
Form 508 (Rev. 10/2009) Alaska.gov/dmv                           E-mail:  DOA.DMV.ADL@Alaska.gov 

 
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
Anchorage Driver Licensing  

1300 W Benson Blvd., Ste. 100 
Anchorage, Alaska  99503-3689 

  

NON-COMMERCIAL LIMITED LICENSE APPLICATION FOR:  
 MULTIPLE OFFENSE DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE (DUI) 

 
This application is for multiple offenses of DUI (misdemeanor only). Under AS 28.15.201(d)(1), there are no limited license 
privileges for felony DUI or an administrative revocation or court conviction for a violation of AS 28.35.032 “refusal to submit to a 
chemical test.” There are no limited licenses available for operating commercial motor vehicles per AS 28.33.140(f). There 
are no limited license privileges if you have ever been convicted for violating AS 28.35.030, 28.35.032 or 28.15.291(a)(2) 
while licensed under limit privileges.  There are no limited privileges for the first 90 days of the revocation period. 
 
You are considered to be a “multiple offender” for the purposes of this limited license application if you have been previously 
convicted in court of DUI or Refusal within15 years from the date of your present offense. To determine the 15 year period, start 
with the date you were arrested for your present DUI and count back 15 years. For example, if your arrest date was August 14, 
2008, you will look back to August 14, 1993. If you have been convicted of DUI or Refusal, in Alaska or in any other state, within 
that time period, you can use this application to apply for a limited license. However, you cannot use this application if you have 
any pending suspensions or revocations for other offenses. You may want to review your driver’s history before applying. 
 
PLEASE NOTE:  The application processing fee of $100.00 is a non-refundable fee. If you are not eligible for a “multiple 
offender” limited license or your application is denied, the application processing fee will not be refunded. 
 
THE APPLICATION PROCESS 
STEP ONE: When you are ready to apply, complete the application in full. Failure to complete all necessary sections of your 
application will delay the processing of your limited license application. Mail or deliver the completed application and the items 
shown in the “Applicant Statement and Signature” section (Section 8) to the address shown above. 
STEP TWO: After reviewing your application, the Department will determine if it will issue a limited license. The issuance of the 
limited license is at the department’s discretion. If the Department determines that a limited license can be issued without 
excessive danger to the public, the Department will send you a letter requiring you to meet licensing standards. You may be 
required to pass vision, written and road tests. You will be required to submit proof of a SR-22 insurance filing. It is possible that 
other licensing standards may apply. 
STEP THREE: Once you have successfully completed STEP TWO, the Department will send you a letter requiring the 
installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). You must submit certification to the department of the installation. There is an 
installation cost and maintenance fees that are your responsibility. Failure to maintain the ignition interlock device for the period 
of the limited license or consuming alcohol while holding a limited license will result in the cancellation of the limited license. 
STEP FOUR: After receiving the ignition interlock installation certificate, a paper license will be mailed to you. The license will 
show the approved days and hours that you will have the privilege to drive. The license must be carried with you when you are 
driving.  You must also carry photo identification such as a State Identification Card.  You are required to show the license to a 
law enforcement officer when requested to do so. At the end of the period of limitation, you must reinstate your privilege to drive. 
 

MUST BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT: 
 
1. Name:   
 LAST FIRST MIDDLE  
 

Residence Address:   Home Telephone No.:    
 STREET CITY 
 

Mailing Address:   
 P. O.  BOX  OR  STREET CITY ZIP CODE 
 

Birth Date:   Driver’s License No.:    SSN:    
 
2. Is there bus or transportation services within six blocks of your residence to within six blocks of your place of 

employment?     YES      NO  If yes, why is this method of transportation not feasible for you? 

  
 

3. Purpose of Limited License: 
 

  To drive to and from work via the most direct route.  License plate number of vehicle to be used:  
 
 

From Residence Address:______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
To Business Address:__________________________________________________________________________________  
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VERIFICATION OF ALCOHOL/DRUG EDUCATION AND/OR REHABILITATION TREATMENT: 

 

4.  Must be filled out by the Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP).  If an ASAP office is not available in your area, an 
Alaska state approved treatment program must complete the verification. 

 
I certify that ____________________________________________________________________________________________      
has satisfied /completed the alcohol education and rehabilitation treatment program requirements.   
 
      
PRINTED NAME AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE DATE 
 
_________________________________ __________________________________________________ ________________ 
AGENCY NAME ADDRESS BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER 
 

MUST BE COMPLETED BY THE EMPLOYER OR SELF-EMPLOYED APPLICANT: 
 

5. Verification of Employment.  (If you are self-employed, you must submit a copy of your current business license.) 
 

Name of Company:   
 

I certify that I am authorized to verify employment for the above company, and that the person named in section one of this 
application is currently employed by this company and scheduled to work the following basic schedule: 
 
__________(a.m.)(p.m.) to __________(a.m.)(p.m.)    (SUN)  (MON)  (TUES)  (WED)  (THURS)  (FRI)  (SAT) 

 

Circle all that apply during a normal work week 
 
Please list any reasons for non-traditional work hours.  Please be specific, as generalities shall cause application rejection.  If 
necessary, attach a separate page.   
 
  
 

6. Verification of need for on the job driving: (Driving vehicles that require a CDL is prohibited.) 
 

 The employee must only drive a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device.   
  

      Is the employee required to drive at work?   YES (Complete below)   NO 
 
I certify that   will only: 
 

   Drive the employee’s private vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for company business; the hours of 
operation will be limited to those verified above. 

 
   Drive the company vehicle, equipped with an ignition interlock device, described below.  

 
   

 YEAR  MAKE  MODEL  LICENSE PLATE NO.  LEGAL REGISTERED OWNER 
 
7. Authorized Employer’s Signature:   
 

Print Authorized Name:   Office Phone Number:   
 

APPLICANT STATEMENT AND SIGNATURE: 
 

I hereby certify all statements made in this application are true.  I agree and understand any misstatement of material facts 
herein may cause cancellation and/or denial of the limited license (AS 28.15.161).  I agree and understand that violating the 
terms of the limited license will result in the cancellation of the limited license. I understand that, if this initial application is 
completed properly the processing and issuance of the STEP TWO letter may take up to 10 working days from the date of 
receipt by the Driver Licensing office. I understand that I am not required to install an ignition interlock device in my vehicle until 
the department sends me the STEP THREE requirement letter.  I understand that commercial motor vehicles that require a CDL 
cannot be driven on a limited license per AS 28.33.140(f). 
 
The following items are required to be submitted with your application in order to obtain a limited license for work purposes: 
 

  $100 Non-Refundable Fee    Original driver’s license (If not previously surrendered)    

  Alcohol Treatment Verification    Employment Verification; copy of current business license (if self-employed) 
 
8.  Applicant’s Signature:   Date:   
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