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Membership
Who is a Member of the PERS DB Plan?
Membership begins when you are employed by a PERS employer in 
a qualified position, are receiving PERS-eligible compensation, and 
are eligible to make PERS contributions. Individuals who first entered 
the PERS before July 1, 2006, are members of this plan.  Members 
who first entered on or after July 1, 2006, are members of the Defined 
Contribution Plan. 

The following individuals are covered under the PERS and earn 
membership service in the PERS:

♦	 Permanent full-time or part-time employees of the State of 
Alaska; and

♦	 Permanent full-time or part-time employees of participating 
political subdivisions or public organizations, unless specific 
employee or job classifications are excluded by Alaska Statutes 
or participation agreements.

A permanent full-time employee is one who is occupying a permanent 
position that regularly requires working 30 or more hours a week. A 
permanent part-time employee is one who is occupying a permanent 
position that regularly requires working at least 15 hours but less than 
30 hours a week.

Elected Officials
Elected officials who are compensated at the rate of at least $2,001 
per month for their services may be covered by the PERS DB Plan if 
the political subdivision has agreed to include elected officials. An 
elected official can waive their participation in the PERS by filing a 
written waiver of coverage, PERS Elected Official Participation/Waiver (form 
02-1832). An elected official who has waived coverage can choose to 
have future service covered by revoking the waiver.
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WARNING
An elected official cannot receive credited service while the 
waiver is in effect.

Special Provision for Elected Public Officials
Retired Teachers’ Retirement System (TRS DB Plan) members may 
receive PERS DB retirement benefits for their elected public official 
service with municipalities and political subdivisions.

Employers Participating in the PERS DB Plan
The list of PERS employers, including municipalities and political 
subdivisions, is found in the Appendix.

Employees Not Covered Under the PERS DB Plan
These employees are not members of the PERS:

♦	 Temporary (nonpermanent) employees. Employees may be able 
to claim their temporary service for additional credit when they 
become vested;

♦	 Employees who work less than 15 hours per week; 
♦	 Employees who participate in the University of Alaska’s Optional 

Retirement Plan (ORP); 
♦	 Individuals who first entered PERS on or after July 1, 2006; 
♦	 Former members who have not reinstated their PERS DB plan 

service before July 1, 2010; or
♦	 Employees excluded from the employer’s participation 

agreement. 

Membership Tiers
Members who first entered the PERS:

♦	 Before July 1, 1986, are in Tier I;
♦	 On or after July 1, 1986, but before July 1, 1996, are in Tier II;
♦	 On or after July 1, 1996, are in Tier III;
♦	 On or after July 1, 2006, are members of the PERS DCR Plans.
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Simultaneous PERS and TRS Credit
If you are a member of the PERS DB Plan and the TRS DB Plan at the 
same time, you may receive partial credit under both systems. To be 
eligible, you must be employed at least half‑time in both the PERS 
DB and the TRS DB concurrently and you must make the required 
contributions.

The total PERS DB and TRS DB credit that you may earn during a 
school year (July 1 through June 30 of the following year) may not 
exceed one year.

Contributions
Most PERS DB Plan employees contribute 6.75% of their gross PERS 
eligible salary to PERS. If you are a peace officer or fire fighter, then 
you contribute 7.5% of your gross salary. If you are a noncertificated 
school district employee, you work less than 12 months a year, and 
you’ve selected the alternate service option, you contribute 9.6%.

The contributions you make to the PERS DB Plan are deducted 
from your gross salary and sent to the PERS at the end of each pay 
period. You earn 4.5% interest a year, compounded semi-annually, on 
your employee contribution account. This interest is posted to your 
account on June 30 and on December 31 of each year.

PERS DB Plan employee mandatory contributions are pretax 
deductions from your salary.

Your employer contributes a percentage of your salary each pay 
period. This amount may change each year based on actuarial 
funding requirements. The employer contributions are not part of 
the employee contribution account.

NOTE
When you retire from the PERS DB Plan, your pension benefit is 
not based on your contributions. Your pension is calculated by 
a formula using your average salary and years of service.
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Voluntary Savings Plan
The Voluntary Savings Plan, also known as the Employee’s Savings 
Account, is an account funded solely by your post-tax, voluntary 
contributions.  Contributions made to the Voluntary Saving Plan are 
separate and completely independent of the mandatory contributions 
that you are required to make to the PERS.

Any active PERS Tier I, II, or III employee making mandatory 
contributions to the PERS is eligible to enroll in the Voluntary 
Savings Plan.  

Enrollment into the plan can occur at any time and will take effect the 
first of the month following receipt of your enrollment form.  You are 
eligible to contribute a minimum of $5.00 and up to a maximum of 5% 
of your eligible gross salary to the plan.  Your voluntary contributions 
earn 4.5% interest annually.  When you are eligible to withdraw the 
account after retirement or termination, you may take your withdrawal 
in the form of a lump sum payment, life annuity or in installments 
over a designated period of time.

Generally, there is a 60-day waiting period after retirement or 
termination from employment before payment from the savings plan 
can be made.  Exceptions can be made for hardship.

For more information, please see the brochure “Voluntary Savings 
Plan” available from the division or from the division’s Internet site at 
www.state.ak.us/drb/publications.

Refunds
Voluntary PERS Refunds
If you terminate employment, you may request a refund of your 
employee contribution account by completing the Refund Election 
form (GEN008).

Terminated members who are married may not receive a refund of 
their employee contribution account unless their spouse gives written 
consent or the requirement for spousal consent is waived by the PERS 
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DB Plan administrator. Terminated members who are divorced may 
not receive a refund of their employee contribution account unless 
they can show that their former spouse was not granted an entitlement 
to the account. 

If a qualified domestic relations order (QDRO) has been filed 
awarding the former spouse a monthly benefit, the court would 
have to amend the QDRO to allow for a refund of the employee 
contribution account as a lump-sum pay out. See Rights of Spouses 
and Dependents for the special rules affecting refunds in these 
circumstances.

You may only refund your employee contribution account which 
includes:

♦	 Your mandatory contributions;
♦	 Any indebtedness principal and interest payments; and
♦	 Interest earned.

PERS DB Plan members must be terminated from employment for at 
least 60 days before a refund will be issued.

A refund of contributions does not include the employer contribu-
tions that have been made or the investment income earned.

WARNING 
If you refund, you forfeit all your retirement benefits, including 
future pension and medical coverage. You will not be eligible 
for PERS DB Plan benefits unless you return to PERS or TRS 
employment and reinstate the refunded service before July 1, 
2010.

Involuntary PERS Refunds
PERS DB Plan employee contribution accounts are not subject to 
execution, garnishment, or other claims by creditors, except under 
certain circumstances and then only when a member has terminated 
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PERS employment. Contributions cannot be garnished while you are 
an active member. Employee contribution accounts for terminated 
members may be garnished to satisfy claims for:

♦	 Child support;
♦	 State, local, or federal taxes;
♦	 Unpaid earnings of up to one month’s compensation or the 

full-time equivalent for the personal services of an individual who 
is employed by a PERS member; or

♦	 Other reasons established under AS 09.38.065.

If a portion of your account is garnished, the balance will be refunded 
to you. It is important to keep your mailing address current in order to 
receive refund checks.

If your account is garnished, you may reinstate your refunded service 
by paying back the total refund plus interest. You do not have to be 
reemployed in the PERS to reinstate service if your account is invol-
untarily refunded.

WARNING
Unless the PERS receives a termination of garnishment, any 
payment you make to reinstate your service will be forwarded to 
the appropriate agency or person.

Time Limit for Refund or Benefit
Inactive (terminated) PERS DB Plan members forfeit their contribu-
tions and rights to PERS benefits if they do not apply for a refund or a 
benefit by one of the following:

♦	 Before July 1 following their 75th birthday; or
♦	 Within 50 years of the last date that they were active members.

Tax Considerations
If you made contributions to the PERS DB Plan prior to January 1, 
1987, those contributions have already been taxed and will not be 
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subject to further taxes or early withdrawal penalties. Any indebted-
ness payments you may have made with after-tax dollars are also not 
subject to further taxes or penalties upon withdrawal from the PERS. 
Any taxed contributions are not eligible to be rolled over into an 
Individual Retirement Arrangement (IRA) or other tax qualified plans.

The federal government may impose a penalty when untaxed PERS 
contributions and interest are withdrawn in a lump sum before 
age 59‑1/2.

The PERS is required to withhold 20% federal income tax on all 
untaxed, lump-sum PERS accounts directly refunded to the member. 
The 20% withholding does NOT apply to PERS refunds that are rolled 
DIRECTLY through a plan-to-plan transfer into an IRA, other qualified 
plan, or a fixed period certain annuity under qualified conditions.

Division employees do not give tax advice. You are encouraged to 
obtain advice from the Internal Revenue Service or a tax expert on 
how a refund of contributions would affect you. You may wish to 
contact the PERS for other important information that may affect 
your lump-sum distribution.

Annual Statement
Every year you will receive an Annual Statement of Account for the 
prior year. The statement you receive in the fall of 2008 for example, 
is for the period July 1, 2007, through June 30, 2008.

Your PERS DB Plan statement provides you with information regard-
ing your mandatory contributions, interest earned, indebtedness 
principal, and indebtedness interest paid. The Statement of Credited 
Service shows your employer, occupation, status, begin date, end 
date, total years of service (both credited and claimed), and your 
personal information. The years of service and account balance reflect 
what has been reported to the PERS by your employer. Contact your 
employer if you believe there is a discrepancy on your Annual State-
ment. Your statement also includes general estimates of benefits you 
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may be eligible for in the future.  These estimates are designed to 
provide you with an idea of the value of your PERS DB Plan benefit 
and are not a promise of benefits to be paid. 

WARNING
It is the member’s responsibility to check their annual statement 
for accuracy.

Beneficiary Designation
Your Beneficiary Designation is IMPORTANT!
Any benefits payable upon your death will be paid to your primary 
beneficiary or, if that person is deceased, benefits will be paid to your 
contingent beneficiary.

If you are married at the time of your death and you were married to 
the same person during part of your PERS employment, your spouse 
is automatically the primary designated beneficiary. If you wish to 
elect another person as your primary beneficiary, your spouse must 
provide written consent on the Beneficiary Designation for Active and 
Deferred Members (form 02‑822) or Retiree Beneficiary Designation (form 
02‑822a). Consent is not required if you were married for less than 
two years and you and your spouse were not living together when the 
designation was changed.

If a member designates a spouse as a beneficiary and is subsequently 
divorced or a dissolution or legal annulment of the marriage is 
granted, the beneficiary designation is void and the former spouse is 
no longer the beneficiary.  If after the divorce, dissolution, or annul-
ment, the member wishes to name the former spouse as a beneficiary, 
a new beneficiary form must be completed and submitted.

If you have been divorced and a former spouse is entitled to benefits 
under the terms of a QDRO, that person would be eligible to receive 
whatever portion of the benefit the court has ordered. The QDRO 
must be filed with the court and accepted by the PERS as a qualified 
order before it becomes effective. In the event of a QDRO, benefits 
that would normally be paid to other beneficiaries would be affected.
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Please review Divorce, Taxes, and Other Legal Issues  and Death Benefits 
before completing your beneficiary designation.

WARNING 
Payment of PERS death benefits is based on the last designa-
tion received by the PERS. An up-to-date beneficiary form must 
be on file with the PERS Administrator.

If no beneficiary is designated, or the beneficiary is deceased, the 
benefits will be paid:

♦	 To the surviving spouse or, if there is none;
♦	 In equal parts to the surviving children or, if there are none;
♦	 In equal parts to the surviving parents or, if there are none;
♦	 To the member’s estate.

Designating a Minor Child
If you are a single parent, there are nonoccupational and occupational 
death benefits that may be payable to your children if you die before 
retirement. However, these benefits are only payable to your 
children if they are your designated beneficiaries.

When a minor child is designated as the beneficiary, the death benefit 
will be paid to the child’s parent or legal guardian (the PERS cannot 
pay benefits directly to a minor). If you do not want the child’s benefit 
to be paid to that person, have your attorney set up a trust and des-
ignate the trust as the beneficiary. Be sure to include the name of the 
trustee on the beneficiary form.

WARNING
You should NOT designate another person as beneficiary to 
receive your child’s benefit.

Changing Your Beneficiary Designation
You should review your beneficiary designation when you marry, 
divorce, your spouse dies, or your beneficiary’s address changes. To 
change your designation, you must send the PERS a new Beneficiary 
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form. Forms are available from the Division website at www.state.
ak.us/drb, from your human resources, personnel or payroll office, or 
from the Division.


