Open Enrollment 2015
AlaskaCare – What's New?
- Premiums and Benefit Credits
- Benefit year
- Legal notice
- Health Plan
- Life Plan
- Health Flexible Spending Account (HFSA)
Premiums and Benefit Credits
Premiums for health plans are increasing. Also increasing is the Benefit Credit. The Benefit Credit is the amount the State contributes to the cost of your health coverage. The enrollment system will automatically calculate the premiums and apply the Benefit Credit as you change your selections.
New Benefit Year
The 2015 benefit year for all plans has moved to the calendar year, January 1 through December 31, 2015.
Legal Notice – AlaskaCare Employee Health Plan Grandfathered Status
The health plan will comply with required provisions of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 (PPACA). However, the State of Alaska health plan is a grandfathered health plan under PPACA. As permitted by PPACA, a grandfathered health plan can preserve certain basic health coverage that was already in effect when that law was enacted. Being a grandfathered health plan means that the health plan may not include certain consumer protections of PPACA that apply to other plans, for example, the requirement for the provision of preventive health services without any cost sharing. However, grandfathered health plans must comply with certain other consumer protections in PPACA, for example, the elimination of lifetime limits on benefits.
You may contact the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services at DOL.gov/EBSA/HealthReform for information on which protections do and do not apply to grandfathered plans.
- Premium Plan: $300 individual/$600 family
- Standard Plan: $300 individual/$600 family
- Economy Plan: deductible $500 individual/$1000 family
- Premium Plan: $350 per person
- Standard Plan: $1200 per person
- Economy Plan: $2000 per person
- Basic Life and AD&D
- The Basic Life benefit, paid by the State, increased from $2,000 to $10,000 per person for Supervisory, Confidential, Partially Exempt, Exempt and General Government employees only. All others remain at $2,000. The Basic Accidental Death and Dismemberment benefit remains $5,000.
- Business Travel Accident
- The Business Travel Accident benefit (while traveling on official State business), paid by the State, increased from $100,000 to $200,000 per person for Supervisory, Confidential, Partially Exempt, Exempt and General Government employees only. The $200,000 coverage was extened to Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Legislators, and members of Boards and Commissions on September 1, 2014. All others remain at $100,000.
- Supplemental Life under the Optional Benefits
- If a member selects a Supplemental Life insurance option that, when combined with Basic Life insurance coverage, amounts to total life insurance coverage exceeding $50,000, the portion of the premiums for the coverage over $50,000 is taxable.
Health Flexible Spending Account (HFSA)
If you wish to participate in the HFSA, you must re-enroll each new benefit year. Under this plan, if you don’t use the funds, you lose them at the end of the benefit year. The minimum amount you may contribute under the HFSA is $20 per month. You may not contribute more than $208 per month.