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The information in 
this brochure is not 
intended to replace 
the Alaska Statutes 
or the Alaska Ad-
ministrative Code.  
Language in the 
Alaska Statutes 
and the Alaska 
Administrative Code 
governs the plans.

Refunding Your 
Retirement 

Contributions
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Understanding what 
happens when you 

take a refund

4 doa.alaska.gov/drb
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What Tier am I?
Members who first entered a 
PERS position and were making 
contributions:

➢     Before 7/1/86—Tier I.

➢     On or after 7/1/1986, but before 
7/1/1996—Tier II.

➢     On or after July 1, 1996, but before 
7/1/2006—Tier III.

Members who first entered a 
TRS position and were making 
contributions:

➢     Before 7/1/90—Tier I.

➢     On or after 7/1/1990, but before 
7/1/2006—Tier II.

This brochure only applies to PERS 
Tiers I, II, and III, and TRS Tiers I and 
II.  If you entered a PERS position on or 
after 7/1/2006 or received a full refund 
on or after July 1, 2010, refer to a PERS 
Tier IV Defined Contribution Retirement 
Plan brochure.  If you entered a TRS 
position on or after 7/1/2006, or 
received a full refund on or after July 
1, 2010, refer to a TRS Tier III Defined 
Contribution Retirement Plan brochure.

TRS Tier I and II
PERS Tier I, II, and III
Defined Benefit Retirement SystemAfter you receive a refund, if you were reemployed in a PERS 

or TRS position before July 1, 2010, you must pay back your 
refund plus interest, and you may become eligible for retire-
ment benefits under the PERS or TRS Defined Benefit Plans.

Interest and Your Refund

For PERS refunds issued before July 1, 1977, interest accrues 
at a rate of 7 percent from the first of the month following the 
date of your return to PERS employment.

For TRS refunds issued before July 1, 1977, interest accrues at 
a rate of 7 percent beginning July 1 following the date of your 
return to TRS employment.

For both PERS and TRS refunds issued July 1, 1977 and after, 
interest will accrue at a rate of 7 percent beginning the date of 
the refund.

IMPORTANT NOTICE

Remember, if you receive a refund and are no longer vested, 
you will not be eligible for a retirement benefit when you 
reach retirement age. You will forfeit your tier status and if 
reemployed in a PERS or TRS position you will be under the 
PERS Tier IV or TRS Tier III Defined Contribution Retire-
ment Plan. 

For questions on refunds, please contact the Division’s 
Retirement Customer Service Center or email them at doa.
drb.rcsc@alaska.gov

Division employees do not give tax advice. You may want to 
contact the Internal Revenue Service or a tax expert about the 
effects of a refund of contributions. 

For more information read the following publications:

•	 Taxes and Your Benefits

•	 TRS Information Handbook

•	 PERS Information Handbook

•	 Refund Election form  (GEN008)
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What you should know before you take a refund 

When you leave employment, you may 
ask for a refund of your employee 
contributions. If you choose  to refund, 
you will forfeit your tier status and you 
will no longer have benefits when you 
reach retirement age. This includes pen-
sion benefits and medical coverage. 

When you end employment, you may 
request a refund by filling out the Refund 
Election form (GEN008) available on the Di-
vision of Retirement and Benefits website.

If you are married and your account bal-
ance is more than $5,000, you must have 
your spouse fill out section C of the form. 
Their signature must be witnessed by a DRB 
representative, postmaster, or notary. If you 
are divorced, the Division must have proof 
that your ex-spouse doesn’t have a right to 
part of your retirement account. Send court- 
certified copies of the divorce decree and 
property settlement to the Division, if you 
have not already done so.

If the court has assigned a portion of your 
future monthly benefit to your former 
spouse by a Qualified Domestic Rela-
tions Order (QDRO), the QDRO must be 
amended to allow for a lump sum payment. 
Contact the Division for more information.

You will be eligible for your refund payment when you 
have ended your employment for at least 60 days or 30 
days after the Refund Election form has been received, 
whichever is later.

You may only refund your employee contributions. This 
includes:

•	 required contributions from your paycheck

•	 indebtedness payments (if any were made)

•	 mandatory interest earned  

A refund will not include any contributions made by your 
employer to the retirement system or any income earned 
on employer contributions.

Two Forms of Payment
There are two ways to receive a refund payment; a one- 
time payment or a direct rollover. You may rollover your 
refund only into a qualifying plan. Please read the refund 
election form instructions about your choices for pay-
ment or rollover. You may want to speak to a tax advisor 
before making a decision. The Division of Retirement and 
Benefits does not give tax advice.

Taxes and Your Refund
If your contributions have already been taxed, no more 
taxes or penalties will be taken from them. This includes 
indebtedness payments you may have made with after-
tax dollars. 

Your contributions which have already had taxes paid on 
them may not be rolled over into an Individual Retire-
ment Arrangement (IRA).

The federal government may charge a penalty 
when untaxed PERS and TRS contributions and 
interest are refunded in one lump-sum before 
age 59‑1/2.

The PERS and TRS must withhold 20 percent 
federal income tax on all untaxed, lump-sum 
accounts directly refunded to members. The 
20 percent tax does NOT apply to PERS or TRS 
refunds that are rolled DIRECTLY into an IRA, or 
other qualified plans.

The following have NOT been taxed at the time of  
contribution:

•	 PERS Members—Mandatory employee con-
tributions made after December 31, 1986; 
and all interest earned on those employee 
contribution accounts.

•	 TRS Members—Mandatory employee con-
tributions made after December 31, 1990; 
and all interest earned on those employee 
contribution accounts. 

Please direct your questions about taxes 
to the IRS or a tax expert. The Division of 
Retirement and Benefits cannot give tax 
advice.


