The following registration options apply to cars, trucks, vans, snowmachines, ATVs, motorcycles, trailers and boats. (Alaska does not title or register camper shells.) Please begin the process early to assure that you have the new registration before the current registration expiration date. All registrations expire on the LAST day of the registration month. Alaska law requires two license plates on passenger vehicles, trucks and vans. If you do not have two plates, please apply for a new set of plates. Motorcycles and trailers require one license plate.
Normally a vehicle is assigned an expiration date when the vehicle is first registered in Alaska and retains that month when ownership changes. A vehicle that has been expired for less than a full year is charged the full biennial fee beginning with the month the registration expired, even if an individual has just purchased the vehicle and the previous owner let the vehicle expire, or the vehicle has been parked while it was expired. The registration starts over when it has been expired for over an entire year or when the previous owner was exempt from registration fees (Senior Exemption, Disability Plates, etc.)
Your address must be correct on DMV records in order to renew over the Internet. The easiest way to know if it is correct is whether or not you received a registration PRE-BILL at your current address. If you did not, or if your pre-bill was forwarded from your previous address, please do not renew using our online services without first updating the address. If your address is incorrect and you are unable to update your address using this system, please renew by mail. (See NOTE below)
NOTE: If your registration is expired or due to expire within 30 days E-mail ALASKA DMV for procedures. Please provide your current mailing and residence addresses, along with the license plate number of the vehicle you wish to renew.
If you use option #1, you must have a valid Master Card or VISA (credit card - not debit card) and your ADDRESS MUST BE CORRECT BEFORE you renew. Your registration and tab will be mailed within two business days from successful renewal. Please E-mail ALASKA DMV if you do not receive the items within 14 days.If you have traveled outside of Alaska and discover that your registration is due to expire soon, click here for additional information.
1) Internet (Alaska.gov/dmv)
Person- Please send/bring the following:
Also see: Registration Renewal by Mail or in Person
Mail requests to:
State of Alaska
Division of Motor Vehicles
1300 W Benson Boulevard STE 200
Anchorage AK 99503-3600