not been received by that time the request will be discarded.

| WANT THE VEHICLE RECORD TO BE SENT TO (Select One):

O Hand Delivered (In Person Application Only)

O Email Address :

. City State Zip code
O Mailing Address:

VEHICLE INFORMATION

Vehicle or Hull Identification Number

Plate Number (I/A) Year Make Model Body Style Color

TYPE OF RESEARCH NEEDED
Select only one type: Submit request to DMV Research:

4001 Ingra Street, Suite 101
Anchorage, AK 99503
Email: doa.dmv.research@alaska.gov

O Copy of source document used to originally title or register the vehicle in Alaska.
(i.e. title from previous state, Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin, etc.)

O current motor vehicle registration information including Owner and lienholder’s name and address.
O Copy of a prior DMV transaction. (i.e. registration application, documents submitted to obtain a title)

O other (please be specific):

Select only one request reason:

I 1 am the owner of record of this vehicle.

O 1 am the manufacturer of this vehicle Requires letter on letter head stating reason for research. IE recall or mandatory upgrade

O 1 have the written permission of the owner(s) and lienholder (if lienholder is an individual) of record of this vehicle. Requestor must attach a copy of the

owner and lienholder’s permissions.

O 1aman agent, employee, or contractor of a legitimate business, and am requesting verification of information provided to the business by the owner of
the vehicle. This information will be used only for the purpose of preventing fraud by pursuing legal remedies against or recovering on a debt or
security interest against the owner of the vehicle. Requestor must attach a copy of the information provided to the business by the vehicle owner.

O The requested information is to be used in connection with a civil, criminal, administrative or arbitration proceeding in a court or government agency

or before a self-regulatory body. Requestor must attach a copy of the subpoena or other legal document justifying request.

O r1aman agent, employee or contractor for an insurer, or an insurance support agency and the information will be used in connection with claims

investigation activities, anti-fraud activities, rating, or underwriting.

O  The information will be used to provide notice to owners of a towed, impounded, or abandoned vehicle.

| certify under penalty of law that | am authorized as an individual or as an employee, agent, or contractor of a business to receive motor vehicle record
information as provided in AS 28.10.505 for the reason checked above. | further certify that this information will not be sold or disclosed except as
provided by law. | have personally reviewed the information on this application and certify under penalty of perjury that to the best of my knowledge and
belief the information on this application is true and correct. (NOTE: Making a false statement or omitting a material fact is subject to a maximum penalty
of $10,000 or 1-year imprisonment or both per AS 11.56.210 and AS 28.35.135.)

Signature Date (Valid for 90 days from this date.)
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Alaska Statute 28.10.505. Disclosure of personal information contained in motor vehicle records.

(a) Notwithstanding AS 40.25.300 and except as provided in this section, the department may not disclose personal information
contained in motor vehicle records maintained by the department under this chapter.

(b) Personal information shall be disclosed for use in connection with matters of motor vehicle or driver safety or theft; motor vehicle
emissions; motor vehicle product alterations, recalls, or advisories; performance monitoring of motor vehicles and dealers by motor
vehicle manufacturers; and removal of non-owner records from the original owner records of motor vehicle manufacturers as
required by federal law.

(c) Personal information may be disclosed if the requesting person demonstrates, in a form and manner the department prescribes, that
the requesting person has obtained the written consent of the person who is the subject of the information.

(d) Personal information may be disclosed by the department upon proof of the identity of the person requesting a record and
representation by the requesting person that the use of the personal information is strictly limited to one or more of the following
uses:

(1) for use by a government agency, including a court or law enforcement agency, in carrying out its functions, or a private person
or entity acting on behalf of a government agency in carrying out its functions;
(2) for use in the normal course of business by a legitimate business or an agent, employee, or contractor of the business, but only
(A) to verify the accuracy of personal information submitted by an individual to the business or an agent, employee, or
contractor of the business; and
(B) if the information submitted is not correct, to obtain the correct information, but only for the purposes of preventing fraud by
pursuing legal remedies against, or recovering on a debt or security interest against, an individual;
(3) for use in connection with a civil, criminal, administrative, or arbitration proceeding in a court or government agency or before a
self-regulatory body, including service of process and the execution or enforcement of a judgment or court order;
(4) for use in research activities, or in producing statistical reports, if the personal information is not published, redisclosed, or used
to contact an individual;
(5) for use by an insurer or insurance support organization, or by a self-insured entity, or an agent, employee, or contractor of an
insurer, in connection with claims investigation activities, anti-fraud activities, rating, or underwriting;
(6) for use in providing notice to the owners of towed or impounded vehicles;
(7) for use by an employer or an agent or insurer of an employer to obtain or verify information relating to a holder of a commercial
driver's license that is required under 49 U.S.C. 31101 - 31162 (Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act);
(8) for use in connection with the operation of private toll transportation facilities;
(9) for use in connection with a legitimate business operating under a contract with the department;
(10) for bulk distribution for surveys, marketing, or solicitations if the person who is the subject of the information has provided
written consent to the release; and
(11) any other purpose specifically authorized by law that is related to the operation of a motor vehicle or related to public safety.

(e) Personal information contained in an individual record may be disclosed, without regard to the intended use of the personal
information, if the person who is the subject of the information has provided written consent to the release.

Federal Drivers Privacy Protection Act 18 U.S.C. § 2724. Civil Action

(a) Cause of Action — A person who knowingly obtains, discloses or uses personal information, from a motor vehicle record, for a
purpose not permitted under this chapter shall be liable to the individual to whom the information pertains, who may bring a civil
action in a United States district court.

(b) Remedies — The Court may award —

(1) actual damages, but not less than liquidated damages in the amount of $2,500;

(2) punitive damages upon proof of willful or reckless disregard of the law;

(3) reasonable attorneys’ fees and other litigation costs reasonably incurred; and

(4) such other preliminary and equitable relief as the court determines to be appropriate.

Form 851 (Rev. 03/2024) Alaska.gov/dmv


http://www.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx07/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4025300'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit

	Text101: 
	Text102: 
	Text103: 
	Text104: 
	Text105: 
	Text106: 
	Check Box107: Off
	Check Box108: Off
	Text109: 
	Check Box110: Off
	Text111: 
	Text112: 
	Text113: 
	Text114: 
	Text115: 
	Text116: 
	Text117: 
	Text118: 
	Text119: 
	Text120: 
	Text121: 
	Check Box122: Off
	Check Box123: Off
	Check Box124: Off
	Check Box125: Off
	Check Box126: Off
	Check Box127: Off
	Check Box128: Off
	Check Box129: Off
	Check Box130: Off
	Check Box131: Off
	Check Box132: Off
	Text134: 


