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Toll-Free: (800) 821-2251  |  In Juneau: (907) 465-4460  |  Fax: (907) 465-3086  |  TDD: (907) 465-2805 
Alaska.gov/drb  |  doa.drb.mscc@alaska.gov

The information in this brochure is not intended to replace the Alaska Statutes, the Alaska Administrative Code, or the plan documents.   
Language contained in Alaska Statutes, the Alaska Administrative Code, and the plan documents governs the plans.
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Understanding Leave of Absence and Furlough

pers052

A part-time member has their  
service calculated on actual 
hours in pay status; therefore 
any reduction in hours paid 
would reduce the service credit earned. 

Remember, any period of leave of absence without pay could adversely 
impact your average monthly salary calculation if it occurs in one of 
your high earnings years. 

Claiming Service From a Leave of Absence or Furlough
You are cannot claim service from a leave of absence or furlough unless the 
leave of absence without pay was because you were unable to work due to 
an on-the-job injury or occupational illness for which you were receiving 
benefits under the provisions of workers’ compensation, or if the leave of 
absence was due to a call to active duty service in the armed forces. 

Leave of Absence While Receiving Workers’ 
Compensation
If you did have a leave of absence that exceeded 10 days while you 
were receiving Workers’ Compensation benefits you may claim the 
service by completing a Workers’ Compensation and LWOP claim and 
Verification form available online at alaska.gov/drb, by calling the 
Member Services Contact Center at (907) 465-4460 M-F between 10 
a.m. and 3:30 p.m., or by email at doa.drb.mscc@alaska.gov. 

An indebtedness will be established for the contributions that you 
would have made had you remained an active employee during the 
period of leave of absence without pay for Workers’ Compensation, less 
an amount equal to contributions that would have been made for the 
first 10 days of leave of absence without pay. Interest will begin to 
accrue on the day you return to work or terminate employment. 

Leave of Absence For a Call to Active 
Duty
If you are voluntarily or involuntarily called to active 
duty in the armed forces of the United States while in 
the employ of the employer and return to work with 
the employer within 90 days after the date of 
discharge from the military service, you are not 
required to make retroactive contributions to receive 
credited service for the period of leave of absence. 
You must have been discharged in good standing in 
order to claim the service. To claim the service, please 
submit a written request, along with a copy of your 
discharge papers or a copy of the active duty orders 
showing the date of release, to the address below.

How Service Accrues
A PERS permanent full-time member (those who regularly work 30 or 
more hours per week) earns a day of service credit for each day they 
are actively employed in a PERS-covered position. This includes 
holidays or regularly scheduled days off (RDO), as long as they are in 
pay status the day before and the day after the holiday or RDO. 

A PERS part-time member (those who regularly work at least 15 hours 
per week but less than 30 hours per week) receives credit for the 
number of hours they work. A total of 1,560 hours must be earned to 
receive a year of service credit. However, service accrued for a stated 
period of part-time service may not exceed the full-time equivalent.

Working a Reduced Work Week
Whether you work a reduced work day or work fewer days in the week, 
if you are regularly scheduled to work 30 or more hours a week you 
will continue to accrue service as a full-time member. However, if you 
are in the defined benefit plan this reduction to your work week may 
have an impact on the Average Monthly Salary (AMS) used to calculate 
your retirement benefit. For Tiers I and II, and for peace officer/
firefighters the AMS is based on the three high consecutive salaries. For 
Tier III, the AMS is based on the high five consecutive salaries. (All tiers 
must work at least 115 days in the last year of employment for that 
year’s salary to be considered one of the high salaries.)

If you reduce your work schedule to regularly work less than 30 hours 
per week, you will be a part-time member and your service will be 
calculated accordingly. 

Taking a Leave of Absence or Furlough From Your 
Position
A leave of absence with pay authorized by your employer is not considered 
an interruption or break in service. If you are a 
permanent part-time employee, the credited service 
granted is proportionate to that which would have 
been earned as a permanent full-time employee. 

For a full-time member, a leave of absence without 
pay (LWOP) that does not exceed 10 accumulated 
days in any calendar year is not considered an 
interruption or break in service. However, if the 
leave of absence exceeds 10 accumulated days, 
whether taken consecutively or through intermittent 
hours scattered throughout the calendar year, your 
service credit for that year will be reduced by the 
equivalent number of days you were on leave of 
absence without pay. 

What Tier Am I?
Members who first entered a 
PERS position and were making 
contributions:

•	 Tier I — Before 7/1/86.

•	 Tier II — On or after 7/1/86, 
but before 7/1/96.

•	 Tier III — On or after 
7/1/96, but before 7/1/06.

The information included here 
only applies to Tiers I, II, and III.


