Along with a monthly pension, retirement benefits may include
medical coverage for retirees, disabled members, and survivors
who are receiving monthly TRS benefits and their spouse and eligible

dependent children. Coverage under the AlaskaCare Retiree Health
Plan differs from coverage you have with your current employer.

Medical Coverage at Retirement

The following benefit recipients, their spouse, and eligible dependent
children will be covered automatically by the AlaskaCare Retiree
Health Plan when they start receiving monthly benefits:

¢ All members regardless of date of entry if they are receiving TRS
disability benefits;

¢ Members who first entered the TRS before July 1, 1990 (Tier 1),
and their survivors; and

¢ Members who first entered the TRS on or after July 1, 1990
(Tier I1), and their survivors if they have at least 25 years of
paid-up membership service or are at least age 60.

According to Alaska Statutes 39.35.680(11) and 14.25.220(13), eligible
dependents are:

¢ Your dependent children age 18 and under.

¢ Your dependent children, under 23 years old, registered at and
attending on a full-time basis an accredited educational or tech-
nical institution recognized by the Department of Education and
Early Development.

¢ Your dependent children, 19 or older and not a full-time student,
only if he or she is totally and permanently disabled. Please con-
tact the Division for additional information about eligibility, and
for information about how to provide proof of your dependent's
disability.

¢ This coverage ends when the member or survivor dies or is no
longer eligible to receive monthly benefits.
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Members who do not qualify for system-paid health coverage may
purchase medical coverage for themselves, spouse, and eligible
dependent children and pay the monthly premium.

These members and their survivors have the option of selecting and
paying for medical coverage for:

¢ The benefit recipient only;
¢ The benefit recipient and spouse;
¢ The benefit recipient and eligible dependent children; or

¢ The benefit recipient and family, which includes spouse and any
eligible dependent children.

Premiums for the medical coverage will be deducted from the
monthly benefit payment. If the amount of the benefit is less than
the total of the premiums due, the benefit recipient must pay the
premiums directly to the claims administrator.

For more information including a current description of the benefits,
please refer to the AlaskaCare Retiree Insurance Information Booklet.

Optional Health and Life Plans
TRS benefit recipients may purchase additional coverage for:

¢ Dental-Vision-Audio coverage for self, spouse, and eligible
dependent children;

¢ Long-Term Care coverage for self and/or spouse; and

¢ State sponsored Optional Life Insurance
State of Alaska employees and those political subdivision
employees participating in the State of Alaska Optional Life
Insurance benefits may elect to continue this coverage while
retired.

Premiums for the optional plans on the previous page will be
deducted from the monthly benefit payment. If the amount of the
benefit is less than the total of the premiums due, the benefit
recipient must pay the premiums directly to the claims administrator.
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For more information regarding the optional health and life plans,
including enrollment restrictions, please refer to the AlaskaCare Retiree
Insurance Information Booklet.

Employer Sponsored Life Insurance

If you are participating in a group life insurance plan sponsored by
your employer you may be able to convert this coverage to a private
policy. Please contact your employer's personnel or human resources
office for more information.

Medicare and Your TRS Medical Coverage
There are four parts to Medicare health coverage. They are:

¢ PartA  Hospitalization or “inpatient expenses;”
¢ Part B Physician or “outpatient expenses;”

¢ PartC  Medicare Advantage (health plan approved by
Medicare like an HMO but run by a private company.
Contact Medicare for more information); and

¢ PartD  Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage. (We do not
address Medicare Part D in our publications because
the prescription drug benefits you have through
AlaskaCare are at least as good as the required
benefits offered under Medicare Part D.) If you do not
enroll in Part D, AlaskaCare Plan continues to be your
primary drug coverage.

Medicare Enrollment

Social Security will send you a letter approximately three months
before you turn age 65, telling you whether or not you are eligible for
Social Security and premium-free Medicare Part A. Contact Social
Security during this time if you think you should have received your
letter but have not. If you receive Social Security payments, Medicare
Part B premiums can be deducted from your check after you enroll.
Even if you aren't eligible for Social Security, you can still enroll in
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Medicare Part B during this three month window and arrange to pay
the premium directly to Medicare.

AlaskaCare Benefits Supplemental to Medicare

The benefits under AlaskaCare are supplemental to Medicare
beginning at age 65. For services covered by both plans, the claims
are paid first by Medicare and then by AlaskaCare-with AlaskaCare
coordinating to pay up to 100% of covered expenses, less any
deductible you have not yet met.

NOTE: If you are working and receive health insurance from
your employer, Medicare will tell you it is not necessary to
enroll until your active employee health insurance terminates.
However, the AlaskaCare Retiree Health Plan still recommends
that, in certain situations, you enroll at age 65, even if Medicare
does not. Please contact the Benefits Section for more
information (see page ____ for contact information).

Medicare Part A

Who is eligible?

Most people are eligible for premium-free Part A coverage. This
includes those who are eligible for a Social Security benefit. It also
includes those who paid the Medicare tax while employed.

A few people are not eligible for premium-free Part A because they
don't have enough Social Security or Medicare covered employment.
If you are not eligible for Part A, Social Security will send you a letter
confirming that. You must send a copy of that letter to the claims
administrator. AlaskaCare will then continue to pay for Part A services
just as it did before you turned age 65.

Medicare Part B

Who is eligible?

Everyone is eligible and must pay a premium for Part B coverage,
whether or not you are eligible for Part A.
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Failure to Enroll on Time

If you do not enroll in Medicare at age 65, AlaskaCare will estimate
what Medicare would have paid and deduct that amount before
paying medical expenses. You'll have a larger part of the bill to pay.
Remember: Everyone is eligible to enroll in Medicare Part B and
should do so at age 65 to avoid paying for uncovered expenses.

If you do not enroll in Medicare when you first become eligible you
have to wait until the next Medicare General Enrollment Period. If
that happens, there may be a period of time when most of your
medical expenses are not reimbursed by the AlaskaCare Retiree
Health Plan or Medicare.

For more information regarding Medicare benefits, please contact
your local Medicare office or visit the Medicare information site

on the Internet at www.medicare.gov. For more information on
coordination between Medicare and the AlaskaCare Retiree Health
Plan, please see our brochure Medicare Parts A & B and the AlaskaCare
Retiree Health Plan available on the Division of Retirement and Benefits
website at www.doa.alaska.gov/drb or by mail by request.
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