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Applicability of Alternate Option

* In accordance with Alaska Statutes 39.35.300(c)
and 39.35.310(c), a seasonal non-certificated
employee may elect to pay a higher contribution
(9.6%) and have their service calculated under the
provisions of TRS.

* The legislation became effective July 1, 1999, and
applies to non-certificated Tier I, 11 or 11l members
of a school district, regional educational attendance
area, special education service agency, Alaska
Vocational Technical Center or state boarding
school.

Applicability of Alternate O

» An Alternate Option election is irrevocable unless
the employee changes positions from working less
than 12 months to working 12 months or visa
verse.

* The election is irrevocable for all periods of school
district employment, not just with the current
employer.

» Members first entering PERS on or after July 1,
2006 (Tier 1V) are not eligible to participate in the
Alternate Option.
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Enrollment

» The Election of Standard or Alternate Option
form can be found at:
http://doa.alaska.gov/drb/pdf/forms/pers004.pdf

ATier I, Il or 11l member working in a non-
certificated position for a school district has 90
days from when they first joined PERS or first
began working for a school district, to make an
irrevocable election for the Alternate Option.

Enrollment

If no election is made within 90 days, the
employee will irrevocably default to the Standard
Option.

An initial election (including the default) applies
to the service earned for the school year in which
the election was made (July 1 to June 30), and all
subsequent employment as a non-certificated
employee of a school district (with the exception
of a qualified change in employment).

Qualified Change in Employment

* A member who previously elected the Alternate
Option, who thereafter changes employment
status from working less than a full year, to
working the full year, may change their election
between July 1 and September 30 of any
subsequent school year.

The change will be made retroactive to July 1st of
the school year in which the change is elected.
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Non-qualified Changes

« A change in employment from full-time (regularly
scheduled to work 30 hours or more per week) to
part-time (regularly scheduled to work at least15
hours but less than 30 hours per week) is not a
qualified change in employment unless the employee
also changes from working less than 12 months to
working 12 months.

* Atermination/rehire is not a qualified change in
employment. The initial election applies to
subsequent employment as a non-certificated
employee.

Service Calculation

* The service is calculated under the provisions of
the Teachers’ Retirement System based on a full
year of credit for a minimum of 172 days of service
between July 1st and June 30th.

* Part-time service (regularly scheduled to work a
minimum of 15 hours per week) will be credited in
proportion to the amount of credit they would
receive as full-time (6 hours per day).
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TRS Service Credit

Days Worked Service Credit

0 to 8 days no credit

For part-time you would

divide the hours worked per

27 to 44 days 0.2 year day by 6 (full-time

4510 62 days 0.3 year equivalent) and multiply by
the days worked (to a

631080 days 0.4 year maximum of 172). For

81to 99 days 0.5 year example, an employee

working 4.5 hours per day

would get 4.5/6 x 172 = 129

118 to 135 days = 0.7 year days or 0.7 year of service.

136 to 153 days = 0.8 year
154 to 171 days = 0.9 year
172 days or more = 1.0 year

9 to 26 days 0.1 year

100 to 117 days = 0.6 year
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Standard Option

« Under the standard option the contribution rate is
6.75%. The member earns 1/365th of a year of
service for each day of active employment. This
includes weekends (regular days off) and holidays,
as long as they were in pay status the day before
and the day after the weekend or holiday.

» Cumulative periods of leave without pay exceeding
10 days will be considered an interruption of
employment and service credit will not be granted.

Average Monthly Salary

« All leave without pay must be reported to PERS
even if the member elected the Alternate Option.
This includes summer breaks, scattered leave
without pay and also spring or winter breaks (if
without pay).

« Alternate option only applies to how service is
calculated. The average monthly salary is still
calculated under normal PERS provisions.




