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Retiree Health Coverage  
Continuation Information

Continued Coverage
Medical Coverage

•	May select the same or lesser level of coverage as 
in effect at termination

Dental, Vision, and Audio (DVA) Coverage

•	Optional 

•	May only select the same or lesser level of 
coverage as in effect at termination

•	May be elected without medical coverage

Long-Term Care (LTC) Coverage

•	Optional 

•	May only select the same or lesser LTC option as 
in effect at termination

•	Bronze Option is available only to those enrolled 
at termination

•	May be elected without medical coverage

Continuation Period
Coverage may be continued for up to:

•	18 months for retiree or dependents from the date 
the retiree becomes ineligible for retirement 
benefits

•	36 months for divorced spouse or children who 
lose eligibility

•	LTC may be continued as long as you pay the 
required premium

How to Enroll
Must enroll within 60 days of:

•	The date notified of right to elect coverage

Forms to enroll will be mailed to you directly from 
the Claims Administrator once notification of 
termination is received and reported by the Division.

Introduction
The federal COBRA law ensures that you and your 
dependents have the opportunity to continue health 
coverage in certain circumstances where it would 
normally terminate. 

Qualifying Events
Certain events provide the opportunity to continue 
health coverage. They are:

Events for the Retiree

•	You cease to be eligible for a benefit from any 
retirement system

Events for the Dependent

•	Death of retiree

•	Retiree and spouse divorce

•	Retiree’s child is no longer eligible under the terms 
of the plan

You, your spouse, or child must notify the Division 
in writing within 60 days of a qualifying family event 
such as divorce or loss of dependent status.
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The information in this brochure is not intended to replace the Alaska Statutes, the Alaska Administrative Code, or the plan documents.   
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Premiums
•	Paid monthly

•	Paid retroactive to the date coverage ended. No 
partial month payments. 

•	First premium due within 45 days of date you 
elect coverage

•	Due on the first of the month for which coverage 
is provided. For example, October 1 for October 
coverage.

•	May elect direct withdrawal from bank account

When Continuation Ends
Coverage ends at the earliest time one of the 
following occurs:

•	Maximum continuation period is reached

•	Premiums are not paid

•	Coverage starts under another plan that does not 
limit pre-existing conditions

•	Coverage is terminated for the entire group of 
members

•	Social Security disability ends

For more information on these benefits, contact the 
Benefits Section at (907) 465-4460 or by email at 
doa.drb.benefits@alaska.gov.

Examples
The following are examples of when you may elect 
coverage and how long coverage may be continued.

ben047

Electing coverage due to a divorce  
(No QDRO in effect)
Effective date of the divorce was October 15. 
Coverage ends October 15. You may elect 
coverage any time prior to December 13 (60 
days). Premiums are due retroactive to October 
1.

Electing coverage for a child who is no 
longer an eligible dependent
A child is no longer an eligible dependent, i.e., 
turns 23, marries, or is no longer dependent 
upon you for support, effective September 15. 
Coverage ends September 30. He/she may elect 
coverage any time prior to November 28. 
Premiums are due retroactive to October 1.

Long-Term Care
LTC coverage may be continued as long as you 
pay the required premium.


