Sale of Vehicle By Alaska Dealer
When purchasing a new or used vehicle from a dealer, Alaska law requires the dealer to apply for transfer of the title to the purchaser within 30 days from the date of purchase.
Federal law requires the dealer and the purchaser to certify to the odometer reading of a vehicle that is less than ten years old.
The dealer can issue the purchaser a 60 day temporary permit to drive the vehicle while the title is being transferred to the new owner's name.
An Alaska motor vehicle dealer who sells a vehicle to a buyer who resides within an area of Alaska which has an I/M program, is required to provide the buyer with a current I/M certificate, indicating the vehicle has passed an I/M test within the last 90 days, or with a Certificate of Non-Compliance, indicating the vehicle will not pass an I/M test. If the I/M is done while the vehicle is in the dealer's inventory, it is valid for one year from the date of issue for transfer of title, however, can only be used to renew the vehicle if it is within the 90 day time frame.
The dealer will have the purchaser complete an Application for Title & Registration. The dealer will submit this application along with the original title for a used vehicle, or the Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin for a new vehicle, to the Division of Motor Vehicles along with appropriate fees.
The title, registration and license plates will be returned to the dealer, who will contact the purchaser for delivery of the registration and plates. If the vehicle is being financed, the title will be sent to the lienholder.