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AlaskaCare Employee Health Plan

Employee Health Coverage 
Continuation (COBRA)

If you or your dependents are disabled within 60 days of the initial 
qualifying event for continuation coverage due to termination of 
employment, lay off, or leave without pay, you may continue coverage 
for you and your dependents up to an additional 11 months. To elect 
this additional coverage, you must notify the Division of your status 
before the end of your 18-month coverage period and within 60 days 
of your Social Security disability determination. The premium may 
increase for the additional 11 months of coverage. Coverage may be 
terminated if Social Security determines you are no longer disabled. In 
this case, you must notify the Division within 30 days of the final 
Social Security determination.

Premiums
If you, your spouse, or dependents elect COBRA continuation 
coverage, the full premium cost of coverage must be paid each month. 
The claims administrator will bill you for the premium due. You have 
45 days from the date you elect coverage to pay the initial required 
premium. Premiums are due retroactive to the date your coverage 
would have ended. Premiums are due monthly. The current premium 
rate is available from the Division or its Web site at AlaskaCare.gov.

When Continuation Ends
Your COBRA continuation coverage ends:

•	 When the required premium is not paid on time;

•	 When the person continuing coverage becomes covered under 
another group health plan unless that plan contains any exclusion 
or limitation which relates to a pre-existing condition of the person;

•	 When the person continuing coverage first becomes entitled to 
Medicare benefits; 

•	 When the State ceases to maintain any group health plan; or

•	 If you are disabled under the Social Security Act and have 
continued coverage for 18 months AND you are determined to be 
no longer disabled by Social Security.

For more information contact the Division at (907) 465-4460 or email 
doa.drb.mscc@alaska.gov. 

Reminder: Your premiums can be deducted directly from your bank 
account. If you are interested in this option, please use the Automatic 
Funds Transfer Authorization form.

You and/or your dependents will lose coverage if one of the situations in 
Section 1.9 of the Select Benefits Insurance booklet, When Coverage Ends, 
occurs.  You and/or your dependents may continue coverage under the 
Select Benefits Plan by electing coverage under COBRA (short for the 
Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985), and paying 
the required premium, except if you lost coverage under the Select 
Benefits Plan because you did not timely pay the requirement premium.   

Electing COBRA Coverage
If your employment terminates, you have a leave without pay, you are 
laid off, or you die, the claims administrator will notify you or your 
family of the right to COBRA continued coverage and provide you with 
the necessary forms and information within 44 days of the occurrence 
of the qualifying event.  If you are divorced or your child loses 
coverage, you or your family must notify the Division within 60 days of 
the qualifying event and the claims administrator will notify you and 
your family of the right to COBRA continued coverage and provide you 
with the necessary forms and information within 14 days thereafter.

You have 60 days from the date of the qualifying event or the date you 
are notified of your right to continue coverage, whichever is later, to 
elect coverage.

Continued Coverage
The coverage that may be continued may be the same or less than the 
level of coverage that you or your dependents had at the time coverage 
terminated. For example, if you are covered by the Standard medical 
plan when your coverage terminates, you may elect to continue either 
Standard or Economy medical, but may not elect Premium medical. 
You may elect medical only or include dental and vision coverage with 
the medical. You may not elect dental or vision coverage without 
medical coverage. You may change your elections during the next open 
enrollment under the Select Benefits plan.

Continuation Period
If you lose coverage because you have begun leave without pay, been 
laid off, or terminate your employment (for other than gross 
misconduct), you may continue coverage for up to 18 months. If your 
dependents have more than one qualifying event, they may be eligible 
for an additional period of coverage but the combined periods cannot 
exceed 36 months.

If your dependents lose coverage due to divorce, your death or they no 
longer meet the eligibility criteria, they may continue coverage for up 
to 36 months.

July 2013

Alaska Division of Retirement and Benefits

6th Floor, State Office Building  |  333 Willoughby Ave. |  P.O. Box 110203  |  Juneau, AK 99811-0203

Member Services Contact Center
Hours: 10 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

Toll-Free: (800) 821-2251  |  In Juneau: (907) 465-4460  |  Fax: (907) 465-4668  |  TDD: (907) 465-2805 
doa.drb.mscc@alaska.gov

The information in this brochure is not intended to replace the Alaska Statutes, the Alaska Administrative Code, or the plan documents.   
Language contained in Alaska Statutes, the Alaska Administrative Code, and the plan documents governs the plans.
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