The following information applies to vehicles registered in your name in Alaska. If you have purchased a vehicle and need to transfer the title to your name, or register in Alaska for the first time, please click here.
As long as you are active duty military stationed outside of Alaska on military orders, you are welcome to renew your vehicle registration in Alaska. (Your LES must show ALASKA as your home of record. Use your mailing and residence address where you are stationed.) If you change your home of record, please register your vehicle in the state you are a resident of.
Your address must be correct on DMV records in order to renew over the Internet. If your address is incorrect or you are unsure, please renew by mail. NOTE: If your registration is expired or due to expire within 30 days E-mail ALASKA DMV for procedures. Please provide your current mailing and residence address and the license plate number of the vehicle(s) you wish to renew.
If you use option #1, you must have a MasterCard or VISA (credit card - not debit card) and your ADDRESS MUST BE CORRECT. Your registration and tab will be mailed within two business days from successful renewal. Please E-mail ALASKA DMV if you do not receive the items within 14 days.
Vehicles are registered for a two year period. Normally a vehicle is assigned an expiration date when the vehicle is first registered in Alaska and retains that month when ownership changes. A vehicle that has been expired for less than a full year is charged the full biennial fee beginning with the month the registration expired, even if an individual has just purchased the vehicle and the previous owner let the vehicle expire, or the vehicle has been parked while it was expired. The registration starts over when it has been expired for over an entire year or when the previous owner was exempt from registration fees (Senior Exemption, Disability Plates, etc.)
1) Internet (www.Alaska.gov/dmv)
a. Our application works best with Firefox or Microsoft browsers 4.0 or above.
b. You need to have cookies turned on in your browser.
c. We use JAVA applets. These features need to be selected in your browser.
2) Mail - Please send the following:
Be sure to provide your current mailing and residence ADDRESS.
Mail requests to:
State of Alaska
Division of Motor Vehicles
1300 W Benson Boulevard STE 200
Anchorage AK 99503-3600
I/M Note: You are not required to provide the State of Alaska with proof of emissions testing while stationed outside of Alaska, however, you will need to check with the state you are living in to assure you are in compliance with their laws.