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STATE OF ALASKA 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

CLAIM OF OWNERSHIP OF ABANDONED VEHICLE BY PRIVATE PROPERTY OWNER 
(MAY NOT BE USED FOR MOBILE HOMES, SPECIAL MOBILE EQUIPMENT, OR IMPLEMENTS OF HUSBANDRY) 

License Plate Number State Serial Number (VIN) 
Year Make Model Body Style Color 
Registered Owner Address 

 City/State/Zip 

Lienholder Address 

 City/State/Zip 

I, __________________________________________________________, am the owner of the property located at 

_________________________________________________________________, where the vehicle described has 
 (street address, city, state, zip code) 

been abandoned for at least six months, from ___________ / ______ / _______ to  __________ / ______ / _______.  
 (month)  (day)  (year) (month)  (day)  (year) 

I claim ownership of this vehicle under the provisions of Alaska Statute 28.11.025. 
The vehicle is registered in Alaska. I have provided notice to the vehicle owner of record and lienholder as 
prescribed in AS 28.05.121: 
 Personal delivery (name of whom the notice was given, time, place, and manner)(attach a copy of the 
letter)  
                OR 
 Registered or certified mail, return receipt (copy of letter and return receipt attached) 

The vehicle is not registered in Alaska. I have notified the owner of record and lienholder as prescribed in 
Alaska Rules of Civil Procedure 4(e)(2): 
 Publication in a newspaper (certification of publication and advertisement attached) 
                AND 
 By registered or certified mail, return receipt with postage prepaid (copy of letter and return receipt 
attached) 
                AND 
 By regular first class mail  

The name and address of the registered owner or lienholder cannot be ascertained. I have notified the 
owner of record and lienholder as prescribed in Alaska Rules of Civil Procedure 4(e)(2): 
 Publication in a newspaper (certification of publication and advertisement attached) 

I attest a period of at least 30 days has passed since notice by registered mail or publication was made and the 
registered vehicle owner(s) and lienholder (if any) have failed to reclaim the vehicle. 
I understand and have complied with every applicable requirement set forth in Alaska Statute 28.11.025. 

I assume full responsibility for any liability brought against the Division of Motor Vehicles or the State of Alaska arising 
from my claim of ownership of the subject vehicle and subsequent issuance of title to the subject vehicle. 
I certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is (check one): 

Odometer Reading(no tenths)  (A) The actual mileage Date of Sale 

 (B) The mileage stated is in excess of mechanical limits. 
 (C) The odometer reading is not the actual reading. 

WARNING: ODOMETER DISCREPANCY. 
I have personally reviewed the information on this application and certify under penalty of perjury that to the best of my 
knowledge and belief the information on this application is true and correct. (NOTE: Making a false statement or 
omitting a material fact is subject to a maximum penalty of $10,000 or 1 year imprisonment or both per AS 11.56.210 
and AS 28.35.135.) 

Signature (Sign in front of DMV Representative or Notary) 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this 

Address 
                      day of                                    , 20        . 

City/State/Zip Notary or DMV Representative (AMVC & Office Location) 

 My Commission Expires 

 



Form 825 (Rev. 08/2014) Alaska.gov/dmv 

Alaska Statutes 
Sec. 28.11.025. Claim of ownership by private property owner. 
 
(a) In addition to removal of an abandoned vehicle under AS 28.11.020, a vehicle that is left standing or parked on private 
property without the consent of the private property owner and for a period of six months is presumed to be an abandoned 
vehicle and title to the vehicle may be transferred to the private property owner as provided under this section. A person who 
claims ownership of an abandoned vehicle under this section shall provide notice of the claim to the vehicle owner of record 
and to lienholders in the manner prescribed for giving notice by the department under AS 28.05.121 . The notice must state the 
location of the vehicle and the period of abandonment. If the vehicle is not registered in this state or the name and address of the 
registered or legal owner or lienholder cannot be ascertained, notice shall be given by publication in the manner prescribed in 
the rules of the court for service of process by publication. 
 
(b) If an abandoned vehicle is not reclaimed within 30 days after notice is given as required under (a) of this section, the title to 
the vehicle vests with the owner of the private property on which the vehicle is located. Upon application, the department shall 
issue a new certificate of title to a vehicle whose ownership is transferred under this section. 
 
Sec. 28.05.121. Giving of notice. 
 
When the Department of Public Safety or the Department of Administration is authorized or required to give notice under this 
title or regulations adopted under this title, unless a different method of giving notice is otherwise expressly provided, notice 
shall be given by a qualified person, either by personal delivery to the person to be notified or by registered or certified mail, 
return receipt requested, addressed to the person at the address of the person as shown in the records of the appropriate 
department. The giving of notice by mail is considered complete upon the return of the receipt or upon return of the notice as 
undeliverable, refused, or unclaimed. Proof of the giving of notice in either manner may be made by the affidavit of the person 
giving the notice by personal delivery or by mail, naming the person to whom the notice was given and specifying the time, 
place, and manner of giving the notice. 
 
Alaska Rules of Civil Procedure 4(e)(2) 
Service by Publication in a Newspaper. A notice shall be published four times during four consecutive calendar weeks, once in 
each week, in a newspaper published in the district in which the action is pending, or if none be published therein, then in a 
newspaper published in this state circulating in such district. Prior to the last publication, the party who seeks to have service 
made must send the absent party a copy of the notice and the complaint or the pleading (A) by registered or certified mail, with 
return receipt requested, with postage prepaid, and (B) by regular first class mail. The notice must be addressed in care of the 
absent party's residence or the place where the party usually receives mail, unless it shall appear by affidavit that the absent 
party's residence or place is unknown or cannot be ascertained after inquiry. 


