State of Alaska

Department of Administration

Division Of Motor Vehicles

Alaska Department of Administration, Divison of Motor Vehicles
Administration >  Motor Vehicles >  Impound Sales                                             
 

     

Impound Sales

To title a vehicle which has been sold at public auction due to a work or storage lien or a towing and storage lien, a person will be required to obtain an Affidavit of Sale for Work / Storage Lien or an Affidavit of Sale for Towing and Storage Lien from the garage, mechanic or storage facility selling the vehicle. An individual must submit this affidavit along with an Application for Title & Registration to the Division of Motor Vehicles. The vehicle must be inspected by a law enforcement officer or a representative of the Division of Motor Vehicles(Form 811). The purpose of the inspection is to verify the vehicle identification number and the identity of the vehicle. An individual may obtain a special one-way trip permit from DMV for the purpose of bringing the vehicle to a DMV office for inspection. There is a $15.00 title fee. If the vehicle is not currently registered, the driver will be required to pay registration fees.

If an individual has purchased a vehicle from the US Government that was impounded as abandoned on a military installation, they will be given an SF Form 97. They must submit this SF Form 97, an Application for Title and Registration to the Division of Motor Vehicles. There is a $15.00 title fee. If the vehicle is not currently registered, the buyer will be required to pay registration fees.