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replace the complete 
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Language contained 
in the booklets 
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This information is intended 
as a summary of the benefits 
provided. For complete 
information, please refer 
to your AlaskaCare Health 
Plan information booklet 
or our web site. If you have 
questions, please contact 
the Benefits Section at 
(907) 465-8600 or email 
doa.drb.benefits@alaska.gov.

COB Examples
Standard Coordination	 Primary	 Secondary 

Covered Expenses		  $1,000		  $1,000
Plan Coinsurance	 x	 80%	 x	 80%
Payment without coordination	 =	     800	 =	     800

Payment with coordination	 =	 $   800	 =	 $   200

Total payment with coordination $1,000	 Amount owed by member $0

30% Coordination	 Primary	 Secondary 

Covered Expenses		  $1,000		  $1,000
Plan Coinsurance	 x	 20%	 x	 30%
Payment without coordination	 =	     200	 =	     300

Payment with coordination	 =	 $   200	 =	 $   300

Total payment with coordination $500	 Amount owed by member $500

30% Coordination	 Primary	 Secondary 

Covered Expenses		  $1,000		  $1,000
Plan Coinsurance	 x	 0%	 x	 30%
Payment without coordination	 =	          0	 =	      300

Payment with coordination	 =	 $       0	 =	 $   300

Total payment with coordination $300	 Amount owed by member $700
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What is Coordination of Benefits?
Coordination of benefits (COB) is the 
process used to determine who pays 
any claim first when you or any of 
your dependents have more than one 
health plan. Most, but not all, plans 
include COB provisions that allow 
you to receive up to 100% of covered 
expenses. However, plans do not pay 
for services and costs they would not 
have covered if you had only one plan. 

Who Decides the Rules?
COB rules are set by the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners 
(NAIC) with the exception of coordination 
with Medicare and Medicaid which are 
set by federal and state law. Most plans 
follow the NAIC rules but there is no 
requirement they do so. The AlaskaCare 
health plans follow standard NAIC 
rules to ensure ease of coordination 
with other plans.  

Who Pays First?
A plan without COB provisions is 
always the primary plan. If all plans 
have a COB provision, they follow the 
rules below in order. The first rule that 
applies to your situation is the rule used. 

You and Your Spouse
❀	 The plan you receive as an 

employee pays first, before a plan 
that covers you as a dependent. 

	 Example – Your plan pays first for you 
and your spouse’s pays second. 

❀	 Any plan you receive because you are on 
layoff or are a retiree will pay secondary to a 
plan you receive as an active employee. 

	 Example – If you are retired and also working, your 
active employee plan pays first, then your retiree plan.  
If your spouse is covered only by your plans as your 
dependent, the same order is used. If your spouse 
has his/her own plan, it pays first, then your active 
employee plan, and finally your retiree plan. 

❀	 Any plan you or your spouse receive as an 
employee is primary to Medicare. 

	 Example – If you are working and have Medicare, 
your employee plan pays first, Medicare second. 
If you are also retired, your employee plan pays 
first, then Medicare, then the retiree plan. If you 
are working and your spouse has Medicare, your 
employee plan pays first, then Medicare, for your 
spouse's claims. 

Children
If the parents are married to each other, the plans 
follow the “birthday rule.” 

❀	 If a child is covered under both parents’ 
plans, the plan of the parent whose birthday 
falls earlier in the year is the primary plan. 
If both parents have the same birthday, the 
plan that has covered a parent longer is the 
primary plan. 

	 Example – Your birthday is January 10, your spouse 
is July 15. Your plan pays first for any children. If 
you have the same birthday, and you’ve been covered 
longer than your spouse has, your plan pays first. 

If the other plan does not have this birthday rule, 
the other plan’s rule is used to decide which plan 
is primary. 

If you are separated or divorced, the plans pay in 
the following order:

➊	 The plan of the parent whom the court has 
established as financially responsible for 
the child’s health care pays first. The claims 
administrator must be informed of the court 
decree.  

➋	 The plan of the parent with custody of the 
child pays second. 

➌	 The plan of the spouse of the parent with 
custody of the child pays third.  

➍	 The plan of the parent who does not have 
custody of the child.  

	 Example – If all the people listed above have coverage, 
the divorce decree may state who pays first. After that, 
it’s the custodial parent, the custodial stepparent, and 
the noncustodial parent, in that order.  

What if none of the rules describe my situation?
If none of the above rules apply, the plan that has 
covered the patient longer is primary.

	 Example – If you’ve been covered for 20 years under 
the AlaskaCare employee health plan and you take a 
second job that provides health insurance, AlaskaCare 
would pay first. 

How does the plan know to coordinate?
You must notify the Wells Fargo Insurance 
Services office when you or any of your 
dependents are covered by another group health 
plan. You can find a form on our website or in 
your welcome pack to do this; you also put this 
information on any claim forms you submit. The 
information you provide on the form will allow 
Wells Fargo Insurance Services to decide who 
should pay first based on the above rules. If you 
lose coverage under your other plan, you must 

notify Wells Fargo Insurance Services so they 
can change your account. 

How does it work?
You or your doctor file claims to the plan that 
should pay first. When that plan pays, it will 
send you an explanation of benefits showing 
what was paid. If your doctor filed the claim, 
an explanation will be sent to them also. You 
send a copy of the explanation with the claim to 
your secondary plan so they can see what was 
paid on the claim by your primary plan and can 
coordinate benefits.    

Coordination between state employee 
health plans
The AlaskaCare Employee Health Plan will only pay 
30% of covered charges for your dependents if 
your spouse or children are covered by a state 
employee health trust and that coverage:

❀	 has been waived, 
❀	 pays less than 70% of covered expenses, or
❀	 has an individual out-of-pocket maximum, 

including deductible, of more than $3,500.

This applies to any dependent covered by the 
AlaskaCare Employee Health Plan as the secondary 
plan under the standard COB rules and where 
the trust plan would normally pay first if you 
hadn’t reduced or waived coverage. When your 
spouse or the parent of any of your children 
selects coverage under a state employee health 
trust, they must ensure they are electing a plan 
that covers at least themselves and any depen-
dents for which they have primary responsibility 
and provides full family coverage. Failure to do 
so will result in less coverage for your dependents 
in the coming year.
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