Retiree Health Plan Advisory Board

The Retiree Health Plan Advisory Board was created through Administrative Order No. 288 on September 29, 2017 to facilitate engagement and coordination between the State of Alaska’s retirement systems’ members, the Alaska Retirement Management Board, and the Commissioner of Administration regarding the administration of the retiree health plan.

The board consists of seven members and is supported by the Department of Administration.


2018 Defined Benefit Plan Booklet (DRAFT)


  • Retiree Health Plan Advisory Board Meeting
    • August 29, 2018, 9 a.m. – 4 p.m.
    • Anchorage: Atwood Building, 550 W 7th Ave.,
      Suite 1270 Conference Room
    • Juneau: State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Ave., 10th Floor Conference Room
    • Teleconference: (855) 244-8681 / Meeting Number 289978420#
    • Meeting Materials [PDF 1.2MB]
    • WebEx Link

Past Meetings
  • RHPAB Modernization Committee Meeting
  • RHPAB Modernization Committee Meeting

Advisory Board Members

  • Judy Salo (Board Chair)
    TRS retiree
    Judy is a past president of NEA/Alaska and served on the Board of Directors of the National Education Association. She is a retired teacher and a former State Senator who represented the Northern Kenai and south Anchorage. Judy now lives with her husband in Big Lake.
    Cammy Taylor (Board Vice-Chair)
    PERS retiree
    Cammy Oechsli Taylor, of Anchorage, is a retired lawyer who worked in various state departments including the Department of Law, Department of Natural Resources, and the Oil and Gas Conservation Commission. Since retiring, she has worked as a volunteer with retiree groups on various retiree benefits issues.
    Mark Foster
    PERS retiree
    Mark Foster is a management consultant who has provided financial and economic analysis of health care markets in Alaska for a variety of clients. His work includes an analysis of the impact of the Affordable Care Act on Alaska for the Alaska Health Care Commission and an analysis of the potential value of consolidation Alaska public employee health plans and medical service procurement.
    Joelle Hall
    Public member
    Joelle Hall is the Director of Operations of the Alaska AFL-CIO. She has a Bachelor’ degree in Foreign Language and lives in Peters Creek with her husband and two children.
    Gayle Harbo
    Alaska Retirement Management Board (ARMB); TRS retiree
    Gayle Harbo, of Fairbanks, is retired and currently serves on the Alaska Retirement Management Board representing TRS. She holds a BS in Math and an MA in teaching, and has served on the ARMB since its inception in 2005.
    Dallas Hargrave
    Human Resources Official
    Dallas Hargrave, of Douglas, is the Human Resource/ Risk Management Director for the City and Borough of Juneau, where he oversees the city’s health benefits plan and other benefits. He holds a Master’s of Public Administration from the University of Alaska Southeast and a Juris Doctorate from the University of Denver.
    Mauri Long
    PERS retiree
    Mauri Long, of Anchorage, is a lawyer whose practice has been dedicated to trial and litigation, specializing in cases involving medical care. She is knowledgeable about the provision of medical care, insurance, and dispute resolution.