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38.315 One Card Alaska Statewide Program 10/10
Administrator Responsibility
38.320 One Card Alaska Delegation of Authority 01/08
38.325 One Card Alaska Department Program 10/10
Administrator and Delegate Responsibilities
38.330 One Card Alaska Supervisor Responsibility 01/08
38.335 One Card Alaska Data Storage 10/10
38.340 One Card Alaska Program Controls 04/15
38.345 One Card Alaska Reconciliation, Approval, 10/12
and Payment Process
38.350 One Card Alaska Billing Statement Disputes 01/08
38.355 Canceling and Inactivating the One Card 01/08
38.360 Lost or Stolen One Cards 01/08
AAM 38.010 Overview of Payment Methods (07-16)
A payment can be made by any of the following methods:
e Direct Deposit by Automated Clearing House (ACH)
e charge cards (AAM 38.300)
e wire transfers
e Mailing a paper warrant
With very few listed exceptions, AS 37.25.050 requires the use of
electronic payments for all State of Alaska disbursements.
Agencies are required to notify Department of Revenue, Treasury
Division, Cash Management section prior to certifying large payment
transactions. Large payment transactions are defined as any payment over
$5,000,000.
AAM 38.020 Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) Compliance (01-06)

All organizations in the U.S. are required to comply with OFAC
regulations regarding economic and trade sanctions. These regulations
prohibit payments to certain foreign countries, terrorists, drug traffickers,
and other parties included on the “Specially Designated Nationals and
Blocked Persons” list maintained by OFAC. OFAC updates the list on an
ongoing but irregular basis and organizations must freeze payments to
listed entities and report the action to OFAC within ten business days.
Fines for noncompliance range from $50,000 to $10,000,000, along with
potential imprisonment. Compliance is not optional; OFAC makes no
exceptions for state governments.
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The Division of Finance is responsible for screening procedures to prevent
prohibited payments made by the statewide financial system to entities
using the central vendor file. This is accomplished by checking payments
against the lists maintained by OFAC prior to issuing payments. State
agencies making payments outside this process are responsible for
screening against OFAC lists prior to issuing payments. The list is
available at http://www.treas.gov/offices/enforcement/ofac/index.shtml,
along with instructions on what to do if a match occurs. There is also a list
of Sanctioned Programs and Countries on the same web site.

AAM 38.030

Emergency Cash Requirements (10-10)

Agencies should make provisions to meet needs for emergency cash
outside of regular business hours. There are three options available to meet
these needs:

e (Charge cards for cash advances — Agencies may enable cash
advance functionality on charge cards to meet emergency cash
needs. Depending on the amount of the emergency cash required,
agencies may increase limits on cards that allow cash advances by
increasing the credit limit and / or percent cash limit to obtain cash
advances exceeding the normal card limitations. To obtain a cash
advance, the charge card may be presented to the bank during
hours of operation or used with an ATM machine. To utilize an
ATM, the cardholder must have cash advance capabilities on the
cardholder’s individual card and been issued a PIN. The PIN is not
required if the card is presented at the bank counter. When the
need for emergency cash is over, limits on cards should be changed
back to normal limitations and cards that previously did not allow
cash advances can have this function removed.

e Field warrants — Agencies may issue field warrants to meet
emergency cash needs. Refer to AAM 38.150 for policies on the
use of field warrants. If additional field warrant stock is required,
the Division of Finance management staff should be contacted.

e Handwrite warrants — When the first two options are not viable, the
Division of Finance staff may issue a handwrite warrant to meet
emergency cash needs. Agencies with this requirement should
contact Division of Finance management staff. Refer to
AAM 38.145 for policies on the use of handwrite warrants.

An agency’s plan for addressing emergency cash requirements should be
approved by its administrative services director. The plan should address
employee safety when transporting cash.
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AAM 38.100

Warrant Overview (07-16)

With few exceptions, the state issues warrants rather than checks.
Warrants differ from checks in that a check immediately reduces cash,
whereas a warrant incurs a liability. It is not until a warrant is redeemed
that cash is reduced. Checks are drawn on a financial institution, whereas
warrants are drawn on state funds under a contractual agreement with a
financial institution.

The issuing of warrants payable to a financial institution or to “cash” for
the purposes of cashing the warrant is prohibited. State agencies that use
the State's financial system should generally not issue warrants to pay each
other. Instead, a journal entry should be processed for inter-agency
payments.

Warrants recorded by the financial system are classified as either internal
or external warrants from interfacing systems. Internal warrants include
both general warrants and One Card Alaska charge card clearing
transactions.

Agencies must make a written request to the Division of Finance to justify
new external warrant classes. Justification may include volume or other
criteria. If a new warrant class is being considered in developing a
subsidiary system, early approval by the Division of Finance will ensure
the subsidiary system has the correct edits and processes to support the
creation of a new external warrant process.

The process for creating warrants differs between internal and external
warrants. For internal warrants, warrant request transactions are processed
in the financial system and assigned a warrant number at the successful
processing point. Then, a warrant journal is created to print warrants
where the scheduled print date is the current date.

For external warrants, subsidiary systems run a process that creates a
warrant interface file. The warrant interface file is used to print the
physical warrants, and the warrant interface file is used to record the
warrant issue transactions in the financial system. The process must be
completed in the following sequence:

1. Print the physical warrants.
2. Manually verify the printed warrants.
3. Interface the warrant issue records to the financial system.

4. Once the warrants are processed in the financial system, the warrants
may be released for mailing to the central mailroom (CMR).
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This process must be completed in the sequence above to ensure that
payees can cash warrants on receipt and the warrant redemption process
can occur timely. It is critical that printed warrants are not mailed until the
warrant transactions successfully process in the financial system.

AAM 38.105

Warrant Specifications (07-16)

Warrants must be printed and manufactured in accordance with American
Bankers Association (ABA) and American National Standards Institute
(ANSI) specifications. State of Alaska warrants must be printed on
warrant stock as specified by the Division of Finance.

The Department of Revenue, Treasury Division, Cash Management
section will provide the data elements to be printed in the MICR area of
the warrant. Any warrant design for a new warrant class or redesign of an
existing warrant must be approved by the Division of Finance and Cash
Management. Agencies are required to produce a test run of at least 25
warrants for MICR validation and payee name validation review by the
State’s warrant redemption bank prior to implementation.

In order to comply with banking standards and practices, the payee
information must be configured to use Payee Positive Pay specifications as
provided by the State's warrant redemption contractor.

Prior to ordering new stock, or if changes are being considered to warrant
stock, contact the Division of Finance for further guidance on warrant
specifications. All warrant stock orders that will be printed in Juneau and
Anchorage should be delivered to the Division of Finance. The division
will review the delivered stock to confirm the order is complete and
accurate.

AAM 38.110

Warrant Stock Control (07-16)

Blank warrant stock must always be kept in a locked facility. Every piece
of warrant stock must be accounted for, whether it is blank, printed,
spoiled, or mutilated. Internal controls require that blank stock never be in
the custody of a single individual. Spoiled and mutilated warrant stock
must be destroyed by shredding.

The Division of Finance stores warrant stock for warrants that are printed
in Juneau and Anchorage. The maintenance of warrant stock includes
storage in a secured, temperature-controlled location, release of stock
upon proper request by the appropriate agency, and strict control of all
stock used. Blank stock should always be handled by a minimum of two
employees. The division performs a monthly inventory and notifies
agencies of monthly stock usage and amount of stock left on hand.
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Owners of warrant stock are responsible for ordering new stock as
necessary and complying with appropriate warrant specifications.

Field warrant stock controls are addressed in AAM 38.150.

AAM 38.115

Warrant Release for Printing (01-06)

Whenever warrant stock or printed warrants are transferred from the
custody of one agency to another, the transfer must be documented with
the appropriate signatures.

The responsible agency shall provide the Division of Finance with a list of
individuals authorized to release warrant stock. Release of warrant stock is
requested by an authorized person within the responsible agency at least
one day prior to the warrants being printed.

Upon receipt of a properly completed Stock Release and Warrant Control
form, two Division of Finance employees will take the warrants from the
vault for release to the Enterprise Technology Services (ETS) print room.
The Stock Release and Warrant Control form must include the following
information: requested warrant class, agency contact person and phone
number, beginning warrant number to be released, print date, total
warrants being printed, and total dollar amount.

AAM 38.120

Warrant Printing Controls (01-06)

Warrants should only be printed using an eight-digit number within the
warrant number series assigned to that warrant class by the Division of
Finance.

The accuracy of warrant numbers on printed warrants should be verified
by comparing the warrants to an agency’s internal system prior to being
interfaced to the financial system and released.

Printing multiple warrants with the same warrant number is prohibited.
The only exception to this is reusing warrant numbers after all warrant
numbers in a series have been exhausted.

AAM 38.125

Warrant Verification (06-19)

After printing, warrants must be verified to ensure print quality meets
banking standards and all warrants requested were printed. A Division of
Finance employee performs the verification. This verification must be
completed prior to the warrants being released for distribution.
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Upon completion of the verification process, unused and mutilated stock is
returned to the vault, and the warrants to be distributed are delivered to the
Central Mailroom (CMR). The Stock Release and Warrant Control form is
signed by the accepting party when the warrants are transferred from the
custody of one agency to another.

Another Division of Finance employee performs a warrant reconciliation
from the Stock Release and Warrant Control Form to the warrant
inventory in stock.

AAM 38.126

Payee Positive Pay Issue File Reconciliation (07-16)

Agencies that issue warrants are required to perform a daily reconciliation
of the control totals of the issued warrants file transmitted to the bank with
the control totals of the bank's Account Reconcilement Program (ARP)
report provided online the business day after warrant issue file
transmissions.

AAM 38.130

Warrant Release for Distribution (07-16)

When the verification team delivers general and payroll warrants to the
CMR, a mailroom representative signs for receipt of the warrants on the
Stock Release and Warrant Control form. Other warrant class owners are
responsible for delivering the verified printed warrants to the CMR or
distributing per agency procedures.

The mailroom folds and inserts warrants into envelopes, and delivers the
warrants to the U.S. Post Office to be mailed; generally on the same
business day.

General and payroll warrants to be returned to agencies are sorted and
placed in the appropriate agency’s lock box. Staff retrieving warrants from
the lock box for agency distribution must sign the appropriate release
form.

General warrants mutilated during the distribution process are returned to
the Division of Finance that same day for cancellation and re-issuance.

AAM 38.135

Internal Distribution of General Warrants (01-06)

A general warrant that is returned to an agency is not to be given to the
individual who either prepared or certified the disbursement. Under no
circumstances will an agency hold a general warrant in excess of ten
business days after the date of issue.
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The agency that certified a general warrant request may request the
Division of Finance to pull the warrant from the Department of
Administration CMR distribution. In the event an agency other than the
certifying agency requests a warrant be pulled, written approval by the
certifying agency must be provided first. Under no circumstances is a
warrant to be released to anyone outside the certifying agency without
proper prior approval. A request for a pulled warrant must be received
prior to 9 a.m. on the day of disbursement in order for the warrant to be
retrieved.

AAM 38.140

Warrants Maintained By Outside Agencies (10-14)

Agencies that maintain their own warrant stock shall apply similar
controls for warrant stock maintenance, disbursement, printing,
verification, and distribution (AAM 38.110 - 135). Each agency with
custody of their own warrant stock is responsible for compliance with
banking standards. Issue records of all issued warrants must be
successfully uploaded to the bank's payee positive pay fraud deterrent
system prior to release of the physical warrant items. See AAM 38.105 for
warrant specifications.

AAM 38.145

Handwrite Warrants (01-06)

A handwrite warrant is a disbursement of state funds and falls within the
same guidelines and controls as other state warrants. The expenditure must
be a valid obligation of the state and supported by proper documentation.
All handwrite warrants must be entered into the financial system and
certified by the requesting agency.

To initiate a handwrite warrant, the requesting department must prepare a
“Request for Handwrite Warrant” memorandum that is addressed to the
Department of Administration, Division of Finance, Accounting Services
Supervisor. The memorandum must explain why a handwrite warrant is
required, reference the document number of the transaction, and contain
the following certification statement:

I certify that the facts herein and on supporting documents are
correct, that this voucher constitutes a legal charge against funds
and appropriations cited, that sufficient funds are encumbered to
pay this obligation or that there is sufficient unencumbered balance
in the appropriation cited to cover this obligation. | am aware that
to knowingly make or allow false entries or alterations on a public
record, or knowingly destroy, mutilate, suppress, conceal, remove
or otherwise impair the verity, legibility or availability of a public
record constitutes tampering with public records punishable under
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AS 11.56.815 - 820. Other disciplinary action may be taken up to
and including dismissal.

The memorandum is signed by the employee initiating the transaction,
certified by the finance officer of the requesting agency, and delivered to
the Department of Administration, Division of Finance with the
supporting documentation. Supporting documentation must include screen
prints (on the day the transaction is submitted) that confirm availability of
funds, including appropriation TANAB(s) and/or any relevant cash
balance/fund sufficiency balances.

Documentation is reviewed by the Division of Finance and the
memorandum is authorized for disbursement by the Accounting Services
Supervisor or his/her designee. A handwrite warrant will be prepared and
signed by the Division of Finance.

Handwrite warrants are a costly and labor intensive method of making
payment. They should be used sparingly and only when a general warrant
or field warrant is not an acceptable method of payment.

AAM 38.150

Field Warrants (01-06)

Field warrants are issued when payment is required the same day. Field
warrants must be recorded as disbursements in the financial system at the
time of issuance. The use of field warrants should generally be limited to
emergency circumstances and not used as a standard method of payment.
The use of field warrants to circumvent appropriation controls is
prohibited.

Every field warrant issued by an agency must be signed by a department
head or by a responsible person designated by a department head pursuant
to a duly executed Certifying Officer's Affidavit on file with the
Department of Administration.

The amount of an individual field warrant will not exceed $999.99.
Issuing multiple field warrants for any single purchase or service is
prohibited unless specifically authorized by the Director of the Division of
Finance. Altering the pre-printed verbiage on a field warrant is prohibited.

It is the responsibility of the Division of Finance personnel, agency
administrative officers, and personnel who issue field warrants to keep
blank field warrant stock under control at all times. The following
standards constitute adequate control:

1. The Division of Finance transfers field warrant stock only to the
administrative office of a department when requested by
memorandum signed by the director or designee. The Division of
Finance maintains a list of those authorized to request field warrant
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stock and must be notified immediately of any change in authorized
requestors.

2. Agency administrative officers may transfer field warrant stock in
bulk only to custodians who are not authorized field warrant certifiers
(signers). Bulk custodians may only issue field warrants to officers or
employees who are authorized to certify (sign) field warrants. Further
transferring of field warrant stock is not allowed.

3. Every transfer of warrant stock is acknowledged by a transfer receipt
listing the warrant numbers of the stock transferred.

4. No more than a two-month supply of field warrant stock shall be kept
on hand at any one time.

5. Blank field warrant stock must be stored in a locked safe, if available,
or in a secure container. Only the quantity of stock needed for
immediate use may be removed from storage. Offices that lack such
storage facilities may not use field warrants.

6. A bulk custodian must maintain an up-to-date log of warrants issued,
transferred, and on hand.

7. It is the responsibility of each person to issue stock in strict numeric
sequence.

8. As of March 31 and September 30, each department must complete an
accountability report that reflects field warrant stock on hand at the
beginning of the period, warrant stock received, warrants issued,
warrants lost, warrants returned, warrants voided, and warrant stock
on hand at the end of the period. Accountability reports are due to the
Division of Finance 30 days after the reporting date. Additional field
warrant stock will not be issued to an agency unless their field
warrant accountability report is current.

Field warrant stock that is lost or stolen is to be reported immediately to
the Division of Finance by entering a stop payment request in the financial
system.

All voided field warrant stock that was not issued in the financial system
must be returned to the Division of Finance for destruction. A memo
listing the voided field warrant numbers must be attached to the voided
warrants.

Agencies should enter cancel warrant transactions for all field warrants
issued in the financial system and subsequently cancelled.
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AAM 38.155

Undelivered Warrants (01-06)

Undeliverable warrants are returned to the Department of Administration
and, from there, routed to the agency that requested the disbursement.
Whenever an agency receives such a warrant, immediate action must be
taken to forward it to the payee. If this cannot be done, it is the
responsibility of the agency to cancel the warrant in a timely manner.
Under no circumstances will an agency hold a warrant in excess of ten
days after the date of receipt by the agency.

AAM 38.160

Warrant Redemption (01-06)

The state and its warrant clearing bank use a process called positive pay to
limit the state’s risk during the warrant redemption process. The state
notifies the bank of issued warrants after they are interfaced into the
financial system. The bank verifies warrants being cashed against the
state’s warrant issue file. Errors and fraud are identified early in the
warrant redemption process and can be addressed timely.

The Division of Finance is responsible for working with the Department
of Revenue, Treasury Division, Cash Management section and the state’s
warrant clearing bank to address problems and rejects in the warrant
redemption process.

AAM 38.165

Cancellation of Warrants (01-06)

A warrant issued for the incorrect amount, to the incorrect vendor, or
mutilated and therefore unredeemable may be cancelled if the physical
warrant is in hand. If appropriate, the payment may be re-issued to
complete the state’s obligation in accordance with AS 37.10.010.

AAM 38.170

Stop Payment of Warrants (01-06)

A warrant issued for the incorrect amount, to the incorrect vendor, or not
received by the vendor and presumed lost may be stop paid. If appropriate,
the payment may be re-issued to complete the state’s obligation in
accordance with AS 37.10.010.

AAM 38.175

Stale-dated Warrants (01-06)

Alaska Statute 37.05.180 provides a six-month limitation on redemption
of warrants.
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Generally no warrants presented to the state treasury are paid unless
presented to the Department of Revenue within six months from the date
of issue. Any warrant not presented to the Department of Revenue for
redemption within six months from the date of issue will be stale-dated.

It is the responsibility of the Department of Administration, Division of
Finance to determine if a warrant should be stale-dated and to transfer the
monies to the Department of Revenue, Treasury Division, Unclaimed
Property section as provided in AS 34.45. It is the responsibility of the
issuing agency to perform due diligence before such a transfer occurs.

Pursuant to AS 34.45.280(e), not more than 120 days prior to a warrant
stale-dating, the issuing agency of a warrant to be stale-dated must send
written notice to the payee at the last known address. This due diligence
notice should include the following information: when the warrant will
stale-date, who to contact within the agency for a replacement warrant if
necessary, and that upon stale-dating, any re-issues will be administered
through the Unclaimed Property section.

The payee of a stale-dated warrant may request the state to honor the
payment obligation by contacting the Unclaimed Property section.

A warrant may not be stop paid to circumvent the stale-date process unless
transferring the funds to Unclaimed Property would violate a federal grant.

AAM 38.180

Forgeries (10-09)

A forgery occurs when a warrant is endorsed with an unauthorized
signature, meaning one made without actual, implied, or apparent
authority. When an agency is notified that the endorsement for a state
warrant was forged, the agency should:

e Obtain a notarized Affidavit of Forgery from the claimant.

e Request a copy of the redeemed warrant from the Department of
Revenue, Treasury Division, Cash Management section.

e Prepare and certify a Warrant Status Change Request form.

e Provide these documents to the Division of Finance. (see
exceptions below)

The Division of Finance will issue a replacement warrant, as long as the
state’s bank is able to provide a credit to the state. The Division of Finance
is responsible for working with the Cash Management section and the
state’s bank to complete the process.

There are two exceptions to this policy:
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e The Permanent Fund Dividend Division submits the Affidavit of
Forgery and a copy of the redeemed warrant to the Division of
Finance. The Division of Finance enters a journal entry to credit
the Permanent Fund Dividend Fund. The Permanent Fund
Dividend Division will reissue a warrant, if appropriate.

e State agencies that issue checks instead of warrants work directly
with the Cash Management section on forgeries.

AAM 38.185

Holder-in-Due Course (07-16)

An entity becomes a holder-in-due course for a state warrant when the
institution has negotiated the warrant in good faith, and the warrant is
returned unpaid by the state’s warrant redemption bank. Under

AS 45.03.302, a financial institution (or person entitled to enforce an
instrument, store owner, etc.) may enforce redemption of a negotiable
instrument (the warrant) by filing a claim for reimbursement of the item if
the situation meets the criteria specified in the statute.

Any agency that receives a holder-in-due course claim from a holder
should forward the claim to the Division of Finance to determine the
validity of the claim. If the holder has met the obligation to exercise due
diligence to identify the endorser and has exhausted all available avenues
for recovery of the funds, the claim will be considered.

AAM 38.190

Checks (07-16)

All warrant specifications, storage, handling and verification requirements
listed in AAM 38.110 - 135 should also be used for any checks issued by a
state agency. Each agency printing their own checks is responsible for
compliance with banking standards. Industry wide banking standards
includes the use of fraud deterrent technology wherever possible.

The State’s policy regarding checking accounts requires the
implementation and use of payee positive pay as a standard fraud deterrent
method. Use of payee positive pay requires agencies that issue checks to
transmit a file of the issued item, check number, issue date, check amount
and payee name to the bank for upload into the fraud protection system
prior to the release of the physical printed check. The standard state format
for payees is FirstName MI LastName. For small volume checking
accounts instead of sending a file upload to the bank, check issued records
may be entered manually via the bank's website.

State agencies are required to reconcile daily the control totals of the
issued checks file transmitted to the bank with the control totals of the
bank's ARP report provided online the next business day after issue file
transmissions.
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The bank will validate all items presented for payment with issue records
prior to paying the check. Electronic images of exception items are
delivered to the agency for review and pay/no pay decisions must be made
each banking day.

State checking accounts must be reconciled daily. Redeemed checks and
electronic images of payee positive pay exception items will be verified,

reconciled, and pay/no pay decisions made on a daily basis for maximum
fraud deterrence.

AAM 38.195

Confidential Payments (07-16)

Confidential payments are warrants that are made to payees who are
determined by state statute, federal regulation, or the Attorney General’s
office to be confidential.

Agencies must ensure all disclosures of confidential payments are
restricted to those individuals with the business need to know information
about the payment.

Agencies that process payments to confidential payees must use
appropriate processes and procedures as defined by the Division of
Finance to ensure it is excluded from Checkbook Online, and payment
inquiry systems, or other publications of state financial information.

AAM 38.200

Electronic Funds Payment Overview (07-16)

An electronic funds payment is a disbursement of state funds and is
subject to the same guidelines and controls as other payments. The
expenditure must be a valid obligation of the state and supported by proper
documentation.

Electronic payments have numerous benefits to both the state and the
payee. The most important benefits are security, payment speed, lower
cost, automated reconciliation, and process efficiency.

The State uses the following forms of electronic payment transactions:

e Direct Deposit by Automated Clearing House Transactions (ACH)
(disbursement) (ACH)

e Direct Payment by ACH (collections)

e charge cards aka P-cards (AAM 38.300)

e wire transfers
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Direct deposit by ACH is the State's preferred payment method. Where
necessary, international and domestic wire transfers are completed by the
Department of Revenue, Treasury Division, Cash Management section.

An agency may not take a state warrant to a bank and request that the bank
electronically transfer funds to a vendor.

AAM 38.210

Electronic Disbursement Requirement (07-16)

Per AS 37.25.050, disbursements made by a state agency should be made
electronically where possible.

Regulations on electronic disbursements are identified in 2 AAC 15.130.
The Division of Finance is responsible for offering the option of electronic
payments to vendors on the financial system.

The Division of Personnel is responsible for ensuring all new employees
are encouraged to use electronic payroll payments.

Agencies are responsible for offering electronic payment methods to
vendors as required by AS 37.25.050 and must direct interested vendors to
the Division of Finance website for the direct deposit setup form.

Agencies are also responsible for establishing pay processing procedures
that ensure payments to state vendors are made by electronic methods
(direct deposit by ACH or state charge card) unless the payments meet
exceptions to electronic payment methods as provided in

AS 37.25.050 (b).

The state is not liable to pay fees imposed by a recipient’s financial
institution for electronic disbursements made by the state.

AAM 38.220

Automated Clearing House (ACH) (07-16)

ACH transactions are generally high-volume, low-value batch
transactions. ACH transactions may be originated as credits or debits. The
state uses several types of ACH transactions:

e Direct deposit of vendor payments

e Direct deposit of payroll, retirement benefits, unemployment
insurance benefits and other government payments.

e Direct debits of accounts to collect loan payments, taxes, fees, and
other government collections.

The Department of Revenue, Treasury Division, Cash Management
Section maintains contracts with a bank to act as the state’s originating
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depository financial institution (ODFI). An ODFI facilitates electronic
payments between the state and the receiver’s financial institution.

AAM 38.225

Electronic Payments by Direct Deposit (07-16)

The State of Alaska uses direct deposit by ACH to make electronic
payments directly to a vendor's or payee's bank account. This program
transmits payments to vendors or individuals securely and efficiently, and
at lower cost.

The vendor setup form is available from the Division of Finance website
at: http://doa.alaska.gov/dof/acct/epay.html.

Agencies are responsible for entering payment requests in the financial
system. The Division of Finance prepares a summary report and
disbursement memorandum for Treasury’s approval daily.

Contact the Division of Finance when necessary to reverse or cancel a
payment transaction. A request should be made as soon as possible after
knowledge of the incorrect payment is discovered.

The Division of Finance provides Payment Inquiry on its website.

The payment inquiry application for the State's accounting system IRIS is
available at: http://doa.alaska.gov/dof/vendor.html

The State of Alaska preference is to make all payments electronically with
few exceptions as described in AS 37.25.050 (b).

Vendors or individuals not able to identify payments received from the
state, are given access to the Vendor Self Service system to identify their
payments.

If a vendor or individual continues to have problems identifying their
payments, they should contact the Division of Finance who will work to
resolve their payment identification problems. Disabling Direct Deposit by
ACH for a vendor or individual due to payment identification issues will
be reviewed on a case by case basis by the Division of Finance.

AAM 38.230

Other ACH Transactions (07-16)

Agencies may create National Automated Clearing House Association
(NACHA) formatted files of transactions for either crediting or debiting
consumer or corporate accounts. These files of batched transactions must
be transmitted to the state’s ACH processing bank for payment processing
and settlement. Any exceptions shall be approved by Department of
Revenue, Treasury Division, Cash Management section.
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All ACH transactions must be authorized by the receiver and State
Agencies are responsible for obtaining required authorizations from
receivers of ACH transactions. Pre-notes are zero-dollar entries that are
sent through the ACH system prior to live entries and verify the bank
information is valid. Prenotes do not validate the owner of a specific bank
account.

The Effective Entry Date must be accurate in transmitted ACH files. State
agencies may not send ACH files to the ODFI using the file origination
date or the current day in the Effective Entry Date field, or the Settlement
Date field. State agencies are required to follow the correct 1 or 2 days
effective date requirement as specified for the specific ACH payment
program.

It is recommended that agencies plan to use the effective entry date for 2
day settlements all ACH credit files transmitted by the state.

A summary journal entry transaction must be processed in the financial
system for the ACH activity. The agency is responsible for preparing an
“Authorization to Disburse” memorandum and providing the memo and a
copy of the journal entry transaction to Cash Management for approval by
2:00 p.m. on the day prior to settlement of the ACH transactions.

If Cash Management is not notified prior to the settlement of transactions,
those transactions may be rejected as unauthorized.

Agencies may contact Cash Management with any questions regarding the
ACH system and its operating rules.

AAM 38.231

Prepaid Debit Cards (07-16)

Prepaid debit cards are used by the state for various payment programs.
Prepaid debit cards provide a method for an agency or program to make a
direct deposit electronically to a prepaid debit card rather than to issue a
paper treasury warrant for specific payment types. Program examples
currently in production include the following:

e Unemployment benefit payments
e Child Support payments
e Public Assistance benefit payments

Prepaid debit cards provide a method to make payment to a payee that
otherwise does not have a bank account. Prepaid card programs are
designed to provide payee convenience and can reach the “un-banked” or
“under-banked” payee, while still providing the originator with a lower
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cost electronic payment method. Prepaid card programs lower cost and
increase security over traditional paper based Treasury Warrant payments.

Agencies interested in implementing a prepaid card solutions can contact
the Treasury Division for more information.

Cardholder questions about their cards, card balance or transaction details
should be referred to the agency program hosting that prepaid card.

AAM 38.235

Wire Transfers (07-16)

Wire transfers are generally used for very large-value, real-time,
irrevocable transactions. Funds are moved in real time once a properly
authorized request has been processed by the originating bank. The
Department of Revenue, Treasury Division, Cash Management section is
the only state agency authorized to initiate wire transfers.

Wire transfers are a costly payment method which is used sparingly for
specific payment types where it has been deemed appropriate by the
Treasury Division and in the State's best interest.

Prior to Cash Management initiating a wire transfer for an agency, the
agency must provide complete banking information for the receiver. Cash
Management will need a minimum of two business days to set up a wire
template. It may take more than two days if information is missing or the
state’s wire transfer bank requires additional information. The banking
information required includes:

Beneficiary’s financial institution number.

Beneficiary’s financial institution name.

Beneficiary’s account number.

Beneficiary’s account name.

Any intermediary financial institution information, if applicable.
Any comments to be used for descriptive information pertaining to
the wire. At no time should bank account numbers or the names of
individuals be used in this field.

To request that Cash Management initiate a wire transfer payment the
requesting department must prepare an "Authorization to Disburse"
memorandum, together with a Journal Entry (CHS) transaction. For
instructions on preparing these documents, see the Accounting Procedures
Manual.

A journal entry records agency expenditures and funds the disbursement
liability account pending transfer to the recipient. A copy of the financial
transaction in final status must be attached to the memorandum.
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The "Authorization to Disburse" memorandum is addressed to the Cash
Manager. The memorandum must reference the document number of the
journal entry. The "Payable To" section must include the same vendor and
banking information that was provided to Cash Management with the
request to set up a wire template.

The telephone number on the memorandum must be that of the person
approving the transaction.

The memorandum is signed by the approving officer initiating the
transaction, approved by the certifying officer of the requesting agency,
and scanned images are transmitted to the Department of Revenue,
Treasury Division a minimum of one day before the disbursement date.

Requests received after 2:00 p.m. will be held over and processed on the
following business day.

On the scheduled disbursement day, Cash Management will initiate the
wire transfer. Cash Management will not process wire transfers without
sufficient funds in the disbursement liability account for a transaction.
Once Cash Management has transferred the funds to the recipient, the
Cash Management group will debit the liability account and credit cash in
the state's financial system.

AAM 38.240

International Payments (07-16)

Agencies can request the Department of Revenue, Treasury Division,
Cash Management section to make payments to individuals and vendors in
countries other than the United States. Payments may be made in US
dollars or the other country’s local currency either by international wire
transfer or bank draft.

Agencies are encouraged to request international wire transfers rather than
bank drafts. Bank Draft use is recommended for Canada only and reserved
for payments less than $5,000 USD.

Cash Management initiates an international payment when the requesting
department prepares an "Authorization to Disburse" memorandum,
together with a Journal Entry transaction and submits it to Treasury for
processing.

If payments are requested in local currency of the destination country, the
journal entry is processed for the estimated USD equivalent amount, until
the payment has been completed and the final USD equivalent is known.
At that point in time the Agency will modify the original journal entry to
reconcile to the final payment amount.
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Final payment amounts are derived from the foreign currency exchange
rate that was used for the currency exchange transaction.

"Authorization to Disburse" memorandums are addressed to the Cash
Manager. The telephone number on the memorandum must be that of the
person approving the transaction.

The memorandum must be signed by the employee initiating the
transaction, approved by the requesting agency, and sent to Cash
Management a minimum of one day before the disbursement date by 2:00
p.m.

Requests received after 2:00 p.m. will be held over and processed on the
following business day. Once the payment is complete and the funds have
been paid to the recipient, Treasury will record a debit to the liability
account and credit cash.

For international wire transfers, agencies must provide complete banking
information for the receiver in the “Authorization to Disburse”
memorandum including:

Beneficiary's account name.

Beneficiary's account number.

Beneficiary’s financial institution SWIFT number.
Beneficiary’s financial institution name.

IBAN (required for countries in Europe).

The type of foreign currency in which the payment must be paid
(e.g. Euros, Canadian dollars, Great British pounds, Japanese yen,
etc...).

e Any intermediary financial institution information, if applicable.
e Required references to be used for descriptive information
pertaining to the wire (e.g. invoice number, contract number,
etc...).

For bank drafts, the agency must provide the person’s or vendor’s name,
phone number, physical shipping address, the type of foreign currency the
draft must use, and any references to be used for the remittance advice.

AAM 38.300

One Card Alaska Program Overview (04-15)

As provided in AS 37.25.050, disbursements made by a state agency
should be made electronically, either through an electronic funds transfer
(ACH or wire transfer), or by using a charge card. Regulations on
electronic disbursements are identified in 2 AAC 15.130. Electronic
disbursements requirement policies are specified in AAM 38.210.
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The One Card Alaska program (the program) has been established to
provide State of Alaska corporate charge cards to state employees and
central travel system (CTS) accounts to state agencies as a more
convenient, efficient, and cost effective purchasing method for state travel
and procurement.

The One Card Alaska program includes the One Card and the Central
Travel System accounts. The One Card is a Visa corporate charge card
(the Card) that may be used by a state employee with any merchant who
accepts Visa. The Card may be used for in-store, mail, phone, fax, or
internet purchases. The One Card has spending limits that automatically
cycle (refresh) monthly. The One Card is distributed to frequent travelers
and procurement staff and is used for ongoing travel and procurement
transactions for multiple vendors. The Central Travel System account is a
card-not-present account used primarily by the State’s E-Travel office to
charge air, and in-state hotel and car rental expenses.

The Cards provide a convenient payment method for most state purchases.
They can be used to pay for goods and services regardless of required
procurement level, and can be part of the effort to reduce paperwork and
streamline the purchasing process. For example, if a Card is used for a
procurement that costs no more than $2,500, it may be used after receiving
only one quotation or informal proposal from an Alaskan vendor.
However, a state procurement representative may solicit non-Alaskan
vendors only if the representative has determined in writing that soliciting
from Alaskan vendors is not practicable [ref. AAM 81.220 &

2 AAC 12.400(1)].

Another benefit from increased use of Cards and CTS accounts is higher
rebates paid to the State of Alaska from the provider. Card and CTS
transactions are considered electronic payments therefore using Card and
CTS accounts also improves compliance with AS 37.25.050, the electronic
payment legislation passed in 2004 that requires all state payments, with
few exceptions, to be made electronically.

For these reasons, the State’s policy is to use the Card to pay for purchases
whenever practical.

Personal charge cards should not be used to purchase goods and services
for the State. The use of personal cards reduces transparency into the
financial operations of the State, prevents accurate tax reporting required
by the IRS, decreases rebates paid to the State, and does not allow for
sales tax exemption.

A few exceptions to this policy exist, including infrequent travelers who
have not been issued a Card and need to make payment for lodging or car
rental where the CTS is not an acceptable form of payment.
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Sections 38.300 - 360 set out policy related to the One Card Alaska
program. The One Card Alaska forms, documents, and links related to the
program are available on the Division of Finance website at:
http://doa.alaska.gov/dof/charge cards/index.html.

The program may not be used:

e To avoid or bypass appropriate procurement, travel, or payment
procedures; rather, it is intended to complement the existing
procedures.

e To bypass or replace the contract award process.

e For personal use.

The State of Alaska is financially responsible for all purchases made using
the Card and CTS accounts. The program is based upon the strength of the
state’s financial resources, not the personal finances of the cardholders.
All Card and CTS accounts are issued with corporate liability, under
which the state is liable for the cost of purchases.

All Cards are issued to employees based on the request of a supervisor,
manager, or division director.

AAM 38.310

Cardholder’s Responsibility (10-10)

The cardholder recognizes the Card is the property of the state and the
cardholder is responsible for the physical security of the Card and its
appropriate use. The cardholder is also responsible for maintaining the
security of card data such as the account number, the expiration date, and
the card verification code (CVC), the 3-digit security code located on the
back of a card.

Cardholders may use their cards to make authorized state purchases for
other state employees, but may not allow others to use their cards or card
data for purchases. As a rule, the Card is issued in the cardholder’s legal
name and this individual accountability is a key control over the program.

Prior to receiving a Card, each employee must read and sign the State of
Alaska One Card Alaska Charge Card Program Cardholder Usage
Agreement acknowledging the cardholder’s responsibilities under the
program.

Allowable Use — Procurement

The Card is to be used for purchases within established State of Alaska,
departmental, and federal procurement policies. Amounts of purchases
may not exceed the purchasing authority limits of the cardholder. Refer to
AAM 81 and 82 for state procurement policies.
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Allowable Use — Travel

The Card is to be used for all approved business travel expenses including
the following allowable uses:

e Airline Tickets — Airfare should be charged to the traveler’s Card
or a central travel system account (CTS).

e Lodging — The cost of lodging expenses should be charged to the
traveler’s Card, a CTS account, or should be direct billed.

e Rental Car Expenses:

o For rental cars arranged through Budget Rent a Car in
Anchorage, Fairbanks, and Juneau, all rental car expenses
should be charged to a CTS account or to the traveler’s
Card.

o Rental car expenses for all other car rental agencies should
be charged to the traveler’s Card.

e Meals and Incidental Expense Allowance — state travelers
receive an allowance to cover meals and incidental expenses. Some
state departments have established policies allowing use of the
Cards for cash advances for M&IE allowances. Generally, the
Card should not be used for purchasing meals as these are not a
state expenditure.

Refer to AAM 60m and 60t for state moving and travel policies.

Inappropriate / Personal Use of the Card

Use of the Card in any manner not in accordance with these program
policies may result in personal liability, revocation of the Card and all
purchasing authority, and disciplinary action up to and including dismissal
in accordance with applicable collective bargaining agreements. Misuse of
the Card may constitute a violation of the Alaska Executive Branch Ethics
Act, which may result in civil penalties of up to $5,000. Additionally,
unauthorized use of a card for personal purposes is theft under AS 11.46.
If the amount of the personal use is over $500, the cardholder may be
subject to felony prosecution.

Purchase activity will be audited by the cardholder’s agency and
inappropriate use will be handled in accordance with the policy on
inappropriate charge card use by state employees. This document is
available on the Division of Personnel website at
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http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/Human_Resource Services/pdf/Inapp
CardUse.pdf.

Public Record

All charges billed to the Card are considered a matter of public record and
may be disclosed to the public, the news media, and/or other requesting
parties.

Administrative Responsibilities

General payment policies require retention of receipts and other travel /
purchasing documentation (AAM 60.220, AAM 35.020). The cardholder
must retain, and within two business days, submit to administrative staff
sales slips, cash register receipts, invoices, order forms, receiving reports,
and other source documents that are necessary for full accounting and
reconciliation of all purchase transactions.

It is the cardholder’s responsibility to submit to the travel desk a
completed Travel Authorization form with all receipts, ticket stubs and
other source documentation attached within five business days of
completion of each trip.

Cardholders are responsible for self-registering in the card and account
management and reporting system in order to have access to monthly
online statements of their card transactions. On a monthly basis,
cardholders must review card transactions in the online statement and
immediately report to the departmental program administrator any
suspected fraudulent charges.

Cardholder Common Carrier Travel Accident Insurance Beneficiary
Designation

Travelers who use their Cards for their state-sponsored travel purchases
may designate beneficiaries for the $500,000 common carrier travel
accident insurance. This form and information about the insurance is
available from the Division of Finance website at:

http://doa.alaska.gov/dof/charge cards/resource/travel bene ltr.pdf

If no beneficiary is designated or if no beneficiary is living on the date of
the insured traveler’s death, the benefit will be paid to the first surviving
beneficiary identified by the issuing bank.

Lost Luggage Insurance Claims

It is the cardholder’s responsibility to file claims for payment of benefits
under the issuing bank’s lost luggage insurance. Benefits apply when an
employee loses personal luggage on a flight that was booked using the
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Card or central travel account (CTS) for a state business trip. Information
about Lost Luggage Insurance is available from the Division of Finance
website at:

http://doa.alaska.gov/dof/charge cards/resource/lost lug_insur.pdf

AAM 38.315  One Card Alaska Statewide Program Administrator
Responsibility (10-10)
The Department of Administration, Division of Finance, Systems
Administration section acts as the statewide One Card Alaska program
administrator. Statewide program administrator responsibilities include:

e Issuing Requests for Proposals for charge card payment services.

e Negotiating all contract terms and conditions with the issuing
bank.

e (Contract management throughout the life of the contract.

e Assigning appropriate entitlement and security access levels in the
online card and account management and reporting system to
department program administrators.

e Tracking and maintaining department program administrators in
the Organization Directory File (ODF).

e Managing and administrating the statewide program.

e Establishing statewide policies governing the program.

e Providing liaison services between the issuing bank, its processor,
Visa, and agencies.

e Assisting agencies in the implementation, administration, and
management of individual department programs.

e Reviewing, approving, and submitting to the issuing bank agency
requests for new managing and central travel system (CTS)
accounts and changes to managing and central travel system
account structures.

e Establishing managing and central travel system structures in the
ODF and in the charge card reconciliation system, AutoPay.

e Optimization of the Card program to ensure maximum
incentive/rebate benefits to the state.

e Establishing statewide fraud and misuse detection and reporting.

AAM 38.320 One Card Alaska Delegation of Authority (01-08)

The Department of Administration, Division of Finance is responsible for
the administration and maintenance of delegation of authority for the
statewide One Card Alaska program. The director of the Division of
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Finance delegates full authority to department Appointing Authorities for
the day-to-day administration and management of programs within their
departments.

Appointing Authorities may delegate full authority to other persons in
their departments. The delegation of authority for a department’s program
from the Appointing Authority to department program administrators must
be communicated to the Division of Finance, Systems Administration
section through submittal of completed One Card Alaska Program
Administrator AccessOnline Entitlement Authorization forms. This form
is available from the Division of Finance website at:
http://www.doa.alaska.gov/dof/forms/index.html#cc

Full Authority

Full authority allows the department program administrator to perform
day-to-day administration and management of the department’s One Card
Alaska program. An employee granted full authority acts as the
department administrator for the individual department’s program. Refer
to AAM 38.325 for a list of department program administrator
responsibilities granted under full authority.

AAM 38.325

One Card Alaska Department Program Administrator and
Delegate Responsibilities (10-10)

Department Program Administrator

To participate in the program, an agency must establish at least one
department program administrator to oversee the program within the
agency and at least one additional person as a back-up department
program administrator.

Department program administrator responsibilities include:

e Determination of and changes to One Card program department
contacts, authorities, and security.

e Design and structure of the department’s One Card program,
including types of accounts used and restrictions on account usage.

e Enforcement and administration of the statewide policies
established for the issuance and usage of charge cards to
department employees.

e Request central travel system (CTS) and managing accounts for
department travel and procurement expenditures.

e Request changes to the managing and CTS account structure for
the agency.

e Delegate limited program administration functions to other
departmental staff through completion of One Card Alaska
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Program Administrator AccessOnline Entitlement Authorization
forms.

Request new entitlements and changes to existing entitlements for
department program administrators. Complete the AccessOnline
Add User Request spreadsheet and submit it to the Division of
Finance.

Ensure the agency is set up with approval functionality on card and
account set up in AccessOnline when update authority is granted to
program administrator delegates.

Track program administrator delegates through the financial
system Organization Directory File (ODF) employee tracking
reports and ensure delegate entitlement authorizations are revoked
on separation of the administrator from state services or on transfer
to another state agency.

Provide training to program administrator delegates on statewide
and department One Card program policies and entitlement and
reporting capabilities of the online card and account management
and reporting system.

Daily review of active work queues in the card and account
management and reporting system and authorize new Card account
setups processed by program administrator delegates to obtain
cards for employees upon request by the supervisors or managers.
Maintain department cardholder accounts, including adding new
accounts, canceling accounts, and inactivating accounts for
seasonal employees, and changing information on existing
accounts online in the card and account management and reporting
system.

Determine appropriate travel, procurement, or dual-use credit
limits for each departmental cardholder and establish the
appropriate merchant category codes (MCCs) and MCC groups
that best utilize the card and account management system’s
controls over cardholder credit limits and purchase authorities.
Increase a credit limit or authorize a temporary addition of an
MCC or MCC group in a cardholder’s account to accommodate an
authorized purchase that is declined at the point-of-sale. Ensure the
temporary change to the credit authorization limit or MCCs is
removed on successful completion of the previously declined
transaction.

Verify the secure distribution of new and reissued cards to
department employees.

Track and secure the Cards issued for the agency.

Timely audit of expenditures made on the Cards to ensure
inappropriate and fraudulent charges are detected and dealt with
expeditiously.

Proactive and timely initiation of dispute activities to ensure
protection and full exercise of the state’s time-limited dispute
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rights and insurance options. Refer to AAM 38.350 for policies on
billing statement disputes.

Train all agency cardholders on secure methods of carrying, using
and storing Cards.

Immediate notification to the Human Resource Manager in the
Division of Personnel and Labor Relations of all suspected
inappropriate use of Cards for investigation and to ensure
appropriate and expedient disciplinary actions are initiated.
Immediate notification to the issuing bank in the event an
employee is terminated for card misuse. The Notification of
Termination Date letter requirement is satisfied by processing a
T-9 closure of the cardholder account in the card and account
management and reporting system no later than two days following
the terminated employee’s last day.

Immediate written notification to employee who will be terminated
for card misuse that the employee’s card has been canceled and the
employee no longer has the right to use the card.

Correction of misapplied payments.

Inquire on departmental accounts and transaction activity in the
online card and account management and reporting system.

Ensure cards are destroyed by cardholders and cardholder accounts
are immediately closed upon employee separation or transfer to
another state agency.

Assign and change default financial coding in the AutoPay,
reconciliation subsystem in the statewide financial system.

Ensure cardholders satisfy documentation requirements for Card
purchases.

Assign responsibilities for reconciling the agency’s managing and
central travel account (CTS) billing statements.

Provide feedback to the statewide program administrators
regarding the problems and successes of the Card program.
Safeguard the card numbers and cardholder information from
unauthorized access including, but not limited to:

o Securing hardcopy reports that contain card numbers and
cardholder information.

o Ensuring card data is not distributed via unsecured methods
such as email/email attachments, etc.

o Ensuring card data is not provided to vendors for their
retention in merchant environments. Advising vendors not
to store this data.

o Ensuring card data is not stored in internet, intranet, local
area networks, etc.

Determine and establish hierarchy ranges in the AutoPay card
reconciliation subsystem to assign descriptions that replace
confidential traveler names in the financial system inquiry screens
and on financial documents.
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If a Card is issued to a department program administrator, the setup and
maintenance of the Card in the online card and account management and
reporting system must be delegated to another program administrator
within the department.

Program Administrator Delegate

The departmental program administrator may delegate limited view and
entitlement authority in the card and account management and reporting
system to individuals in the department. Program administrator delegates
have the responsibility and authority to view, set up, change or delete
charge card accounts in accordance with their delegation and departmental
policies.

If a Card is issued to a program administrator delegate, the setup and
maintenance of the Card in the online card and account management and
reporting system must be delegated to another program administrator
within the department.

AAM 38.330

One Card Alaska Supervisor Responsibility (01-08)

Department supervisors have the authority to request Cards for staff who
have state purchasing authority and for staff who travel on state-sponsored
business.

It is the supervisor’s responsibility to ensure destruction of the Card by a
cardholder and, if possible, witness destruction of the Card, and notify the
department program administrator on or prior to the cardholder’s last day
of service when the cardholder separates from the state or transfers to
another state department. On the Employee Clearance Form, the
supervisor checks off that the Card has been destroyed. This form is
available from the Division of Personnel web site at:
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/Human_Resource_Services/pdf/
EmployeeClearanceForm.pdf.

AAM 38.335

One Card Alaska Card Data Storage (10-10)

The State of Alaska requires its vendors to comply with Payment Card
Industry (PCI) Data Security Standards. These standards dictate that
corporate charge card and central travel system account data, such as
account numbers, expiration dates, CVC security codes, or other data not
be retained or stored in merchant environments, including, but not limited
to storage of corporate card data in merchant data bases or on any
hardcopy media such as display of full account numbers on receipts,
retaining lists of account numbers, etc. The state allows storage of card
and account numbers and expiration dates in the reservation data base(s)

Alaska Administrative Manual — Accounting
Payment Methods
38.29



http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/Human_Resource_Services/pdf/EmployeeClearanceForm.pdf
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/Human_Resource_Services/pdf/EmployeeClearanceForm.pdf

of the state’s contracted travel agency for the sole purpose of procuring
travel services for state-sponsored travel. The contracted travel agency
must ensure reservation data bases adhere to PCI data security standards.

It is the responsibility of state cardholders, statewide program
administrators, departmental program administrators and delegates, and
the state’s contracted travel agency to maintain the security of the state’s
card and account data.

AAM 38.340 One Card Alaska Program Controls (04-15)

The issuing bank offers several point-of-sale controls at the individual
cardholder level. These include:

e Single transaction purchase limit for procurement and travel —
Restricts the cost of an individual purchase against a pre-set limit.

¢ Spending limit per cycle — For One Cards, restricts the total
amount of purchases against a pre-set monthly limit.

e Merchant category code (MCC) — Restricts the type of purchase
allowed by type of merchant (i.e., airline, hotel, retail, etc.). Two
MCC restrictions should be established on cardholder accounts
with dual travel and purchase authority. A listing of MCC groups
from which agencies may choose appropriate restrictions is
available on the Division of Finance web site at:
http://doa.alaska.gov/dof/charge cards/resource/MCC_STATE.pdf

e ATM cash — Allows or restricts the cardholder from access to cash
withdrawals. If the cardholder is granted access to cash, restricts
the amount of cash advance withdrawals to a percent of spending
limit per cycle.

These controls should reflect the agency’s purchasing and travel patterns
and for procurement, the individual cardholder’s delegated purchasing
authority. These are preventive controls and, as such, should be used
judiciously. It is not in the state’s interest to prevent authorized purchases
with stringent controls at the point-of-sale. For example, the single
transaction purchase limit should take into account whether cardholders
are authorized to purchase contract award items in excess of their
delegated purchasing authority.
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Travel Advances

Departments are encouraged to limit the cash advance amount on
individual traveler’s cards to $300 per day and a total amount of $1,000.
These represent the maximum amounts of cash advances that are waivable
charges eligible for coverage which protects the state under the Visa
Liability Waiver Program. A link to information about this program is
available from the Division of Finance website at:
http://doa.alaska.gov/dof/charge cards/resource/Visa_Liability Waiver

Program.pdf

All travel advances obtained through use of the Card, require employee
notification that any monies owed the State of Alaska by the traveler may
be deducted from the employee’s paycheck. Refer to AAM 60.070 for
policies on use of the Card for travel advances and repayment of overpaid
advances.

AAM 38.345

One Card Alaska Reconciliation, Approval, and Payment
Process (10-12)

The issuing bank is paid daily for all purchases in accordance with
contract terms. Each purchase is initially charged to the agency’s default
financial coding for the related Card or central travel system (CTS)
account. The expenditures remain in the default financial coding until
reconciled by agency staff.

Subsequent review of Card purchases by cardholders is a detective control
critical to the integrity of the program. Cardholders submit their invoices
and other purchase support documentation to reconcilers within two days
of purchase. Travelers submit their completed Travel Authorizations and
support documentation to travel desks within five days from completion of
travel. Refer to AAM 38.310 Cardholder’s Responsibility.

The AutoPay subsystem within the State's financial system is used by the
agencies to reconcile and voucher purchase/charge transactions. This
process matches the bank transaction with support documentation,
provides the vendor code and actual financial coding, and adds any
reference information for posting in the financial system. Review of Card
purchases by reconcilers and voucherers is a detective control critical to
the integrity of the program.

Transactions reconciled and vouchered through the AutoPay subsystem
are available in the financial system for certification and processing. To
maintain proper duty segregation:

1. Someone other than the cardholder or traveler should be responsible
for the reconciliation and vouchering process, and,
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2. Someone other than the cardholder/traveler and reconciler/voucherer
should review and certify the zero-warrant transactions that move
expenditures from the default coding and record expenditures to the
appropriate financial coding.

Timing of Card Program Processes

Each agency finance office is responsible for establishing One Card
program processing procedures that protect the state’s interest in
maximizing dispute rights in cases of fraud and accessing available
insurance benefits in cases of cardholder misuse. This requires each
agency to establish charge card processes that promote early detection of
fraud and misuse.

Each agency finance office is responsible for establishing Card program
processing procedures that guarantee the agency meets the annual mid to
late August deadline for bringing reconciliations, vouchering and
transaction processing current for all AutoPay transactions that will post to
prior year appropriations.

Additionally, it is highly recommended that agencies reconcile, voucher,
and process all AutoPay transactions by December 31. While this date is
no longer a clearing requirement for 1099 (vendor) purposes, it is a
deadline for taxable travel payments for the calendar year. Clearing
AutoPay transactions related to travel from July through December will
ensure accurate calculation of final travel payments and any taxable travel
payments associated with the travel.

Processed transactions are archived by each agency with all supporting
purchase documentation.

AAM 38.350 One Card Alaska Billing Statement Disputes (01-08)

Review of online statements and reconciling and vouchering Card
purchases identifies most discrepancies between transactions from the
issuing bank and amounts actually owed by the state. The state does not
deduct disputed amounts from payments to the issuing bank. Instead
disputed amounts are initially paid and the state seeks credit for amounts
overpaid.

The individual cardholder, reconciler, and/or department program
administrator should work with the vendor to receive credit for amounts
improperly billed.

If the agency is unable to get satisfaction from the vendor, the disputed
transactions should be documented in the online card and account
management and reporting system and the agency must work directly with
the issuing bank to dispute them. Timeframes for the dispute process are
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limited to 60 days from the statement date when the item originally
posted, so timely action on the part of the cardholder and other agency
personnel is necessary.

The issuing bank will post a credit to the cardholder’s account until the
dispute is resolved. Once resolved, the cardholder will be notified of the
outcome.

AAM 38.355

Canceling and Inactivating the One Card (01-08)

The immediate supervisor of a cardholder who is separating from the
agency must request the employee destroy the Card and, if possible,
witness such destruction, AAM 38.330 Destruction of the Card is then
checked off on the Employee Clearance Form. This form is available from
the http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/Human_Resource_Services/
pdf/EmployeeClearanceForm.pdf.

Prior to the cardholder’s last day with the agency, the immediate
supervisor must also notify the departmental program administrator of the
cardholder’s separation. At the time the of a cardholder’s separation, the
agency has the obligation to ensure the cardholder’s account is canceled in
the online card and account management and reporting system.

Cardholders going on seasonal leave without pay must turn in their Cards
for secure storage by the agency until they return. The agency must
inactivate the cardholder’s account in the online card and account
management system. Failure to timely cancel or inactivate accounts may
result in agency responsibility for all charges to the Card following the
cardholder’s separation or leave start dates.

AAM 38.360

Lost or Stolen One Cards (01-08)

If the Card is lost or stolen, the cardholder must immediately notify the
issuing bank, the cardholder’s immediate supervisor, and the department
program administrator. Failure to notify the issuing bank will result in
agency responsibility for all charges. Issuing bank contact information is
available on the Division of Finance website at:
http://doa.alaska.gov/dof/charge cards/
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