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Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Family Leave; 

Federal Regulations; and the Alaska Statutes 

 

Overview of the Acts 
 
The Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA) provides a job-protected absence for up to 12 weeks 
in a 12-month period to eligible employees for a qualifying condition. The National Defense Authorization 
Act (NDAA) amended the FMLA effective January 16, 2009. Two new leave rights were added relating to 
military service: entitlement for 12 weeks of leave for eligible employees because of “any qualifying 
exigency” and an entitlement for up to 26 weeks of leave for eligible employees related to a service member 
who is recovering from a serious illness or injury sustained in the line of duty on active duty. Other revisions 
adopted in the final rule adopted by the U.S. Department of Labor made changes to FMLA in the areas of: 
employer notice obligations, medical certification, nonconsecutive periods of service as it applies to the 
eligibility threshold, addition of non-designation of FMLA leave penalties, revisions to the definition of 
serious health condition, changed light duty to not count toward a FMLA entitlement, and clarified that an 
employee can voluntarily settle past FMLA claims without court or departmental approval but prohibits an 
employee from waiving prospective FMLA rights. 
 
The Alaska Family Leave Act of 1992 (AFLA) provides a job protected absence for up to 18 weeks in a 24-
month period to eligible employees for a qualifying serious medical condition. It also provides a job protected 
absence for up to 18 weeks in a 12-month period to eligible employees for pregnancy, childbirth or adoption.  
 
When an employee is eligible under both Acts, the entitlements run concurrently. 
 
General Information 
 
The federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and Alaska Family Leave Act (AFLA) place additional 
requirements on the state and provide additional benefits to our employees.  However, FMLA and AFLA 
supplement rather than replace other laws, contractual requirements, and our own policies and practices 
regarding leave.  Thus, FMLA and AFLA must be applied in harmony with all related statutes, regulations, 
and guidelines.  Requirements such as calling a supervisor within 15 minutes after scheduled starting time to 
report leave (or 15 minutes before the start of shift, or whatever the office practice might be) are unchanged 
by FMLA and AFLA. 
 
Because FMLA and AFLA supplement other provisions, the following principle applies: the employee is 
entitled to the most generous benefit provided by any applicable source.  Whenever provisions under FMLA 
are more generous, apply the federal regulations.  Whenever provisions under AFLA are more generous, 
apply the state regulations.  Whenever an applicable collective bargaining provision is more generous, apply 
that provision. 
 
On the other hand, the employer does have some decisions to make and options to choose.  Refer to the 
Alaska Administrative Manual, 280.360 – 280.450. The State of Alaska's decisions are also reflected in the 
question and answer sections that follow.  The decisions reflect the following: where there is an entitlement 
under more than one federal or state law or regulation or collective bargaining agreement, the use of leave 
will be considered as use for all entitlements and the leave time will run concurrently. 
 
FMLA has very specific notice requirements for the posting of notices, for notifying an employee of specific 
rights and obligations at the time the supervisor is made aware of an employee's intent to use family leave, 
and when an employee's family leave entitlement is invoked.  Although this FAQ addresses some questions, 
careful review of the full requirements is encouraged (29 CFR Part 825, Subpart C).  
 
Implementation of FMLA and AFLA added material to, and required the establishment of, employee medical 
files.  All information with regards to an employee's medical history (past and current) shall be kept in these 
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medical files.  These files must be kept separate from the employee's personnel or other files, as is required by 
the Americans with Disabilities Act, and must be kept confidential.  This means the medical files must be kept 
in a locked cabinet separate from the one(s) containing other employee, leave, or payroll files.  The Division 
of Personnel is responsible for maintaining the official medical file. 
 
We have adopted the following convention throughout this document to distinguish the use of leave for 
pregnancy, childbirth, placement for adoption, etc., from leave for a serious health condition.  The former is 
referred to as "parental leave" and the latter as "medical leave."  A provision that applies to either (or both) 
leave type is referred to as "family leave."  The meaning of each of these terms is different under the FMLA 
and AFLA.  Specific references to the federal and state laws use "FMLA" and "AFLA" respectively.  Table 1 
compares major differences in provisions between FMLA and AFLA and reflects state policy adopted 
through the Alaska Administrative Manual. 
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This section of the FAQs addresses both medical and parental leave under FMLA and AFLA and policies 
adopted through the Alaska Administrative Manual. 

 
1. What are the employment thresholds to qualify for family leave? 
 
FMLA: The applicable thresholds for FMLA are having worked for the state for at least 12 months. The 12 

months service does not need to be continuous; if employee has a 7 year break in service, service that 
is more than 7 years old does not need counted unless: 1) break was due to National Guard or Reserve 
military service or b) written agreement exists regarding employer’s intention to rehire employee after 
the break in service. The threshold includes having worked for the state for 1,250 hours over the past 
12 months, and working in a location with at least 50 employees in a 75 mile radius.  The work site of 
an employee is ordinarily the site the employee reports to or, if none, the site from which the 
employee's work is assigned.  The 75-mile radius is measured in surface miles, using surface 
transportation over public streets, roads, highways and waterways, by the shortest route from the 
facility where the eligible employee needing leave is employed.  Absent available surface 
transportation between work sites, the distance is measured by using the most frequently utilized 
mode of transportation. 
 

AFLA: The applicable thresholds for AFLA for employees exempt from coverage of AS 39.20.200-330 (i.e., 
persons employed by the state covered by a collective bargaining unit agreement, etc., see 
AS 39.20.310) are having been employed (regularly scheduled to work) by the state for at least 35 
hours per week for at least six consecutive months or for at least 17 1/2 hours per week for at least 12 
consecutive months immediately preceding the leave, and having worked at a location that had at 
least 21 employees within 50 road miles during any period of 20 consecutive workweeks in the 
preceding two calendar years.  For employees subject to AS 39.20.200-330 (exempt, partially exempt, 
excluded not listed in AS 39.20.210 as an exemption), AFLA leave is available immediately upon 
employment with no restrictions on length of service, number of hours employed, or size of the local 
work force. 

 
POLICY: The State of Alaska has adopted a more generous policy that allows employees who meet the 

employment and hours worked thresholds to be eligible for family leave regardless of the number of 
employees within a given radius. 

 
 29 CFR 825.110 AS 39.20.500(b) AAM 280.370  
 
2. Do leave and holidays count toward meeting the employment threshold of hours worked, i.e., 

the service requirement? 
 
FMLA: No.  Only the hours actually worked (including overtime) count toward meeting the FMLA's 1,250-

hour service requirement. 
  
AFLA: Yes.  The AFLA service requirements are based on being employed by the state.  "Employed by" 

includes all the benefits that go with employment such as leave and holidays, including approved 
leave without pay.  For example, a full-time (normally assigned a 37-1/2 hour per week schedule) 
temporary employee would qualify for leave under AFLA after six months, and would not have the 
threshold jeopardized because the office was closed for a holiday and the employee worked only 30 
hours in that week.  Further, the threshold is not jeopardized when an employee takes approved leave 
without pay to cover the absence.  The individual remains “employed by” the state during such 
periods. In contrast, for AFLA purposes only, individuals in seasonal positions are not “employed by” 
the state during the seasonal leave without pay periods. 

 
 29 CFR 825.110(c) AS 39.20.500 
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3. Could an employee who qualifies under AFLA, later qualify for the FMLA entitlement (i.e., 
state paid health insurance), when, and if, they meet the FMLA employment threshold? 

 
 Yes.  For example, an employee with over a year of prior service is hired and works full time for six 

months (975 hours).  The employee is eligible only for AFLA benefits at this time.  A qualifying 
condition develops and the employee takes 17 weeks (approximately four months) off.  The employee 
returns to work for two months (325 hours).  The employee is now eligible for FMLA (due to having 
worked at least 1,250 hours in the preceding year) and could take 12 weeks of leave, with insurance 
coverage, for a qualifying condition. 

 
POLICY: Health insurance for the first twelve weeks of AFLA leave is provided to those employees who are 

excluded from FMLA coverage who are eligible and qualified for AFLA and meet the 1,250-hour 
employment threshold requirement (i.e., policy level exempt and partially-exempt employees).  

 
 29 CFR 825.110 AAM 280.420 
 
4. Would an employee who was employed for 30 hours a week for eight months be covered under 

AFLA because the total hours worked would exceed the 35 hours a week for 6-month period 
threshold? 

 
 No.  The threshold requirement is set for the specific hours of employment for the specified duration. 
 
 AS 39.20.500(b) 
 
5. Who is responsible for assuring the employee meets the applicable employment threshold under 

the state and/or federal Act? 
 
 The Division of Personnel & Labor Relations  b is responsible for making the final determination. 
 
 AAM 280.370 
 
6. Are nonpermanent or temporary employees covered by these statutes/regulations? 
 
 Yes.  The federal Act and the state Act cover temporary or nonpermanent employees who meet the 

thresholds. 
 
 29 CFR 825.110 AS 39.20.500 
 
7. Are there other employees who are excluded from coverage? 
 
FMLA: Yes, under FMLA (29 USC 825.101(3)), the definition of "employee" is the same definition of 

"employee" that is provided by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) (29 USC 203(e)).  The FLSA 
excludes from the definition of employee any individual employed by a state who is not subject to the 
civil service laws of the state and who: 

 
 holds a public elective office, 
 is selected by the holder of such an office to be member of the elected official's personal staff, 
 is appointed by such an officeholder to serve on a policy making level, 
 is an immediate adviser to such an officeholder with respect to the constitutional or legal power 

of the office, or 
 is an employee of the legislative branch and is not employed by the legislative library. 

 
AFLA: There are no exclusions under AFLA (see AS 39.20.310). 
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 29 CFR 825.800 AS 39.20.500  AS 39.20.310 
 
8.  How is intermittent leave calculated for part-time employees? 

 
A part-time employee is entitled to intermittent leave on a pro rata basis of the normally scheduled 
hours of work per week. 
 
If an employee is normally scheduled to work 30 hours a week, the intermittent hours are calculated 
based on 30 hours multiplied by the number of weeks to which they are entitled. In this example the 
entitlement would be as follows: 
 
FMLA:  12 workweeks (30 hours each) in each 12-month period is 360 hours of entitlement to be 
used on an intermittent basis. 
 
AFLA:  18 workweeks (30 hours each) in a 24-month period for medical leave is 540 hours of 
entitlement to be used on an intermittent basis. 
 
If the part-time employee’s schedule varies week to week, a weekly average of the hours worked over 
the 12 weeks prior to the beginning of the leave period is used for calculating the employee’s normal 
workweek. 

 
29 CFR 825.205 

 
9. Does a legal holiday, which occurs during a period of family leave, extend the employee's 

allowable time away from work? 
 
 When FMLA leave is taken in a single block of time, the answer is "no."  FMLA regulations provide, 

"For purposes of determining the amount of leave used by an employee, the fact that a holiday may 
occur within the week taken as FMLA leave has no effect, the week is counted as a week of FMLA 
leave." 

 
 For FMLA leave taken intermittently or on a reduced leave schedule, the answer generally is "yes."  

Federal regulations provide, "If an employee takes leave on an intermittent or reduced leave schedule, 
only the amount of leave actually taken may be counted . . . ". However, like FMLA leave taken as a 
single block of time, intermittent leave taken in substantial blocks of time (e.g., a three week trip 
every three months for out-of-state treatment) would count a holiday that is part of a full week of 
leave as FMLA leave.   

 
 The state applies these same standards to the use of AFLA leave. 
 
 Since the state has chosen to require parental leave after delivery and recovery or post-placement to 

be taken in a single block of time, a holiday does not extend the employee's allowable time away 
from work for these purposes. 

 
 The Division of Personnel is responsible for tracking FMLA and AFLA leave manually until 

automated system requirements are identified and implemented.  Tracking can be done on an hourly 
basis.  For example, an employee on a 37.5 hour per week schedule is entitled to 450 hours of FMLA 
leave and 675 hours of AFLA leave in the appropriate periods.  It will be necessary to properly 
account for holidays per the preceding paragraphs in determining when the respective entitlements are 
exhausted. 

 
 29 CFR 825.200(f)  29 CFR 825.205(a) 
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10. When does the eligible employee's family leave begin if the employee is on seasonal LWOP or is 
laid off? 

 
 Family leave will begin when/if the employee is recalled to work and meets the threshold 

requirements. 
 
 29 CFR 825.112(f) 
 
11. To what extent does a seasonal employee's entitlements under the Act extend beyond the end of 

the season? 
 
 The employee is not entitled to wages or employer paid health coverage beyond the end of the 

employee's season.  Upon the beginning of the next season, if the employee continues to be eligible 
for family leave, the remaining balance of the entitlements will continue (leave, health coverage, etc.), 
if within the 12- or 24-month entitlement period. 

 
 29 CFR 825.112(f)  AS 39.20.500(d) 
 
12.  Seasonal leave without pay makes it difficult for seasonal employees to meet the employment 

threshold requirements for FMLA and AFLA. Is it correct that in many cases seasonal 
employees will not qualify for family leave?  

 
 Yes, threshold requirements must be met to qualify for family leave. 
 
13. Is the employer required to provide continued major medical coverage for eligible employees on 

family leave?  
 
FMLA: The FMLA requires the state to provide, for the first 12 weeks of family leave, the same level of 

health insurance coverage provided prior to the leave.  Those employees in bargaining units that are 
required to pay a "buy-up" portion of their major medical premium must pay their portion in order to 
continue the coverage.  Permanent part-time employees must pay their portion of the major medical 
premium as well, if selected, to continue coverage under this plan. 

 
 Other benefits such as SBS options and travel and accident insurance will continue while the 

employee is in paid status; however, the employee must continue to pay their portion of the 
premiums.  The non-medical and optional benefits will cease when the employee enters leave without 
pay. 

 
AFLA: Coverage is only maintained for eligible employees while in pay status. The employee pays cost of 

maintaining coverage in period of leave without pay. 
 

POLICY: The state will provide health insurance for the first twelve weeks of leave under AFLA for those 
employees who are covered under AFLA but excluded from FMLA coverage.  This applies to those 
employee such as policy level exempt and partially exempt employees providing the employee has 
been employed by the state for a 12-month period and worked 1,250 hours during the previous 12-
month period and is otherwise qualified for health insurance. 

 
 29 CFR 825.209  AS 39.20.500(d)  AAM 280.420 
 
14. Can employees on family leave retain leave on the books when entering into leave without pay?  
 
 Employees subject to AS 39.20.200-.310 may retain up to five days of leave on the books during 

qualified AFLA leave only.  This would include, for example, partially exempt employees, excluded 
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employees, exempt employees not in a bargaining unit. Once the employee has opted to retain leave, 
that leave cannot be used for an AFLA leave condition until the AFLA leave entitlement is exhausted. 

 
Employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement are subject to the terms of the agreement. 
Provisions of all bargaining unit agreements should be carefully reviewed before advising an 
employee. 
 
AS 39.20.305 
See applicable collective bargaining unit agreements 

 
15. Once an employee has elected to retain accumulated leave for an AS 39.20.305 AFLA absence, 

can the employee later change his or her mind in order to extend the leave of absence? 
 
 An employee who chooses to retain leave while on an AS 39.20.305 AFLA leave cannot later change 

his/her mind and decide to use the retained leave for the AFLA absence.  However, once the AFLA 
entitlement has been exhausted, the employee can use the retained leave for any qualifying reason, 
including the original AFLA event or condition. 

 
 AS 39.20.305 
 
16. How does the employee notify the employer of the need to invoke family leave entitlements? 
 
 The employee advises the supervisor he/she is requesting leave and states a qualifying reason. The 

state requires notice in writing (a Leave Request/Report Form 02-035 satisfies the written notice 
requirement), but where extenuating circumstances prevent it the employee may still invoke the 
entitlement verbally.   

 
The state chooses to require a Certification of Health Care Provider to document the employee’s need 
for medical leave that exceeds three consecutive workdays. 

 
NOTE: Administration of family leave possesses different circumstances than collective bargaining 
agreement language that talks about other leave situations. 

 
 29 CFR 825.302  AS 39.20.510  AS 39.20.305(b) 
 
17. Is it ever permissible for the supervisor or a representative of the employee to invoke the 

employee's family leave entitlement? 
 
 Yes.  In all circumstances, it is the state's (employer’s) responsibility to designate leave (paid or 

unpaid) as family leave qualifying, and to notify the employee. 
 
 For FMLA, the designation must be based only on information received from the employee or the 

employee's spokesperson (e.g., if the employee is incapacitated, the employee's spouse, adult child, 
parent, doctor, etc.).  When the state does not have sufficient information about the employee's use of 
paid leave, the supervisor or the Division of Personnel must inquire further of the employee or the 
spokesperson to ascertain whether paid leave is potentially FMLA-qualifying.  The inquiry may seek 
information similar to the information on the Certification of Health Care Provider form, but no 
additional information.  A conditional determination may be made subject to a final determination 
when the Certification of Health Care Provider is completed. 

  
An employee giving notice of the need for unpaid FMLA leave must explain the reasons for the 
needed leave so as to allow the state to determine if the leave qualifies under FMLA.  If the employee 
fails to explain the reasons, leave may be denied. 
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 Supervisors or the supervisor’s designee conditionally invokes the employee’s absence as family 
leave within two working days of acquiring knowledge of a possible family leave qualifying 
condition. The Division of Personnel officially designates an employee’s absence as family leave. 

 
   29 CFR 825.208  AAM 280.370 
 
18. Can the employer designate FMLA leave retroactively?  
 

If Division of Personnel & Labor Relations does not designate leave as required by 29 CRF 825.300, 
Division of Personnel & Labor Relations may retroactively designate leave as FMLA leave with 
appropriate notice to the employee in accordance with the notice provisions provided that the 
employer’s failure to timely designate leave does not cause harm or injury to the employee. In all 
cases where leave would qualify for FMLA protections, an employee and an employer can mutually 
agree that leave be retroactively designated as FMLA leave. 
 
29 CFR 825.301 
 

19. Can an employer be liable for not designating FMLA qualifying leave?  
 
If the employer’s failure to timely designate leave in accordance with 29 CFR 825.300 causes the 
employee to suffer harm, it may constitute an interference with, restraint of, or denial of the exercise 
of an employee’s FMLA rights. The employer might be liable for not designating FMLA qualifying 
leave if the employee can demonstrate he or she suffered actual harm. 
 
29 CFR 825.301 

 
20. What is the definition of health care provider? 

 
 FMLA: Doctors of medicine and osteopathy authorized by the state in which the doctor practices;  

  
Podiatrists, dentists, clinical psychologists, optometrists, and chiropractors authorized to practice in 
the state and performing within the scope of their practice as defined under state law;  

    
Nurse-midwives, nurse practitioners, and clinical social workers who are authorized to practice under 
state law and who are performing within the scope of their practice as defined under state law; 

 
Christian Science practitioners listed with the First Church of Christ, Scientists, Boston, 
Massachusetts; 

 
Any health care provider from whom the state’s health insurance carrier or administrator or a health 
trust covering our employees accepts certification of the existence of a serious health condition to 
substantiate a claim for benefits; 

    
A health care provider listed above who practices in another country who is authorized to practice in 
accordance with the law of that country and who is performing within the scope of the practice as 
defined under such law. 

 
 AFLA: Dentists licensed under AS 08.36; Physicians licensed under AS 08.64; and Psychologists licensed 

under AS 08.86.   
 

POLICY: It is the policy of the state that the definition of health care provider utilized under FMLA, will be the 
same definition utilized for the portion of the absence associated with AFLA as long as the employee 
is eligible. 
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 29 CFR 825.118  AAM 280.380 
 
21. Who defines the 12- or 24-month periods for family leave? 
 
 The state chooses the method for determining (defining) the "12-month period" under FMLA.  AFLA 

specifies 18 workweeks may be taken in "any 24-month period."  The state has chosen to start 
counting the 12- and 24-month periods from the day the family leave began. 

 
 29 CFR 825.200(b)  AAM 280.390 
 
22. How much family leave is a 37.5-hour week full-time employee entitled to in a 24-month 

period? 
 

FMLA: 12 workweeks in each 12-month period or 450 hours if used intermittently. 
 

AFLA: 18 workweeks in a 24-month period for medical leave and 18 workweeks in a 12-month period for 
parental leave (consecutive after recovery from delivery or after placement for adoption) or 675 hours 
if used intermittently. 

  
The leave entitlements run concurrently whenever possible. 

 
 29 CFR 825.100  AS 39.20.500  AS 39.20.305 
 
23. Can employees on family leave qualify for unemployment insurance? 
 
 Individuals must be able and available to work to be eligible for unemployment insurance (U.I.) 

compensation.  The family leave qualifying condition would generally negate U.I. eligibility; 
however, employees on family leave may be eligible for U.I. in certain specific circumstances.  The 
Employment Security Division in the Department of Labor and Workforce Development makes 
eligibility determinations. 

 
 AS 23.20.378-.379 
 
24. Can an agency impose discipline for abuse of parental or medical leave under FMLA or AFLA? 
 
 Yes.  Appropriate discipline may be imposed for documented abuse.   
 
 Abuse may take several forms; the investigation before imposing discipline and the type of discipline 

is driven by the particular facts and circumstances.  For example, leave conditionally determined to be 
FMLA leave, if not supported by the Certification of Health Care Provider (CHCP) need not be 
approved as leave at all if business does not permit the absence.  The period would become 
unauthorized leave without pay and carry its consequences in addition to any other discipline that 
may result.  The supervisor should notify the employee at the time the conditional leave begins of the 
consequences of not providing a CHCP or if the CHCP does not support FMLA leave. 

 
 Another example is an employee seen in public participating in activities inconsistent with the 

condition underlying the medical leave.  FMLA allows the state to request a second (and third) 
medical opinion when it doubts the validity of the medical certification.  (See questions and answers 
11 and 12 in Section II below.)  FMLA also permits the state to request a new certification if it 
receives information that casts doubt upon the employee's stated reason for the absence (for 
pregnancy, chronic, or permanent/long-term conditions under continuing supervision of a health care 
provider) or if it receives information that casts doubt upon the continuing validity of the certification 
(for minimum periods of incapacity greater than 30 days or for leave taken intermittently or on a 
reduced schedule). 
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 If improper use of sick leave or personal leave for medical reasons is suspected, the employee may be 

required to provide a CHCP for any medical leave. 
 
 29 CFR 825.307(2)  29 CFR 825.308(a)(2)  29 CFR 825.311(b) 
 See applicable collective bargaining unit agreements 
25. Does the supervisor have the right to question the nature of requested leave if necessary? 
 
 Yes. If the supervisor has reason to doubt whether an absence qualifies for family leave, further 

inquiry of the employee or the employee's spokesperson must be made, but no more information may 
be sought than provided on the Certification of Health Care Provider (CHCP).  In addition, the state 
has chosen to require a CHCP whenever medical leave is used for more than three consecutive 
workdays.   

 
 If the supervisor finds the certification to be incomplete, the supervisor shall advise the employee and 

provide the employee a reasonable opportunity to cure any deficiency.  Direct contact by the 
supervisor with the employee's health care provider is not permitted by FMLA.  However, a health 
care provider representing the state may, with the employee's permission, contact the employee's 
health care provider for purposes of clarification or authenticity of the medical certification.  Further 
review by a second and possibly third medical opinion is discussed in questions and answers 11 and 
12 in Section II. 

 
 29 CFR 825.302(c)  29 CFR 825.307(a) 
 See applicable collective bargaining unit agreements 
 
26. If an employee is using what appears to be an excessive amount of leave for sick purposes, 

should the supervisor or the Division of Personnel & Labor Relations attempt to determine if 
FMLA or AFLA medical leave is appropriate?  

 
 Yes.  It is recommended that a meeting be held with the employee to explain the family leave 

entitlement and to determine if medical leave should be requested by the employee or conditionally 
invoked by the agency. 

  
 29 CFR 825.208(a) 

  
27. If an employee refuses to apply for family leave for a qualifying condition, should the employing 

agency invoke family leave? 
 
 Yes, family leave must be invoked for all prospective (future) qualifying conditions if the employee 

otherwise qualifies for family leave. An employee can voluntarily settle past FMLA claims without 
court or departmental approval. An employee’s waiver of prospective FMLA rights is prohibited.    

 
 29 CFR 825.208  AAM 280.370 
 
28. Can banked medical leave be used for family leave purposes?  For example, if you are a parent, 

can you use it to care for a child or go on medical leave? 
 
 Banked medical leave under statutory provisions can only be used for the employee's own qualifying 

medical condition.  Statutory banked medical leave cannot be used for parental leave or to take care 
of a sick family member. 

 
 Banked medical leave created by collective bargaining agreement is subject to the specific terms of 

the agreement.  
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 AS 39.20.256 
 See applicable collective bargaining unit agreement  
 
29. Can donated leave be used for family leave purposes? 
 
 Yes.  AS 39.20.245(b) provides that personal or annual leave may be donated to another employee 

"only for use as leave for medical reasons."  AS 39.20.225(b) provides the following medical reasons 
for taking medical leave: 

 
  1) medical disability of the employee 

 2) medical disability of a member of the employee’s immediate family that requires the 
employee’s attendance 

  3) a medical condition that makes the employee’s attendance a danger 
 4) pregnancy and childbirth or the placement of a child (other than the employee’s stepchild) 

for adoption 
  5) death of a member of the employee’s immediate family 
 
 Reasons 1-4 above are covered by family leave.  Donated leave may be used for family leave taken 

for any of these reasons. Reason 5 above is not a family leave qualifying condition.  
 
 As 39.25.245(b) 
 See applicable collective bargaining unit agreements 
 
30. If the employee has exhausted his/her entitlements under both FMLA and AFLA and is still 

unable to work, how much more leave either paid or approved LWOP is the employee entitled 
to? 

 
 If an employee still has paid leave available and is unable to work due to continuing medical reasons, 

the employee is entitled to use the leave in accordance with the rules that applied before either law 
became effective.  Generally, that means the employee is entitled to paid leave whether business 
permits or not.  

 
 If/when the employee has no paid leave available; the state faces the same choices it had before either 

law became effective.  The basic choice is between authorized leave without pay in accordance with 2 
AAC 07.500(2) or similar provision of collective bargaining agreements, and separation of the 
employee.  The employee’s use of FMLA/AFLA leave cannot be used against the employee in 
making this choice.  Factors that can be considered include the on-going workload, a backlog, 
expected additional duration of the period of incapacity, the ease or difficulty of a replacement hire, 
training time and cost of a replacement hire, etc. 

 
 AS 39.20.320    2 AAC 07.500(2) 
 See applicable collective bargaining unit agreements 
 
31. Will leave without pay used under this section advance the employee's merit and leave 

anniversary dates? 
 
 Yes. The merit and leave anniversary dates are advanced one month for every 23 days of leave 

without pay accumulated in the leave year (December 16 to December 15). 
 
 2AAC 07.360(g)   2 AAC 08.100 
 See applicable collective bargaining unit agreements 
 
32.  Can health/basic life insurance premiums be recovered from a terminated employee while they 

are on family leave? 
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Yes. The recovery of health insurance and basic life insurance premiums paid during an employee’s 
unpaid family leave absence will be pursued if the employees fails to return to duty upon conclusion 
of family leave eligibility unless the employee does not return to duty due to: continuation, 
recurrence, or onset of a documented serious health condition which would again qualify for family 
leave; or other circumstances beyond their control. An employee who returns to work for at least 30 
calendar days is considered to have “returned” to work. An employee who transfers directly from 
taking FMLA leave to retirement, or who retires during the first 30 days after the employee returns to 
work, is deemed to have returned to work. 

 
29 CFR 825.213   AAM 280.420 

 
33. Is it the intent of the Acts that voluntary benefits (e.g., life insurance, free parking, cafeteria 

privileges, and education expenses) be provided to employees on family leave? 
 

FMLA: No.  Employees are only entitled to receive (and pay for their portion of) employer-sponsored group 
health benefits during FMLA leave. 

 
AFLA: No. The premiums to cover voluntary options currently selected are only covered through deductions 

from the employee’s payroll warrant. If all paid leave is exhausted, coverage will end on the last day 
of the month in which a payroll deduction was last able to process. 

 
 29 CFR 825.210   AS 39.20.500(d) 
 
34. Can an agency require an employee to take alternative employment rather than grant a family 

leave request? 
 
 A qualified "yes."  An agency cannot deny a request for family leave from a qualified employee.  

However, an agency can require the employee to take an alternative position under certain specific 
circumstances and conditions.  When an employee wishes to take leave intermittently or on a reduced 
leave schedule for planned medical treatment, an agency can require that the employee take a 
temporary transfer to an available alternative position.  However, the agency must ensure: 

 
 a. The employee is qualified for the position; 
 b. The temporary position offers equivalent pay and benefits; and, 
 c. The temporary position is better suited to accommodating recurring periods of leave 
     than the employee's regular position. 
 
 29 CFR 825.204 
 
35. Is the family leave entitlement affected or tracked differently if the employee chooses freely to 

perform light duty work?  
 

A light duty assignment which complies with the necessary restrictions and accommodations imposed 
by the employee’s qualifying health care provider does not count toward the duration of the FMLA 
entitlement. Light duty is defined as a temporary modification or elimination of one or more of the 
essential function(s) of a position and is considered to be an absence from regular duties. An 
employee must not be coerced to accept a light duty assignment. Acceptance of a light duty 
assignment by an employee is voluntary. Light duty assignments are at the sole discretion of the 
appointing authority. When assigned to light duty, an employee’s PCN and job classification remain 
the same, they are simply assigned to work in a reduced capacity. 
 
29 CFR 825.220(d)  AAM 280.400 
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36. Is the family leave entitlement affected or tracked differently if the employee is on workers' 
compensation? 

 
 No. Wage continuation/leave adjustments provided by workers' compensation do not affect the 

duration of the entitlement.  The absence is tracked from the onset of a family leave qualifying 
condition regardless of workers' compensation adjustments. 

 
 29 CFR 825.207(2)  29 CFR 825.210(f)  AAM 280.390 
 
37. Can an employee utilize their accrued leave for purposes other than family leave during 

intermittent use of family leave? 
 
 Yes.  For example, an employee taking family leave intermittently for the employee's own serious 

health condition could use leave to stay home with a child with a cold, return to work, and then 
continue to use family leave for the qualifying condition.  The short absence to care for the child 
without a serious health condition would not be counted as part of the employee's family leave 
entitlement. 

 
  AS 39.20.225 
  See applicable collective bargaining unit agreement 
 

38. Is it true that an employee's family leave entitlement is not extended when different and 
unrelated qualifying conditions occur during the original entitlement period? 

 
 Yes.  Once an employee begins a family leave absence, the length of the absence(s) and the period in 

which it (they) may occur is not altered because of any other subsequent and unrelated qualifying 
conditions that may occur. 

 
 Under AFLA, however, an employee may qualify for both medical and parental leave during an 

overlapping period.  AFLA leave for each purpose may run concurrently, e.g., parental leave and 
caring for a spouse's serious health condition simultaneously. 

 
 29CFR 825.110  AS 39.20.500 
 
39. Are there circumstances that require two related employees, if they are both employed by the 

State of Alaska, to use an entitlement jointly?  Does this apply under both the federal and the 
state family leave provisions? 

 
FMLA: Yes.  Under FMLA spouses share the 12-week entitlement when the leave is for birth, or placement 

for adoption or foster care.  Similarly, spouses must share the 12-week entitlement to care for a 
serious health condition of their respective parents. The employees are jointly entitled to a total of 
twelve weeks.  They may divide the time between them as they wish (half and half, seven weeks and 
5 weeks, etc.) The employees may even take the leave concurrently, with approval. 

 
AFLA: No.  Under AFLA, if a parent of two related employees (siblings, stepsiblings, or spouses - 

parent/parent-in-law) or child of two related employees (spouses) has a serious health condition, each 
employee is entitled to 18 weeks, but may take the time concurrently only with approval.  
 

POLICY: The state policy is more generous. Under FMLA, the entitlements are not shared. Under AFLA, 
concurrent use of leave exclusively by a husband, wife or sibling working within the same department 
or agency for the serious health condition of a child or parent is at the sole discretion of the 
department head.  

 
 29 CFR 825.202  AS 39.20.500(b), (c)   AAM 280.390 
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This section of the FAQs applies only to medical leave under FMLA and AFLA and policies adopted through the 
Alaska Administrative Manual. 
 

1. Must the 12- or 18-week entitlement of leave for employee/family care be taken consecutively? 
 
 No.  When medically necessary, the 12- or 18-week entitlement can be taken intermittently or on a 

reduced leave schedule. 
 
 29 CFR 825.203(a), (c) 
 
2. Can the weeks be divided into days?  Hours? 
 
 Yes.  The leave may be divided into the smallest increment the state uses in reporting leave: one-

quarter (.25) hour increments. 
 
 29 CFR 825.203(d)  AAM 280.390 
 
3. Is the 12- or 18-week entitlement for medical leave available per incident? 
 
 No.  The employee is entitled to medical leave for self and qualifying family members, but the total 

medical leave taken may not exceed the respective 12- and 18-week limits.  After these entitlements 
are exhausted, other state leave provisions continue to apply.  Thus, if the employee still has balances 
in their sick leave, annual leave, personal leave, excess sick leave, or donated leave accounts, the 
employee may use paid leave subject to the normal request and approval process.  Or, the employee 
may request and the department may grant an unpaid leave of absence under 2 AAC 07.500(2) or 
applicable provision of a collective bargaining agreement. 

 
 29 CFR 825.200  AS 39.20.500  2 AAC 07.500(2) 
 See applicable collective bargaining agreements  
 
4. What is a "serious health condition?" 
 
FMLA: A serious health condition is defined as an illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition 

that involves: 
 
  (A) Hospital inpatient case. Overnight inpatient care in a hospital, hospice or residential medical 

care facility, including any period of incapacity, or any subsequent treatment in connection 
with such inpatient care; or 

 
 (B) Absence plus Continuing Treatment. A serious health condition involving continuing 

treatment by a health care provider includes any one or more of the following: 
 

A period of incapacity of more than three consecutive calendar days, and any subsequent 
treatment or period of incapacity relating to the same condition, that also involves:  1) 
Treatment two or more times within 30 days of the first day of incapacity by a health care 
provider, by a nurse or physician's assistant under direct supervision of a health care provider, 
or by a provider of health care services under order of, or on referral by, a health care 
provider; or 2) Two visits for treatment by a health care provider that results in a regimen of 
continuing treatment under the supervision of a health care provider. 
 

 (C) Pregnancy/Prenatal Care. Any period of incapacity due to pregnancy or prenatal care. 
 

(D) Chronic Conditions. Any period of incapacity or treatment for such incapacity due to a 
chronic serious health condition.  A chronic serious health condition is one which:  1) 
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Requires at least two visits annually for treatment by a health care provider, or by a nurse or 
physicians' assistant under direct supervision of a health care provider; 2) Continues over an 
extended period of time including reoccurring episodes of a significant underlying condition; 
and 3) May cause episodic rather than a continuing period of incapacity, i.e., asthma, 
diabetes, epilepsy. 

 
 (E) Permanent/Long Term Conditions. A period of incapacity that is permanent or long-term 

due to a condition for which treatment may not be effective.  The employee or family 
member must be under the continuing supervision of, but need not be receiving active 
treatment by, a health care provider, i.e., stroke.  

 
(F) Multiple Treatments for a Non-Chronic Condition. Any period of absence to receive 

multiple treatments by a health care provider or by a provider of health care services under 
orders of, or on referral by, a health care provider, either for restorative surgery after an 
accident or other injury, or for a condition that would likely result in a period of incapacity of 
more than three consecutive calendar days in the absence of medical intervention or 
treatment, such as cancer, severe arthritis, kidney disease.  See 29 CFR 825.800 for the full 
definition. 

 
 Treatment, for purposes of this section, includes (but is not limited to) examinations to determine if a 

serious health condition exists and evaluations of the condition. Treatment does not include routine 
physical examinations, eye examinations or dental examinations. A regimen of continuing treatment 
includes, for example, a course of prescription medication or therapy requiring special equipment to 
resolve or alleviate the health condition. A regimen of continuing treatment that includes the taking of 
over-the-counter medications; such as, aspirin, antihistamines or salves; or bed-rest, drinking fluids, 
exercise and other similar activities that can be initiated without a visit to a health care provider are, 
by themselves, not sufficient to constitute a regimen of continuing treatment for purposes of family 
leave. 

 
 Conditions for which cosmetic treatments are administered are not “serious health conditions” unless 

inpatient hospital care is required or unless complications develop. The following conditions though 
not usually considered “serious health conditions” MAY be considered such if the criteria outlined 
above is satisfied: 

 
 
 Common Cold    Flu 
 Ear Infection    Stress 
 Routine Dental Problems  Nausea 
 Minor Ulcers    Allergies 
 Headaches (other than migraine) Cosmetic Conditions (acne or plastic surgery) 
 
 29 CFR 825.114 29 CFR 825.113 
 
AFLA: A serious health condition is defined as an illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition 

that involves: 
 
   (A)  inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential health care facility; or 
   (B)  continuing treatment or continuing supervision by a health care provider.  
 
 AS 39.20.550(5)  
 
5. When does the 12- or 18-week entitlement begin if the eligible employee takes leave due to 

illness or the need to care for the employee's ill child, spouse, or parent, returns to work and 
then finds out the illness requires time off and is a qualifying condition under FMLA/AFLA? 
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 The 12- or 18-week entitlement begins on the date the employee first took leave to attend the specific 

condition.  To designate leave as medical leave, the state must make that determination and notify the 
employee.  See Question and Answer 16 in Section I. 

 
 The supervisor is required to make the conditional determination and provide notice to the employee 

within two working days of acquiring the knowledge that the leave is being taken for an 
FMLA/AFLA purpose.  Because the state may acquire the information at different times for different 
circumstances, supervisors must be alert to requests for leave and make the necessary inquiry at the 
earliest possible time. When the state does not find out that a period of leave was for a qualifying 
condition until the employee returns to work, that is the point at which inquiry must be made and a 
determination decided. All attempts will be made to acquire the necessary information to make a 
conditional determination at the immediate onset of family leave usage; however, the employer is not 
prohibited from retroactively applying family leave entitlements and protections to previous, 
qualifying absences. 

 
 29 CFR 825.110(b), (d)  29 CFR 825.208  AAM 280.370, .390 
  
6. What is meant by “needed to care for” a family member? 
 
 “Needed to care for” a family member may include physical and/or psychological care when, because 

of a serious health condition, the family member is unable to care for his/her own basic medical, 
hygiene, or nutritional needs or safety or is unable to transport him/herself to the doctor, etc.  It also 
includes providing psychological comfort and reassurance that would benefit a qualifying family 
member with a serious health condition.  It also includes needing to fill in for others who are 
providing the care or to make arrangements for changes in the person’s care.  If only the need to 
provide psychological comfort has been indicated on the Certification of Health Care Provider, it may 
satisfy the “needed to care for” provision.  
 
It is important to differentiate between being needed to care for the family member and simply 
wanting to be present to visit with an ill family member.  A certification by a health care provider 
must indicate the family member has a serious health condition.  In addition, it must state the family 
member requires assistance with basic medical or personal needs, safety or transportation, or that the 
employee is needed to provide psychological comfort or to assist with recovery.  

 
 29 CFR 825.116 
 
7. Must the employee certify the need to take medical leave for self care or the care of a qualifying 

family member?  
 
 Yes.  In all cases where a medical leave entitlement is invoked for more than three consecutive 

working days for a serious health condition, the state has chosen to require the Certification of Health 
Care Provider. 

 
 29 CFR 825.305 
 
8. What should a health care provider's certification include?  
 
 The health care provider should complete the appropriate Certification of Health Care Provider form 

or must provide identical information to that required on the forms.  In all instances, the information 
on the form must relate only to the serious health condition for which the current need for leave 
exists.  
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 The state has adopted a single form to use for an employee’s own serious health condition or a family 
member’s serious health condition that includes: 

 
 (A) Name of the Health Care Provider and type of practice: 

A certification as to which part of the definition of “serious health condition” applies to the 
patient’s condition and the medical facts to support the certification, including a brief 
statement as to how the medical facts meet the criteria. 

 
(B) The approximate date the serious health condition commenced and its probable duration: 

 Whether it will be necessary for the employee to take leave intermittently or to work on a 
reduced schedule and the probable duration of such a schedule. 

 
 If the condition is pregnancy or a chronic condition, whether the patient is presently 

incapacitated and the likely duration and frequency of episodes of incapacity. 
 

(C) If additional treatments will be required, an estimate of the probable number of such 
treatments: 

 If the incapacity will be intermittent, or will require a reduced leave schedule, an estimate of 
the probable number and interval between such treatments, actual or estimated dates of 
treatment, if known, and period required for recovery. 

 
 If any of the treatments will be provided by another health care provider, the nature of the 

treatments. 
 
 If a regimen of treatment is required, the nature of the regimen. 
 

(D) If medical leave is required because of the employee’s serious health condition, whether the 
employee: 

 Is unable to perform work of any kind, 
 
 Is unable to perform any one or more of the essential functions of the employee’s position, 

including a statement of the essential function the employee is unable to perform, or 
   
  Must be absent for treatment. 
  

(E) If leave is required to care for a family member: 
 Whether the patient requires assistance for basic medical or personal needs or safety, or for 

transportation; or, if not, whether the employee’s presence to provide psychological comfort 
would be beneficial to the patient to assist in the patient’s recovery.  The employee is 
required to indicate the care he or she will provide and an estimate of the time period. 

 
 If the employee’s family member will need care only intermittently or on a reduced leave 

schedule and the probable duration of the leave. See Table 1 for definitions. 
 
 29 CFR 825.306 
 
9. If the employee does not provide the information on the Certification of Health Care Provider, 

can the employee be directed to return to work?  
 
 If the employee fails to provide certification within a reasonable time, the employer may delay the 

continuance of FMLA.  If the employee never provides the required certification, the leave is not 
FMLA leave.  See Question and Answer 22 in Section I. 

 
 29 CFR 825.311 
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10. Can the State contact the employee’s Health Care Provider to clarify and verify the 

Certification for Health Care Provider form? 
 
 The 2009 revision  to FMLA allows this contact. The State requires supervisors to work through the 

Division of Personnel & Labor Relations on any such contact. 
 
 29 CFR 25.305   29 CFR 25.306 
 
11. What is meant by “incapacity?” 
 
 For purposes of FMLA, “incapacity” is defined to mean the inability to work, attend school or 

perform other regular daily activities due to the serious health condition, therefore, or recovery there 
from. 

 
 29 CFR 825.114(a)(2)(i) 
 
12. Can the state require a second medical opinion? 
 
 Yes, under FMLA the state may require the employee to obtain a second medical opinion under the 

following provisions: 
  

• the health care provider is designated or approved by the state; 
• the health care provider is not employed by the state on a regular basis; and 
• the state pays all expenses of a second opinion. 

 
 The second criterion need not be met for an employee qualifying only under AFLA. 
 
 29 CFR 825.307 
 
13. Can the state require a third medical opinion? 
 
 Yes, under FMLA, if the first and second opinions are in conflict, a third and controlling opinion can 

be required under the following provisions: 
 

 the health care provider is jointly approved by the state and the employee; 
 the state pays all expenses of a third opinion. 

 
 The third opinion is not necessarily controlling and the first criterion need not be met for an employee 

qualifying only under AFLA. 
 
 29 CFR 825.307 
 
14. Is leave for treatment of substance abuse (e.g. alcohol and drug abuse) covered by medical 

leave? Can the employer take disciplinary action if substance abuse/use occurred on the job or 
is in nexus to the job if an employee has an approved absence for treatment for substance 
abuse? 

 
 Yes, absences for treatment of substance abuse may qualify provided that the employee is receiving 

inpatient care or outpatient care on a continuing basis and so long as the other terms of the FMLA or 
AFLA are met.  Absences because of an employee's use of the substance rather than for treatment, 
does not qualify for medical leave. Further, the employer maintains the right to take disciplinary 
action if substance abuse/use occurred on the job or is in nexus to the job. 
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 29 CFR 825.114(d)  AAM 280.450 
 
15. If an employee suffering from alcoholism is no longer in a treatment program or under medical 

care, how soon can an agency order the employee back to work? 
 
 When the treatment program and any associated period of incapacity end, the medical leave ends.  At 

that point an agency can require that an employee report back to work as soon as the employee's 
health care provider certifies that the employee is fit for duty. 

 
 29 CFR 825.114(d) 
 
16. When can the state require a fit-for-duty statement before an employee returns to work? 
 

FMLA: Under FMLA, the state may require a fit-for-duty report under a uniformly-applied policy or practice 
that requires all similarly-situated employees who take leave for such conditions to obtain and present 
certification from the employee's health care provider that the employee is able to resume work.  This 
limitation excludes fit-for-duty reports for parental leave and for medical leave for the serious health 
condition of the employee's parent, spouse, or child.  FMLA also prohibits an employer from 
requiring a fit-for-duty report when the employee takes intermittent leave.  Presumably, the 
conditions for both taking and returning from intermittent leave will be covered in the Certification of 
Health Care Provider when the leave is requested.  

 
POLICY: It is the state's policy to require a fit-for-duty statement under the following circumstances: 
 

• When the incapacity from a serious health condition would not be apparent to a layperson such as 
mental, psychological, or emotional conditions that have incapacitated an employee, or any 
contagious diseases. 

• When the relationship between medical facts that support certification of a serious health 
condition and the demands of an employee’s position would not be apparent to a layperson such 
as back injuries for positions requiring lifting or heart disease for positions that require physical 
exertion.   

 
  With the exception of vessel employees of the Alaska Marine Highway System and other situations 

where collective bargaining agreements provide otherwise, a fit-for-duty statement is not required for 
an employee who is absent on intermittent leave.  

 
  The need for a fit-for-duty report must be decided at the same time a final determination is made by 

the Division of Personnel of whether leave will be FMLA leave. The employee must be notified of 
the requirement at the same time as other pertinent information is conveyed about the determination. 
The employer will delay the restoration to the employee without such fit-for-duty statement. 

 
 29 CFR 825.310  AAM 280.440 
 See applicable collective bargaining unit agreements 
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This section of the FAQs applies only to parental leave under FMLA and AFLA and policies adopted through the 
Alaska Administrative Manual. 
 

1. Must the 12- or 18-week leave entitlement be taken consecutively? 
 

FMLA: A qualified “yes.”  A qualified employee is entitled to 12 weeks of leave for medical and parental 
leave combined.  Most pre-labor/delivery/recovery pregnancy related absences (prenatal care, severe 
morning sickness, medically ordered bed rest, etc.) are treated as medical leave.  Delivery and 
recovery therefore is a period of incapacity and is also medical leave.  Any remaining portion of the 
12-week entitlement, after both pregnancy and non-pregnancy medical leave during the FMLA leave 
year, may be taken as parental leave.  The parental leave period must be taken consecutively 
beginning with the first usage after recovery from delivery.  For the mother, parental leave is most 
frequently taken immediately, however a female employee may choose otherwise.  For the father, 
upon certification of the need to attend to the serious health condition of the spouse, an employee may 
take medical leave.  Upon the birth, the father is entitled to any remaining portion of the 12 weeks of 
family leave as parental leave.  The state has chosen to require this leave to be taken consecutively.  
For both the father and the mother, once the eligible employee begins parental leave the end date for 
any remaining portion of the family leave is established. 

 
AFLA: Pregnancy, childbirth and bonding creates a separate 18-week entitlement for parental leave for 

eligible employees.  Pre-labor/delivery/recovery pregnancy related leave is covered by the 
entitlement.  Leave for these purposes can be taken intermittently, on a reduced schedule, or in blocks 
of time as appropriate for the individual circumstance.  For example, routine prenatal doctor visits 
would be taken intermittently, severe morning sickness might require a reduced schedule, and 
medically ordered bed rest would require use of a block of time.   

 
 29 CFR 825.200, .201  AS 39.20.305  AAM 280.430 
     AS 39.20.500(b)(1) 
 
 For both FMLA and AFLA, the threshold question of when parental leave begins that must be taken 

in a single block of time is, "When is the mother no longer incapacitated from the delivery?"  
"Incapacity" for this purpose means the inability to work, attend school, or perform other regular 
daily activities.  Any question regarding when a mother is no longer incapacitated should be resolved 
through the use of the appropriate Certification of Health Care Provider.  For example, a new father 
requesting leave for more than three consecutive work days may be asked to complete a certificate to 
determine if leave usage starts the single block of time period based on the capacity/incapacity of the 
spouse. 

 
 2 AAC 08.050(b) 
 

POLICY: The state has chosen to require that any remaining entitlement following delivery and recovery there 
from be taken in a single block of time.  The leave begins when first used for this purpose and ends 
when the entitlement is exhausted or one year after birth, whichever occurs first. The leave is not 
extended as a result of intermittent leave or a reduced schedule following placement or recovery from 
birth. 

 
 AAM 280.430 
 
2. Under AFLA, must the employee meet the employment threshold at the time of birth?  If the 

employee later satisfies the threshold prior to the child’s first birthday, are they entitled to the 
full eighteen weeks? 

 
 The employee is not required to satisfy the employment threshold at the time of the birth of the child; 

however, the leave must be concluded within one year of the birth or placement. Once an eligible 
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employee meets the employment threshold, the employee is entitled to take as much time, up to the 
full eighteen weeks, as remains prior to the conclusion of the 12-month period.  The leave must be 
taken in a single block of time. 

 
 2 AAC 08.050(b) 
 
3. How is the parental leave entitlement for part-time employees determined? 
 
 If an employee normally works a 25-hour workweek, then 25 hours equals one week for purposes of 

parental leave. There is no difference between a part-time employee and a full-time employee in this 
regard for leave taken in consecutive blocks. 

 
 29 CFR 825.205 
 
4. Many state employees work a week-on-week-off schedule.  In some cases, employees work a 

two-week-on-two-week-off schedule.  How is the leave entitlement calculated for these 
employees? 

 
 The parental leave entitlement is determined by calendar weeks regardless of work schedule.  As an 

example, an employee working a week-on-week-off schedule would be entitled to 12 and/or 18 
calendar weeks of parental leave, not 24 or 36 weeks.  The reasoning is based on an "average" 
workweek.  

 
 When an employee works a week-on-week-off schedule, the hours worked during the week-on are 

averaged over the two-week period.  When leave is taken the “off” week is counted as one of the 
average workweeks to which the employee is entitled. 

 
 29 CFR 825.205 
 
5. Are the 12- or 18-weeks of leave extended for part-time employees or other employees who 

work a reduced workweek? 
 
 No.  These employees are entitled to 12- or 18-consecutive weeks. 
 
 29 CFR 825.205 
 
6. Can the employee schedule the 12- or 18-consecutive weeks of parental leave any time up to 12 

months after the event? 
 
 Yes.  See Question and Answer 2 in this section for parental leave taken before recovery from 

delivery.  Any remaining parental leave may be taken any time within 12 months of the event.  
Further, the single block of leave period begins when leave is first used following the qualifying 
reason. 

 
 2 AAC 08.050(b) 
 
7. If a pregnant employee takes medical leave due to a serious health condition, unrelated to the 

pregnancy, is the employee entitled to an additional 12- or 18-consecutive weeks of parental 
leave after the birth of the child? 

 
FMLA: An employee is entitled to 12 weeks for any combination of medical and parental leave.  Thus the 

employee in question would be entitled to only the remaining FMLA family leave as a single block of 
parental leave after the birth of the child. 
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AFLA: The employee is entitled to 18 weeks of leave in a 24-month period due to a serious health condition 
and a separate entitlement of 18 weeks within a 12-month period due to pregnancy and childbirth. 

 
 When the leave is counted as both FMLA and AFLA leave, the leave is concurrently counted against 

each entitlement. 
 
 29 CFR 825.200 AS 39.20.500(b) 
 
8. If the employee's serious health condition (unrelated to pregnancy) extends beyond the date of 

birth, do the 18-consecutive weeks of parental leave under AFLA automatically start when the 
child is born?  

 
 Not necessarily.  The parental leave starts when the employee first takes leave for this purpose, and is 

exhausted one year after the birth.  Supervisors must make sufficient inquiry to determine the purpose 
of an employee's leave request and properly designate it for the serious health condition (medical 
leave) or for care or bonding with the newborn (parental leave).  Once the parental leave starts (after 
delivery and recovery there from), it is available only in a single consecutive block of time. 

 
 AS 39.20.500(b) 
 
9. If a health care provider orders the employee to full or partial bed rest due to a pregnancy 

related condition, does this begin the parental leave entitlement under this section? 
 

FMLA: Any period of incapacity due to pregnancy (as long as the employee is under the continuing treatment 
of a health care provider) is a serious health condition and entitles a qualified employee to use 
medical leave.  The entitlement under FMLA is 12 weeks in a 12-month period for medical and 
parental leave combined.  Once parental leave is used after recovery from delivery, any remaining 
portion of the 12-week entitlement must be taken as a single block of time. 

 
AFLA: "Pregnancy and the birth of a child" entitles a qualified employee to take 18 weeks of leave under 

AFLA.  The state has chosen to allow parental leave taken before recovery from delivery to be taken 
intermittently, on a reduced work schedule, or in blocks of time as appropriate to the individual 
circumstance.  Bed rest ordered by a physician is an example of parental leave to be taken in a block 
of time.  The state has chosen to require parental leave following recovery from delivery to be taken 
in a single block of time for the remaining balance of the entitlement. The parental leave entitlement 
is not extended as a result of intermittent leave or a reduced schedule following recovery from birth. 

 
 29 CFR 825.200  AS 39.20.500(b)  AAM 280.430 
 
10. If the employee elects to take leave to prepare for the birth of a child, does the 12- or 

18-consecutive week entitlement begin at that time? 
 

FMLA: Periods of incapacity due to pregnancy, and prenatal care (under the continuing treatment of a health 
care provider) are serious health conditions that entitle a qualified employee to medical leave.  
Childbirth entitles a qualified employee to parental leave.  Other elective leave is not FMLA 
qualifying.  

 
AFLA: Preparation for the birth of a child is parental leave under AFLA.  Parental leave before delivery may 

be taken intermittently, on a reduced schedule, or in blocks of time as appropriate to the individual 
circumstance and is charged against the 18-week entitlement (see Question and Answer 2 above).  

 
11. Are eligible employees entitled to parental leave for the placement of a foster child under the 

state Act?  The federal Act? 
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FMLA: FMLA entitles the qualified employee up to 12 weeks of leave for the placement of a foster child.  
The state has chosen to allow this leave to be taken intermittently before placement but require this 
leave to be taken in a single block of time beginning with the first use after placement. The 
employee’s family leave entitlement is not extended as a result of intermittent leave or a reduced 
leave schedule following placement. 

 
AFLA: There is no entitlement for foster care placement under the AFLA.   

 
29 CFR 825.112(a)  AS 39.20.500(b)   

 
12. Does a foster care placement have to occur through a specific agency? 
 
 Yes.  Such placement is made by or with the agreement of the state as a result of either a voluntary 

agreement between the parent or guardian that the child be removed from the home, or as the result of 
a judicial determination of the necessity for foster care, and involves agreement between the state and 
foster family that the foster family will take care of the child.  Although foster care may be with 
relatives of the child, state action is involved in the removal of the child from parental custody. The 
state involvement will distinguish foster care from some “in loco parentis” situations. (Persons who 
are “in loco parentis” include those with day-to-day responsibilities to care for and financially support 
a child or, in the case of an employee, who had the responsibility for the employee when the 
employee was a child. A biological or legal relationship is not necessary.) 

 
 29 CFR 825.112(e) 
 
13. Is the employee entitled to a total of 12- or 18-weeks in a 12-month period for each birth, 

adoption, or placement of a foster child? 
 
 No.  The employee is only entitled to a total of 12- or 18-weeks of leave in a 12-month period 

regardless of number of births, adoptions, placements (FMLA only), etc.  However, the requirement 
to use this leave within a year after an event may result in full entitlements in successive 12-month 
periods based on multiple events in a single 12-month period.  For example, a child is placed with a 
qualified full-time employee for adoption at the time the employee has been pregnant for one month.  
The employee may take the 18-week entitlement for the adoption immediately (about four months), 
return to work for four months until the child is born, then wait four more months until the second 12-
month period begins to take another 18-week period of leave. 

 
 29 CFR 825.200  AS 39.20.500(b) 
 
14. Is treatment of fertility problems covered under the Act?  Is miscarriage? 
 
 Treatment of fertility problems is not covered.  Miscarriage is a serious health condition if certified as 

such by a health care provider. 
 
 29 CFR 825.112  AS 39.20.500(b) 
 
15. If two unrelated employees in the same division request parental leave at the same or 

overlapping periods of time, can the employer choose not to grant parental leave 
simultaneously? 

 
 No.  The employees should make reasonable efforts to schedule parental leave so as not to unduly 

disrupt the employer's operations.  However, if a satisfactory arrangement cannot be reached, the 
employer must allow both employees off at the same time.  
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16. AS 39.20.305 appears to give agencies the authority to determine whether an employee is 
required to take consecutive or intermittent leave for pregnancy and childbirth purposes.  Is 
this different than the Department of Administration policy?   

 
POLICY: The state's policy is that departments and agencies will require that parental leave taken following 

recovery from the birth of a child, or following the placement of a child, other than the employee's 
stepchild, with an employee for adoption be taken in a single block of time. The employee’s family 
leave entitlement is not extended as a result of intermittent leave or a reduced schedule following 
placement or recovery from birth. 

 
 AAM 280.430  2 AAC 08.050(b) 
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This section of the FAQs applies to both medical and parental leave under FMLA and AFLA. 
 

1. If the employee requests lighter duty for the duration of a pregnancy, can the department keep 
the employee in the same PCN if the physical needs can be accommodated? 

 
 Yes, the employer may require certification by a health care provider prior to making the requested 

accommodation. 
 
 AS 39.20.520 
 
2. If the employee requests a transfer within the agency to another position, in the same job class 

or to a closely related job class at the same pay range, due to pregnancy, can the employer make 
the transfer without recruiting through Workplace Alaska? 

 
 Yes, a transfer of a pregnant employee under AFLA has priority over a laid off employee or an 

injured worker.  Once a "suitable" position has been identified in response to a pregnant employee's 
request, an appointment of any other candidate to the position may not be made until the pregnant 
employee has been offered the position and refused the offer.  

 
 AS 39.20.520   2 AAC 07.226 
 
3. Upon returning from parental leave, is the employee transferred to the original position that 

was held prior to the transfer for accommodation? 
 
 The returning employee is placed in the position that was held immediately prior to commencing 

parental leave. 
 
 29 CFR 825.214  AS 39.20.520   
 
4. What are the employee's rights on returning to work from parental leave? 
 
 On return from parental leave, an employee is entitled to be returned to the same position the 

employee held when leave commenced, or to an equivalent position with equivalent benefits, pay, 
and other terms and conditions of employment. An employee is entitled to such reinstatement even if 
the employee has been replaced or his or her position has been restructured to accommodate the 
employee’s absence.  

 
 29 CFR 825.215 
 
5. In which position is the employee placed if the position the employee held prior to commencing 

family leave no longer exists?  
 
 If the position no longer exists, the employee must be placed in an equivalent position with equivalent 

benefits, pay, and other terms and conditions of employment. 
 
 If there is not an equivalent position available, layoff provisions are invoked at the time the position 

is abolished.  The result may be the layoff of the employee on or returning from parental leave (in 
which case the parental leave rights, including the requirement for continuation of group health 
insurance, also end) or the layoff of some other employee and the reassignment of the employee on 
parental leave. 

 
 29 CFR. 825.214  AS 39.20.500 
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The following are answers to common questions about the military family leave provisions of the new 
Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) regulations.  
 

1. What are the military family leave provisions of the FMLA?  
 

On January 28, 2008, President Bush signed into law new FMLA leave entitlements for military families 
(“military family leave provisions”). The National Defense Authorization Act for FY 2008 (“NDAA”), 
Public Law 110-181, amended the FMLA to provide two types of military family leave for FMLA-
eligible employees. The new FMLA regulations include these two types of military family leave referred 
to as “qualifying exigency leave” and “military caregiver leave.”  

 
2. Are all employers required to provide military family leave to their employees?  
 

No. The FMLA applies only to public agencies, including state, local and federal employers, local 
educational agencies (schools), and private sector employers that employ 50 or more employees 

 
3. Are all employees of a covered employer entitled to take military family leave?  
 

No. To be eligible to take FMLA leave for any qualifying reason, an employee of a covered employer 
must have worked for the employer for a total of 12 months, have worked at least 1,250 hours over the 
previous 12 months, and work at a location where at least 50 employees are employed by the employer 
within 75 miles. See the general FMLA FAQ at for additional information regarding employee eligibility.  

 
4. Is military family leave paid?  
 

No. The FMLA only requires unpaid leave. In accordance with AAM 280.390, paid leave is substituted 
for unpaid leave when available through accruals, donations, or other means authorized by collective 
bargaining agreements, Alaska Administrative Code, and/or Alaska Statutes. Leave is recorded in one-
quarter (.25) hour increments. 

 
Qualifying Exigency Leave 

  
5. What is “qualifying exigency leave” ? 
 

“Qualifying exigency leave” is one of the two new military family leave provisions. It may be taken for 
any qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that a covered military member is on active duty or call to 
active duty status. The new FMLA regulations include a broad list of activities that are considered 
qualifying exigencies and will permit eligible employees who are family members of a covered military 
member to take FMLA leave to address the most common issues that arise when a covered military 
member is deployed, such as attending military-sponsored functions, making appropriate financial and 
legal arrangements, and arranging for alternative childcare. For a complete list of qualifying exigencies, 
see question 11 below. 

 
6. Who is a “covered military member”?  
 

A covered military member is the employee’s spouse, son, daughter, or parent who is on active duty or 
call to active duty status. 

 
7. What is “active duty or call to active duty status”?  
 

Active duty or call to active duty status refers to a member of the National Guard or Reserves who is 
under a call or order to active duty (or has been notified of an impending call or order to active duty) in 
support of a contingency operation. A contingency operation is designated by the Secretary of Defense as 
an operation in which members of the armed forces are or may become involved in military actions, 
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operations or hostilities against an enemy of the United States or against an opposing military force or 
results in the call or order to, or retention on, active duty of members of the uniformed services under 
Sections 688, 12301(a), 12302, 12305 OR 12406 OR UNDER Chapter 15 of Title 10 of the United States 
Code, or under any other provision of law during a war or during a national emergency declared by the 
President or Congress. 

 
8. Are families of service members in the Regular Armed Forces eligible for qualifying exigency 
 leave?  
 

No. The statute passed by Congress providing these new military family leave entitlements only extended 
the right to take FMLA leave because of a qualifying exigency to family members of National Guard and 
Reserves, and certain retired military. By federal law, there is no authority to extend the entitlement to 
take FMLA leave because of a qualifying exigency to family members of service members in the Regular 
Armed Forces.  

 
9. Can I take qualifying exigency leave if my son or daughter is 18 years old or older?  
 

Yes. The new FMLA regulations contain special definitions for son and daughter for both of the military 
family leave provisions. For qualifying exigency leave, an eligible employee may take leave for his or her 
“son or daughter on active duty or call to active duty status,” which is defined as the employee’s 
biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or child for whom the employee stood in loco 
parentis, who is on active duty or call to active duty status, and who is of any age.  

 
10. Can I take qualifying exigency leave if the covered military member is my stepson or stepdaughter? 

Alternatively, can I take qualifying exigency leave if the covered military member is my 
stepparent?  

 
Yes. Under the FMLA for qualifying exigency leave, a “son or daughter on active duty or call to active 
duty status” means the employee’s biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or a child for 
whom the employee stood in loco parentis, who is on active duty or call to active duty status, and who is 
of any age. Additionally, under the FMLA for qualifying exigency leave, a “parent” means a biological, 
adoptive, step or foster father or mother, or any other individual who stood in loco parentis to the 
employee when the employee was a son or daughter. This term does not include parents “in law.” 

 
11. What is a “qualifying exigency”?  
 

The regulations provide a list of qualifying exigencies that encompass a wide range of specific activities 
in the following broad categories. Qualifying exigencies include:  

 
•  Issues arising from a covered military member’s short notice deployment (i.e., deployment on seven 

or less days of notice) for a period of seven days from the date of notification;  
 
• Military events and related activities, such as official ceremonies, programs, or events sponsored by 

the military or family support or assistance programs, and informational briefings sponsored or 
promoted by the military, military service organizations, or the American Red Cross;  

 
• Certain childcare and related activities arising from the active duty or call to active duty status of a 

covered military member, such as arranging for alternative childcare, providing childcare on a non-
routine, urgent, immediate need basis, enrolling or transferring a child in a new school or day care 
facility, and attending certain meetings at school or a day care facility if they are necessary due to 
circumstances arising from the active duty or call to active duty of the covered military member;  

 
•  Making or updating financial and legal arrangements to address a covered military member’s 

absence;  
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• Attending counseling provided by someone other than a health care provider for oneself, the covered 

military member, or the child of the covered military member, the need for which arises from the 
active duty or call to active duty status of the covered military member;  

 
•  Taking up to five days of leave to spend time with a covered military member who is on short-term 

temporary, rest and recuperation leave during deployment  
 
•  Attending to certain post-deployment activities, including attending arrival ceremonies, reintegration 

briefings and events, and other official ceremonies or programs sponsored by the military for a period 
of 90 days following the termination of the covered military member’s active duty status, and 
addressing issues arising from the death of a covered military member; and  

 
•  Any other event that the employee and employer agree is a qualifying exigency  

 
12. Can I take qualifying exigency leave to pick up a child from school or attend a school event?  
 

Yes, in certain limited circumstances. An eligible employee caring for a covered military member’s child 
may use qualifying exigency leave to provide childcare on an urgent, immediate need basis, but not on a 
routine, everyday basis, where the need to provide the care arises from the active duty or call to active 
duty status of the covered military member. Accordingly, an employee could use qualifying exigency 
leave to provide childcare in an emergency, such as a school closure due to inclement weather, if the 
employee’s need to provide the care arises from the active duty status of a covered military member. 
Qualifying exigency leave could not be used, however, on a routine basis to provide daily childcare after 
school hours (although it could be used temporarily while making arrangements for such care). 
Qualifying exigency leave may also be used to attend certain meetings with school staff, if those meetings 
are necessary due to the active duty or call to active duty status of the covered military member. For 
example, qualifying exigency leave could be used to attend a meeting with a teacher to discuss behavioral 
problems related to the child’s parent being deployed. Qualifying exigency leave may not be used, 
however, for attending routine school events, such as birthday parties or plays.  

 
13. For what additional events may employers and employees agree to use qualifying exigency leave?  

 
Employers and employees may agree to cover any additional events arising from the covered military 
member’s active duty or call to active duty status as qualifying exigency leave. Such events may include 
leave to spend time with a covered military member either prior to or post deployment, or to attend to 
household emergencies that would normally have been handled by the covered military member. 
Employers and employees must agree to both the timing and duration of any such qualifying exigency 
leave and the leave may be counted against the employee’s 12 week FMLA leave entitlement. 

 
14. What type of notice must I provide to my employer when taking FMLA leave because of a 
qualifying exigency?  

 
An employee must provide notice of the need for qualifying exigency leave as soon as practicable. For 
example, if an employee receives notice of a family support program a week in advance of the event, it is 
practicable for the employee to provide notice to his or her employer of the need for qualifying exigency 
leave the same day or the next business day. When the need for leave is unforeseeable, an employee must 
comply with an employer’s normal call-in procedures absent unusual circumstances. An employee does 
not need to specifically assert his or her rights under FMLA, or even mention FMLA, when providing 
notice. The employee must provide “sufficient information” to make the employer aware of the need for 
FMLA leave and the anticipated timing and duration of the leave. 

 
15. What are the certification requirements for taking qualifying exigency leave?  
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The first time that an employee requests qualifying exigency leave, an employer may require the 
employee to provide a copy of the covered military member’s active duty orders or other documentation 
issued by the military that indicates that the covered military member is on active duty or call to active 
duty status in support of a contingency operation, and the dates of the covered military member’s active 
duty service.  
 
In addition, each time that an employee first requests leave for one of the qualifying exigencies; an 
employer may require certification of the exigency necessitating leave. Certification supporting leave for 
a qualifying exigency includes: appropriate facts supporting the need for leave, including any available 
written documentation supporting the request; the date on which the qualifying exigency commenced or 
will commence and the end date; where leave will be needed on an intermittent basis, the frequency and 
duration of the qualifying exigency; and appropriate contact information if the exigency involves meeting 
with a third-party. The State has developed a new optional form (Certification of Qualifying Exigency for 
Military Family Leave) for employees’ use in obtaining certification that meets qualifying exigency leave 
certification requirements.  

 
16. Are the certification procedures (timing, authentication, clarification, second and third opinions, 

recertification) the same for qualifying exigency leave and leave due to a serious health condition?  
 

The same timing requirements for certification apply to all requests for FMLA leave, including those for 
military family leave. Thus, an employee must provide the requested certification to the employer within 
the time frame requested by the employer (which must allow at least 15 calendar days after the 
employer’s request), unless it is not practicable under the particular circumstances to do so despite the 
employee’s diligent, good faith efforts.  
 
If the qualifying exigency involves a meeting with a third party, employers may verify the schedule and 
purpose of the meeting with the third party. Additionally, an employer may contact the appropriate unit of 
the Department of Defense to confirm that the covered military member is on active duty or call to active 
duty status.  
 
Employers are not permitted to require second or third opinions on qualifying exigency certifications. 
Employers are also not permitted to require recertification for such leave. 

 
17. How much FMLA leave may I take for qualifying exigencies?  
 

An employee may take up to 12 workweeks of FMLA leave for qualifying exigencies during the twelve-
month period established by the employer for FMLA leave. Qualifying exigency leave may also be taken 
on an intermittent or reduced leave schedule basis.  

 
18. Is the 12 weeks of qualifying exigency leave a one-time entitlement?  
 

No. If a covered military member’s active duty or call to active duty status spans more than one FMLA 
leave year, an eligible employee would be eligible to take qualifying exigency leave in each FMLA leave 
year. Moreover, an eligible employee could take qualifying exigency leave in a subsequent FMLA leave 
year for a different covered military member. Finally, if the same covered military member returns from 
deployment and is subsequently redeployed, the eligible employee would again be entitled to qualifying 
exigency leave.  

 
19. How much leave can I take if I need leave for both a serious health condition and a qualifying 
exigency?  

 
Qualifying exigency leave, like leave for a serious health condition, is a FMLA-qualifying reason for 
which an eligible employee may use his or her entitlement for up to 12 workweeks of FMLA leave each 
year. An eligible employee may take all 12 weeks of his or her FMLA leave entitlement as qualifying 
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exigency leave or the employee may take a combination of 12 weeks of leave for both qualifying 
exigency leave and leave for a serious health condition.  

 
20. Can I take qualifying exigency leave when my “covered military member” returns from 

deployment?  
 
Yes. An eligible employee is entitled to take qualifying exigency leave for certain qualifying post-
deployment exigencies, including reintegration activities, for a period of 90 days following the 
termination of the covered military member’s active duty status. 

 
Military Caregiver Leave 

  
21. What is “military caregiver leave”?  
 

“Military caregiver leave” is the second of the two new military family leave provisions. Such leave may 
be taken by an eligible employee to care for a covered service member with a serious injury or illness. 
This type of FMLA leave is based on a recommendation of the President’s Commission on Care for 
America’s Returning Wounded Warriors.  

 
22. Who is eligible to take military caregiver leave?  
 

An eligible employee who is the spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of kin of a covered service member 
with a serious injury or illness may take job-protected FMLA leave to provide care to the service member.  

 
23. Are families of service members in the Regular Armed Forces eligible for military caregiver leave?  

 
Yes. Military caregiver leave extends to those seriously injured or ill members of both the Regular Armed 
Forces and the National Guard or Reserves.  

 
24. Who is a “covered service member”?   
 

A “covered service member” is a current member of the Armed Forces, including a member of the 
National Guard or Reserves, who is undergoing medical treatment, recuperation, or therapy, is otherwise 
in outpatient status, or is otherwise on the temporary disability retired list, for a serious injury or illness 
incurred in the line of duty on active duty. 

 
25. Can I take military caregiver leave if I am the stepson or stepdaughter of the covered service 

member or if I am the stepparent of a covered service member?  
 

Yes. Under the FMLA for military caregiver leave, a “son or daughter of a covered service member” 
means a covered service member’s biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or a child for 
whom the employee stood in loco parentis, and who is of any age. Under the FMLA for military caregiver 
leave, a “parent of a covered service member” means a covered service member’s biological, adoptive, 
step or foster father or mother, or any other individual who stood in loco parentis to the covered service 
member. This term does not include parents “in law.” 

 
26. What is a “serious injury or illness”?   

 
A “serious injury or illness” is an injury or illness incurred by a covered service member in the line of 
duty on active duty that may render the service member medically unfit to perform the duties of the 
member’s office, grade, rank, or rating. 

 
27. How much leave may I take to care to for a covered service member?   
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An eligible employee is entitled to take up to 26 workweeks of leave during a “single 12-month period” 
to care for a seriously injured or ill covered service member. The “single 12-month period” begins on the 
first day the eligible employee takes military caregiver leave and ends 12 months after that date, 
regardless of the method used by the employer to determine the employee’s 12 workweeks of leave 
entitlement for other FMLA-qualifying reasons.  

 
28. May I take FMLA leave to both care for a covered service member and for another FMLA \
 qualifying reason during this “single 12-month period?”  

 
Yes. The FMLA regulations provide that an eligible employee is entitled to a combined total of 26 
workweeks of military caregiver leave and leave for any other FMLA-qualifying reason in this “single 
12-month period,” provided that the employee may not take more than 12 workweeks of leave for any 
other FMLA-qualifying reason during this period. For example, in the single 12-month period an 
employee could take 12 weeks of FMLA leave to care for a newborn child and 14 weeks of military 
caregiver leave, but could not take 16 weeks of leave to care for a newborn child and 10 weeks of military 
caregiver leave.  

 
29. Can I carry-over unused weeks of military caregiver leave from one 12-month period to another?  
 

No. If an employee does not use his or her entire 26-workweek leave entitlement during the “single 12-
month period” of leave, the remaining workweeks of leave are forfeited. After the end of the “single 12-
month period” for military caregiver leave, however, an employee may be entitled to take FMLA leave to 
care for the covered military member if the member is a qualifying family member under non-military 
FMLA and he or she has a serious health condition. 

 
30. Can I take military caregiver leave as the son or daughter of a covered service member if I am 18 

years old or older?  
 

Yes. The new FMLA regulations contain special definitions for son and daughter for both of the military 
family leave provisions. For military caregiver leave, an eligible employee may take leave if he or she is 
the “son or daughter of a covered service member,” which is defined as the covered service member’s 
biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or a child for whom the covered service member 
stood in loco parentis, and who is of any age.  

 
31. Who is a service member’s “next of kin” for purposes of military caregiver leave?   
 

The FMLA regulations define a covered service member’s “next of kin” as the service member’s nearest 
blood relative, other than the covered service member’s spouse, parent, son, or daughter, in the following 
order of priority: blood relatives who have been granted legal custody of the service member by court 
decree or statutory provisions, brothers and sisters, grandparents, aunts and uncles, and first cousins, 
unless the covered service member has specifically designated in writing another blood relative as his or 
her nearest blood relative for purposes of military caregiver leave under FMLA, in which case the 
designated individual shall be deemed to be the covered service member’s next of kin. The FMLA 
regulations provide that all family members sharing the closest level of familial relationship to the 
covered service member shall be considered the covered service member’s next of kin, unless the covered 
service member has specifically designated an individual as his or her next of kin for military caregiver 
leave purposes. In the absence of a designation, where a covered service member has three siblings, for 
example, all three siblings will be considered the covered service member’s next of kin.  

 
32. Can I take military caregiver leave to care for a service member who is no longer serving in the 

military? What about for a retired member of the military?   
 

No. Former members, including retired members, of the Regular Armed Forces, the National Guard, or 
the Reserves are not considered “covered service members” under the military caregiver leave provision. 
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Military caregiver leave does cover seriously ill or injured service members on the temporary disability 
retired list; service members on the permanent disability retired list, however, are not covered. 

 
33. Can I take military caregiver leave for more than one seriously injured or ill Service member, or 

more than once for the same service member if he or she has a subsequent serious injury or illness?  
 

Yes. By the FMLA regulation, military caregiver leave is a “per-service member, per-injury” entitlement. 
Accordingly, an eligible employee may take 26 workweeks of leave to care for one covered service 
member in a “single 12-month period,” and then take another 26 workweeks of leave in a different “single 
12-month period” to care for another covered service member. An eligible employee may also take 26 
workweeks of leave to care for a covered service member in a “single 12-month period,” and then take 
another 26 workweeks of leave in a different “single 12-month period” to care for the same service 
member with a subsequent serious injury or illness (e.g., if the service member is returned to active duty 
and suffers another injury). 

 
34. Can I take additional military caregiver leave if a covered service member receives a serious injury 

or illness and then, at a later time, manifests a second serious injury or illness?  
 

Yes. If a covered service member incurs a serious injury or illness and manifests a second serious injury 
or illness at a later time, an eligible employee would be entitled to an additional 26-workweek entitlement 
to care for the covered service member in a separate “single 12-month period.” However, the covered 
service member must still be a member of the Armed Forces, or the National Guard or Reserves, 
including those on the temporary disability retired list, and the second serious injury or illness must have 
been incurred in the line of duty on active duty. For example, an eligible employee may take military 
caregiver leave to care for a covered service member who has suffered a limb amputation in the line of 
duty on active duty; if that same service member manifests a brain injury a year later arising from the 
same incident, the employee would be eligible to take another 26 workweeks of military caregiver leave 
at that time.  

 
35. Can I care for two seriously injured or ill service members at the same time?  
 

Yes. However, an eligible employee may not take more than 26 workweeks of leave during each “single 
12-month period.” 
 

36. What type of notice must I provide to my employer when taking military caregiver FMLA leave 
because of a qualifying exigency?  

 
An employee must provide 30 days advance notice of the need to take FMLA leave for planned medical 
treatment for a serious injury or illness of a covered service member. When 30 days advance notice is not 
possible, the employee must provide notice as soon as practicable taking into account all of the facts and 
circumstances. When the need for leave is unforeseeable, an employee must comply with an employer’s 
normal notice or call-in procedures, absent unusual circumstances.  
 
An employee does not need to specifically assert his or her rights under FMLA, or even mention FMLA, 
when providing notice. The employee must provide “sufficient information” to make the employer aware 
of the need for FMLA leave and the anticipated timing and duration of the leave. 

 
37. Are there certification requirements for taking military caregiver leave?   
 

Yes. When leave is taken to care for a covered service member with a serious injury or illness, an 
employer may require an employee to obtain a certification completed by an authorized health care 
provider of the covered service member. The State has developed a new form (Certification for Serious 
Injury or Illness of Covered Service member for Military Family Leave) for employees’ use in obtaining 
certification that meets military caregiver leave certification requirements. This form reflects certification 
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requirements so as to permit the employee to furnish appropriate information to support his or her request 
for leave to care for a covered service member with a serious injury or illness. 

 
38. Are the certification procedures (timing, authentication, clarification, second and third opinions, 

recertification) the same for military caregiver leave and leave due to a serious health condition?  
 

The same timing requirements for certification apply to all requests for FMLA leave, including those for 
military family leave. Thus, an employee must provide any requested certification to the employer within 
the time frame requested by the employer (which must allow at least 15 calendar days after the 
employer’s request), unless it is not practicable under the particular circumstances to do so despite the 
employee’s diligent, good faith efforts.  
 
The FMLA regulations also permit employers to authenticate and clarify medical certifications submitted 
to support a request for military caregiver leave using the procedures applicable to FMLA leave taken to 
care for a family member with a serious health condition.  
 
Employers are not permitted to require second or third opinions on military caregiver leave. Employers 
are also not permitted to require recertification for such leave.  

  
39. Are private health care providers, as well as military health care providers, permitted to complete a 

certification for military caregiver leave?  
 

Yes. A private health care provider can complete certifications for military caregiver leave if the health 
care provider is either a DOD TRICARE network authorized private health care provider or a DOD non-
network TRICARE authorized private health care provider. Department of Defense health care providers 
and Veterans Affairs health care providers can also complete a certification for military caregiver leave. 
See 29 CFR 827.310(a).  

 
40. What if my covered service member receives a catastrophic injury and the military issues me travel 

orders to immediately fly to Landstuhl Regional Medical Center in Germany to be at his bedside. 
Do I have to provide a completed certification before flying to Germany?  

 
No. Given the seriousness of the injuries or illnesses incurred by a service member whose family receives 
an “invitational travel order” (ITO) or “invitational travel authorization” (ITA), and the immediate need 
for the family member at the service member bedside, the regulations require an employer to accept the 
submission of an ITO or ITA, in lieu of the State’s certification form, as sufficient certification of a 
request for military caregiver leave during the time period specified in the ITO or ITA.  
 
The regulations also permit an eligible employee who is a spouse, parent, son, daughter or next of kin of a 
covered service member to submit an ITO or ITA issued to another family member as sufficient 
certification for the duration of time specified in the ITO or ITA, even if the employee seeking leave is 
not the named recipient on the ITO or ITA.  
 
If the covered service member’s need for care extends beyond the expiration date specified in the ITO or 
ITA, the regulations permit an employer to require an employee to provide certification for the remainder 
of the employee’s leave period. 

 
41. How is leave designated if it qualifies as both military caregiver leave and leave to care for a family 

member with a serious health condition?  
 

For military caregiver leave that also qualifies as leave taken to care for a family member with a serious 
health condition, the regulations provide that an employer must designate the leave as military caregiver 
leave first. The State believes that applying military caregiver leave first will help to alleviate some of the 
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administrative issues caused by the running of the separate “single 12-month period” for military 
caregiver leave.  
 
The FMLA regulations also prohibit an employer from counting leave that qualifies as both military 
caregiver leave and leave to care for a family member with a serious health condition against both an 
employee’s entitlement to 26 workweeks of military caregiver leave and 12 workweeks of leave for other 
FMLA-qualifying reasons.  
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This section of the FAQs applies to both medical and parental leave under FMLA and AFLA and policies 
adopted through the Alaska Administrative Manual. 
 

1. What is reasonable notice to the employer when requesting family leave? 
 

 Thirty (30) days in advance for a foreseeable need based on planned medical treatment or expected 
birth/placement; 
 

 As soon as the need is known or is practical if the 30-day notice cannot be met.  This means at least 
verbal notification within one or two business days in advance of the need except in circumstances 
beyond the employee's control; 
 

 Employees are obligated to make a reasonable effort to schedule treatment so as not to unduly disrupt 
agency operations.  Such scheduling is subject to the approval of the health care provider under both 
FMLA and AFLA. 
 

29 CFR 825.302, .303 AS 39.20.305(b) 
 

2. When must the employer notify the employee that the leave has been designated as FMLA? 
 

Upon notification of an employee’s absence for a potentially qualifying condition, the supervisor or the 
supervisor’s designee conditionally invokes the employee’s absence as family leave within five working 
days of acquiring knowledge of a possible family leave qualifying condition.  The supervisor or the 
supervisor’s designee immediately notifies the Division of Personnel, as dictated by established 
procedures, when leave has been conditionally invoked.  
 
The Division of Personnel & Labor Relations officially designates an employee’s absence as family 
leave.  Designation occurs after sufficient information to make the determination is obtained.  All 
attempts will be made to obtain this information upon the first qualifying absence.  Failure to obtain this 
information and designate an absence as family leave does not prohibit the employer from retroactively 
applying family leave entitlements and protections to previous, qualifying absences. The Division of 
Personnel & Labor Relations notifies the employee and the employee’s supervisor when family leave 
entitlements are invoked, denied, exhausted, and/or expired.  

 
  29 CFR 825.208  AAM 280.370 

 
3. What other notice is the employer required to provide to the employee?  
 
 The employer shall provide the employee with written notice detailing the specific expectations and 

obligations of the employee and explaining any consequences of a failure to meet these obligations.  The 
notice must include, as appropriate: 

 
 That the leave will be counted against the employee’s annual FMLA leave entitlement; 
 
 Any requirements for the employee to furnish medical certification of a serious health condition and the 

consequences of failure to do so; 
 

  The employee’s right to substitute paid leave and whether the employer will require the substitution of 
paid leave, and the conditions related to any substitution; 
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Any requirement of the employee to make any premium payments to maintain health benefits and the 
arrangements for making such payments, and the possible consequences of failure to make such payments 
on a timely basis; 
 
Any requirement for the employee to present a fitness-for-duty certification to be restored to employment; 
 
The employee’s right to restoration to the same or an equivalent job upon return from leave; and 
 
The employee’s potential liability for payment of health insurance premiums paid by the employer during 
the employee’s unpaid FMLA leave if the employee fails to return to work after taking FMLA leave. 

 
The specific notice may include other information, such as whether the employer will require periodic 
reports of the employee’s status and intent to return to work. 
 
The written notice must be provided to the employee no less often than the first time in each six-month 
period that an employee files notice of the need for FMLA leave.   The notice shall be given within a 
reasonable time after notice of the need for leave is given by the employee - within one to two business 
days if feasible.  If leave has already begun, the notice shall be mailed to the employee’s address of 
record. 

If the specific information provided in the notice changes with respect to a subsequent period of FMLA 
leave during the six month period, the employer shall, within one or two business days of receipt of the 
employee’s notice of need for leave, provide written notice referencing the prior notice and setting forth 
any of the information which has changed. 
 
If the employer is requiring medical certification or a “fitness-for-duty” report, written notice of the 
requirement shall be given with respect to each employee notice of a need for leave.  Subsequent written 
notification shall not be required if the initial notice in the six-month period and the employer handbook 
or other written documents describing the employer’s leave policies, clearly provided that certification or 
a “fitness-for-duty” report would be required (e.g., by stating that certification would be required in all 
cases, that certification would be required in all cases in which leave of more than a specified number of 
days is taken, etc.).  When subsequent written notice is not required, at least oral notice should be given. 

 
Employers are expected to responsively answer questions from employees concerning their rights and 
responsibilities under the FMLA. 
 
Employers furnishing FMLA required notices to sensory impaired individuals must also comply with all 
applicable requirements under federal or state law. If an employer fails to provide notice in accordance 
with the provisions of this section, the employer may not take action against an employee for failure to 
comply with any provisions required to be set forth in the notice. 
 
The Division of Personnel & Labor Relations has composed letter templates that meet these notice 
requirements. These letters should be used when a supervisor conditionally invokes family leave and 
when Technical Services officially designates family leave for a qualifying employee. 
 
29 CFR 825.301 

 
4. Must the Certification of Health Care Provider and other medical information about an employee 

or family member's health condition be kept in files separate from other personnel or payroll files? 
 

Yes, all medical documents must be sent to the Division of Personnel who has the responsibility for 
maintaining an employee’s medical file. The Americans with Disabilities Act requires such information to 
be filed separately. 
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ADA Title I, 42 USC 12101, CFR 1630.14 b (1) 
 
5. Is there any required notice that must be posted? 
 

The FMLA requires that every covered employer post and keep posted on its premises, in conspicuous 
places where employees are employed, including locations with less than 50 employees in a 75-mile 
radius, a notice explaining the federal provisions and providing information concerning the procedure for 
filing complaints of violations of the federal law with the U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour 
Division.  The notice must be posted prominently where employees and applicants for employment can 
readily see it.   
 
A master copy of a poster meeting these requirements which also includes information about AFLA is 
posted to the Division’s website for printing and posting.   
 
29 CFR 825.300 
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 COVERED 
EMPLOYERS 

ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES AMOUNT OF LEAVE LEAVE AND 
HOLIDAYS 

INTERMITTENT OR 
REDUCED LEAVE 
SCHEDULE 

RELATIONSHIP TO 
PAID LEAVE 

FORESEEABLE LEAVE 

FEDERAL 
FMLA 

EMPLOYERS EMPLOYING 50 
OR MORE EMPLOYEES FOR 
EACH WORKING DAY 
DURING EACH OF 20 OR 
MORE CALENDAR WEEKS IN 
THE CURRENT OR 
PRECEDING CALENDAR 
YEAR 

EMPLOYED BY COVERED 
EMPLOYER FOR 12-MONTH 
PERIOD AND WORKED 1,250 
HOURS DURING PREVIOUS 12 
TWELVE MONTH PERIOD 
PRECEDING LEAVE REQUEST.  
MUST ALSO BE EMPLOYED AT 
WORKSITE WHERE 50 OR MORE 
EMPLOYEES ARE EMPLOYED 
WITHIN A 75-MILE RADIUS. 

UP TO TWELVE WEEKS OF 
UNPAID LEAVE IN A 
TWELVE MONTH PERIOD 

DO NOT COUNT TOWARD 
HOURS WORKED 
THRESHOLD 

 EMPLOYEE MAY ELECT OR 
EMPLOYER MAY REQUIRE 
EMPLOYEE TO SUBSTITUTE 
ANY PAID VACATION LEAVE, 
PERSONAL LEAVE OR PAID 
FAMILY LEAVE FOR ANY OF 
THE 12 WEEKS OF LEAVE 

EMPLOYEE MUST PROVIDE AT 
LEAST 30 DAYS NOTICE. OR AS 
SOON AS PRACTICABLE 

BIRTH OF A CHILD OR TO 
CARE FOR A NEWBORN 

    EMPLOYEE AND EMPLOYER 
MUST AGREE 

  

PLACEMENT OF A CHILD 
FOR ADOPTION OR FOSTER 
CARE 

    EMPLOYEE AND EMPLOYER 
MUST AGREE 

  

TO CARE FOR A SPOUSE, 
CHILD OR PARENT WITH A 
SERIOUS HEALTH 
CONDITION 

    CAN BE TAKEN WHEN 
MEDICALLY NECESSARY BUT 
EMPLOYER MAY REQUIRE 
EMPLOYEE TO TAKE AN 
ALTERNATIVE POSITION IF 
LEAVE IS FORESEEABLE BASED 
ON PLANNED MEDICAL 
TREATMENT 

  

FOR THE EMPLOYEE'S OWN 
SERIOUS HEALTH 
CONDITION 

    SAME AS ABOVE   

MILITARY FAMILY LEAVE 
FOR QUALIFYING 
EXIGENCY 

EMPLOYEE ‘S  SPOUSE, SON 
OR DAUGHTER OR PARENT 
IN THE  NATIONAL GUARD 
AND RESERVES 

SAME AS FEDERAL FMLA UP TO 12 WEEKS OF UNPAID 
LEAVE IN A 12 MONTH 
PERIOD 

 MAY BE TAKEN CONTINUOUSLY, 
INTERMITTENTLY OR ON A 
REDUCED SCHEDULE 

SAME AS FEDERAL FMLA AS SOON AS PRACTICABLE 

MILITARY 
CAREGIVER 
LEAVE 

EMPLOYEE’S SPOUSE, SON 
OR DAUGHTER, PARENT OR 
NEXT OF  KIN 

SAME AS FEDERAL FMLA UP TO 26 WEEKS OF UNPAID 
LEAVE IN A 12 MONTH 
PERIOD 

 MAY BE TAKEN CONTINUOUSLY, 
INTERMITTENTLY OR ON A 
REDUCED SCHEDULE 

SAME AS FEDERAL FMLA SAME AS FEDERAL FMLA 

STATE 
AFLA 

ANY STATE AND POLITICAL 
SUBDVISION OF THE STATE 
THAT EMPLOYED AT LEAST 
21 EMPLOYEES WITHIN 50 
ROAD MILES DURING ANY 
PERIOD OF 20 CONSECUTIVE 
WEEKS IN THE PRECEDING 
TWO CALENDAR YEARS 

EMPLOYED BY COVERED STATE 
ENTITY AND IS IN A PAY STATUS 
FOR AT LEAST 35 HOURS A WEEK 
FOR SIX CONSECUTIVE MONTHS 
OR FOR 171/2 HOURS A WEEK FOR 
TWELVE CONSECUTIVE MONTHS 
IMMEDIATELY PRECEDING THE 
LEAVE.** 
 
**Excluded are state employees not 
subject to civil service laws, holds a 
public elective office, is a member of an 
elected official’s staff, appointed by an 
elected official to a policymaking 
position or is an employee of the 
legislative branch. 

UP TO 18  WORKWEEKS 
DURING ANY 24 MONTH 
PERIOD DUE TO A SERIOUS 
HEALTH CONDITION AND 
AN ADDITIONAL 18 WEEKS 
DURING A TWELVE MONTH 
PERIOD FOR PREGNANCY, 
CHILDBIRTH AND/OR 
ADOPTION 

“EMPLOYED BY”INCLUDES 
ALL THE BENEFITS THAT 
GO WITH EMPLOYMENT 
SUCH AS LEAVE AND 
HOLIDAYS, INCLUDING 
APPROVED LEAVE 
WITHOUT PAY 

LEAVE TAKEN DUE TO A SERIOUS 
HEALTH CONDITION MAY BE 
TAKEN INTERMITTENTLY.  LEAVE 
TAKEN FOR THE BIRTH OR 
ADOPTION OF A CHILD MUST BE 
TAKEN IN ONE CONSECUTIVE 
PERIOD AND SUCH ENTITLEMENT 
EXPIRES AFTER ONE YEAR OF THE 
BIRTH OR ADOPTION 

EMPLOYEE OR EMPLOYER 
MAY ELECT TO SUBSTITUTE 
ANY OF THE EMPLOYEE'S PAID 
LEAVE SUCH AS SICK, 
VACATION, PERSONAL OR 
PAID FAMILY LEAVE FOR ANY 
PART OF THE FOUR-WEEK 
PERIOD.  [All employees under a 
negotiated agreement are required to 
exhaust paid leave (sick, annual & 
personal) before entering a leave 
without pay status. Each contract 
should be reviewed for its specific 
provisions.] 

EMPLOYEE SHALL PROVIDE 
THE EMPLOYER WITH PRIOR 
NOTICE IN A MANNER THAT IS 
REASONABLE AND 
PRACTICABLE 

STATE 
POLICY 

 THE STATE POLICY REQURES 
ONLY EMPLOYMENT 
THRESHOLDS NEED TO BE MET 
TO BE ELIGIBLE. 

THE STATE REQUIRES THE 
USE OF PAID LEAVE FOR 
UNPAID LEAVE WHEN 
AVAILABLE THROUGH 
ACCRUALS, DONATIONS, OR 
OTHER MEANS 
AUTHORIZED 
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 CERTIFICATION MAINTENANCE OF 

HEALTH BENEFITS 
RESTORATION TO 
POSITION 

SITUATIONS AND 
RELATIONS 
COVERED 

DEFINITIONS: PARENT; 
SON OR DAUGHTER; 
SPOUSE 

PROHIBITED 
PRACTICES 

ENFORCING AGENCY 

FEDERAL 
FMLA 

 EMPLOYER IS REQUIRED TO 
MAINTAIN GROUP HEALTH 
INSURANCE COVERAGE FOR AN 
EMPLOYEE ON APPROVED FMLA 
LEAVE ON THE SAME TERMS AS 
IF THE EMPLOYEE HAD 
CONTINUED TO WORK. 

EMPLOYEE MUST BE 
RETURNED TO PREVIOUS 
OR EQUIVALENT POSITION 
WITH SAME CONDITIONS 
AND BENEFITS. 

 
 
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF 
LABOR – WAGE AND 
HOUR DIVISION 

BIRTH OF A CHILD OR TO 
CARE FOR A NEWBORN 

N/A   

PLACEMENT OF A CHILD 
FOR ADOPTION OR FOSTER 
CARE 

 
N/A 

  

FOR THE EMPLOYEE'S OWN 
SERIOUS HEALTH 
CONDITION  
TO CARE FOR A SPOUSE, 
CHILD OR PARENT WITH A 
SERIOUS HEALTH 
CONDITION 

EMPLOYER MAY REQUIRE A 
MEDICAL CERTIFICATION 
AND SUBSEQUENT 
RECERTIFICATIONS TO 
SUPPORT A LEAVE FOR A 
SERIOUS HEALTH 
CONDITION. 

  

MILITARY FAMILY LEAVE 
FOR QUALIFYING 
EXIGENCY 
MILITARY CAREGIVER 
LEAVE 

 
SAME AS ABOVE 

  

1) FOR THE BIRTH OF A 
CHILD OR CARE OF 
THE NEWBORN. 

2) FOR THE 
PLACEMENT OF A 
CHILD THROUGH 
ADOPTION OR 
FOSTER CARE. 

3) TO CARE FOR A 
SPOUSE, CHILD OR 
PARENT WITH A 
SERIOUS HEALTH 
CONDITION. 

4) FOR THE 
EMPLOYEE’S OWN 
SERIOUS HEALTH 
CONDITION THAT 
MAKES THE 
EMPLOYEE UNABLE 
TO PERFORM THE 
FUNCTIONS OF THEIR 
JOB 

5) FOR MILITARY 
FAMILY LEAVE FOR 
QUALIFYING 
EXIGENCY 

6) MILITARY 
CAREGIVER LEAVE. 

 

PARENT: BIOLOGICAL PARENT 
OF AN EMPLOYEE OR AN 
INDIVIDUAL WHO STANDS OR 
STOOD IN LOCO PARENTIS TO AN 
EMPLOYEE WHEN THE EMPLOYEE 
WAS A CHILD; 
 
SON OR DAUGHTER:  
A BIOLOGICAL, ADOPTED, OR 
FOSTER CHILD, A STEPCHILD, A 
LEGAL WARD, OR A CHILD OF A 
PERSON STANDING IN LOCO 
PARENTIS, WHO IS UNDER 18 
YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER AND 
INCAPABLE OF SELF-CARE 
BECAUSE OF A MENTAL OR 
PHYSICAL DISABILITY; 
 
SPOUSE: 
A HUSBAND OR WIFE AS DEFINED 
OR RECOGNIZED WHERE THE 
EMPLOYEE RESIDES, INCLUDING 
COMMON LAW MARRIAGES IN 
STATES WHERE IT IS 
RECOGNIZED (NOT IN ALASKA). 
 
 

1) INTERFERING,RESTRAINING 
OR DENYING AN EMPLOYEE 
FROM EXCERCISING THEIR 
RIGHTS UNDER THE ACT. 

2) RETALIATING AGAINST 
ANY EMPOYEE WHO 
COMPLAINS ABOUT ANY 
UNLAWFUL PRACTICE. 

3) RETALIATING AGAINST 
ANY EMPOYEE WHO FILES 
A CHARGE OR INITIATES 
LEGAL PROCEEDINGS 
REGARDING VIOLATIONS 
OF THE ACT. 

4) USING FMLA LEAVE AS A 
BASIS IN MAKING ANY 
NEGATIVE EMPLOYMENT 
ACTION OR COUNTING 
FMLA ABSENCES UNDER 
“NO-FAULT” ATTENDANCE 
POLICIES 

 
 
PENALTIES 
 
 
 
 
EMPLOYERS WHO VIOLATE THE 
LAW ARE LIABLE FOR WAGES, 
SALARY AND BENEFITS THAT 
THE EMPLOYEE HAS LOST – 
WITH INTEREST. IN ADDITION, 
PREVAILING PLAINTIFFS ARE 
ENTITLED TO REASONABLE 
ATTORNEY FEES. 

STATE 
AFLA 

EMPLOYER MAY REQUIRE A 
MEDICAL CERTIFICATION 
REGARDING ALL REQUESTS 
FOR LEAVE 

NO CONTINUATION OF BENEFITS 
REQUIRED WHEN LEAVE IS 
UNPAID. 

EMPLOYEE MUST BE 
RETURNED TO PREVIOUS 
OR EQUIVALENT POSITION 
WITH SAME CONDITIONS 
AND BENEFITS. 

1) FOR THE BIRTH OF A 
CHILD. 

2) FOR THE 
PLACEMENT OF A 
CHILD THROUGH 
ADOPTION. 

3) TO CARE FOR A 
SPOUSE, CHILD OR 
PARENT** WITH A 
SERIOUS HEALTH 
CONDITION. 

4) FOR THE 
EMPLOYEE’S OWN 
SERIOUS HEALTH 
CONDITION. 

 

PARENT: 
A BIOLOGICAL OR ADOPTIVE 
PARENT, A PARENT-IN-LAW, OR A 
STEPPARENT; 
CHILD: 
AN INDIVIDUAL WHO IS (A) 
UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE; OR (B) 
18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER AND 
INCAPABLE OF SELF-CARE 
BECAUSE OF MENTAL OR 
PHYSICAL DISABILITY; FOR 
CARING FOR A CHILD WITH A 
SERIOUS HEALTH CONDITION 
“CHILD” INCLUDES AN 
EMPLOYEE’S BIOLOGICAL, 
ADOPTED, OR FOSTER CHILD, 
STEPCHILD, OR LEGAL WARD; 
SPOUSE: 
HUSBAND OR WIFE. 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
DEPARTMENT OF 
LABOR AND 
WORKFORCE 
DEVELOPMENT 

STATE 
POLICY 

THE STATE REQUIRES A 
CERTIFICATION OF HEALTH 
CARE PROVIDER IN ALL 
CASES EXCEPT PREGNANCY 

THE STATE FOLLOWS THE ACTS, 
WITH THE EXCEPTION OF 
EMPLOYEES EXCLUDED FROM 
FMLA WILL HAVE HEALTH 
INSURNACE COVERAGE 
MAINTAINED FOR THE FIRST 12 
WEEKS PROVIDED EMPLOYMENT 
THRESHOLDS ARE MET 
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 MAXIMUM 

ENTITLEMENT FOR 
PARENTAL LEAVE 

INCAPACITY DUE TO 
PREGNANCY 

COMBINATION OF 
MEDICAL AND 
PARENTAL LEAVE 

JOINT 
ENTITLEMENT 
WITH SPOUSE 

PLACEMENT FOR 
FOSTER CARE 

FEDERAL 
FMLA 

12 WORKWEEKS ENDING 12 
MONTHS FOLLOWING BIRTH 
OR PLACEMENT FOR 
ADOPTION OR FOSTER CARE. 

INCAPACITY DUE TO PREGNANCY 
IS A SERIOUS HEALTH CONDITION 
QUALIFYING FOR MEDICAL 
LEAVE. 

ANY COMBINATION 
PROVIDES A SINGLE 12 
WORKWEEK ENTITLEMENT.
 
FAMILY AND MEDICAL 
LEAVE ACT, PUBLIC LAW 
103-3 (29 USC 2601 et.seq.), 29 
CFR Part 825. 

FOR PARENTAL LEAVE AND 
TO CARE FOR SERIOUS 
HEALTH CONDITION OF 
PARENTS, SPOUSES MAY 
ONLY TAKE A COMBINED 
PERIOD OF 12 
WORKWEEKS. 

TREATED THE SAME AS BIRTH OF 
A CHILD. 

BIRTH OF A CHILD OR TO 
CARE FOR A NEWBORN 

     

PLACEMENT OF A CHILD 
FOR ADOPTION OR FOSTER 
CARE 

     

FOR THE EMPLOYEE’S OWN 
SERIOUS HEALTH 
CONDITION 
 
TO CARE FOR A SPOUSE, 
CHILD OR PARENT WITH A 
SERIOUS HEALTH 
CONDITION 

     

MILITARY FAMILY LEAVE 
FOR QUALIFYING 
EXIGENCY 
 
MILITARY CAREGIVER 
LEAVE 

     

STATE 
AFLA 

18 WORKWEEKS ENDING 12-
MONTHS FOLLOWING BIRTH 
OR PLACEMENT FOR 
ADOPTION. 

PREGNANCY AND CHILDBIRTH 
COMBINED ENTITLES EMPLOYEE 
TO 18 WORKWEEKS OF AFLA 
LEAVE. 

MEDICAL LEAVE AND 
PARENTAL LEAVE EACH 
PROVIDE 18 WORKWEEK 
ENTITLEMENT WITHIN TWO 
YEARS OR ONE YEAR 
FOLLOWING BIRTH OR 
PLACEMENT 
RESPECTIVELY. 
 
ALASKA FAMILY LEAVE 
ACT, CH 96 SLA 1992 

EACH PARENT HAS FULL 
18-WORKWEEK 
ENTITLEMENT, BUT MAY 
TAKE THEM 
SIMULTANEOUSLY ONLY 
WITH APPROVAL. 

NO PROVISION. 

STATE 
POLICY 
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	Overview of the Acts
	This section of the FAQs addresses both medical and parental leave under FMLA and AFLA and policies adopted through the Alaska Administrative Manual.
	If the specific information provided in the notice changes with respect to a subsequent period of FMLA leave during the six month period, the employer shall, within one or two business days of receipt of the employee’s notice of need for leave, provide written notice referencing the prior notice and setting forth any of the information which has changed.
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