
STATE OF ALASKA

ALASKA OIL AND GAS CONSERVATION COMMISSION

333 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 100

Anchorage Alaska 99501 -3539

Re:    Regulatory Cost Charges for Fiscal Other No. 55

Year 2009. December 10, 2008

ORDER ESTABLISHING FISCAL YEAR 2009

REGULATORY COST CHARGES

IT APPEARING THAT:

1.   On October 7,  2008,  pursuant to 20 AAC 25.615,  the Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation

Commission (Commission) gave written notice of proposed fiscal year 2009 regulatory cost

charges under AS 31.05.093 to operators subject to those charges.

2.  Notice of a public hearing on the proposed fiscal year 2009 regulatory cost charges was

published in the Anchorage Daily News on August 26, 2008 and October 24, 2008.

3.   A public hearing was held at the Commission's offices on October 21,  2008 and December

10, 2008.

FINDINGS:

1.   The appropriation,  excluding federal receipts,  made for the operating costs of the

Commission for fiscal year 2009 is $5,104,400.

2.  The lapsed amount of the fiscal year 2008 appropriation that is included to reduce the

regulatory cost charges in the fiscal year 2009 appropriation under AS 31.05.093(d)  is

488,995.

3.   The amounts constituting VOp under 20 AAC 25.605(a) for the operators subject to a fiscal

year 2009 regulatory cost charge are as follows:

Aurora Gas, LLC 386,660 Bbl

BP Exploration (Alaska) Inc. 1,923,061,229 Bbl

ConocoPhillips Alaska Inc. 455,903,043 Bbl

Marathon Oil Company 10,605,592 Bbl
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North Slope Borough 222,236 Bbl

Pacific Energy Resources Ltd. 1,982,079 Bbl

Pioneer Natural Resources 5,534 Bbl

Teck Cominco Alaska 19 Bbl

UNOCAL 38,607,385 Bbl

XTO Energy, Inc. 3,648,012 Bbl

Total 2,351,826,853 Bbl

CONCLUSIONS:

1.   The Commission elects not to include in its calculation of fiscal year 2009 regulatory cost

charges an allowance to cover charges that the Commission may be unable to collect.

2.   Using the formula set out in 20 AAC 25.605, the fiscal year 2009 regulatory cost charges are

as follows:

Aurora Gas, LLC 733.07

BP Exploration (Alaska) Inc. 3,645,919.72

ConocoPhillips Alaska Inc. 864,343.72
Pacific Energy Resources Ltd. 3,757.81
Marathon Oil Company 20,107.08
North Slope Borough 421.34

Pioneer Natural Resources 10.49

Teck Cominco Alaska 04

Union Oil Company of California 73,195.50
XTO Energy, Inc. 6,916.24

Total 4,615,405.00

3.   The payment dates under 20 AAC 25.620(a) are December 31, 2008, February 28, 2009 and

April 1, 2009.

4.  If the regulatory cost charge is less than  $20.00,  the charge is waived:  the administrative

burden of processing such de mininis payments exceeds the value to the State of collecting
them.  This waiver is applicable to the current fiscal year and all subsequent fiscal years.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the operators listed in Conclusion 2 except for

the operators covered by Conclusion 4 shall pay their respective regulatory cost charges as

required by Conclusion 3.
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ENTERED at Anchorage, Alaska, and dated December 10, 2008.
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Daniel T. SeamoCint,  r., Chair
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Cathy P.   oerste Commissioner

Alaska it and Gas Conservation Commission

RECONSIDERATION AND APPEAL NOTICE

As provided in AS 31.05.080(a), within 20 days after written notice of the entry of this order or decision, or such further time as the Commission

grants for good cause shown, a person affected by it may file with the Commission an application for reconsideration of the matter determined

by it.  If the notice was mailed, then the period of time shall be 23 days.  An application for reconsideration must set out the respect in which the

order or decision is believed to be erroneous.

The Commission shall grant or refuse the application for reconsideration in whole or in part within 10 days after it is filed.  Failure to act on it

within 10 -days is a denial of reconsideration.  If the Commission denies reconsideration, upon denial, this order or decision and the denial of

reconsideration are FINAL and may be appealed to superior court.  The appeal MUST be filed within 33 days after the date on which the

Commission mails, OR 30 days if the Commission otherwise distributes, the order or decision denying reconsideration, UNLESS the denial is

by inaction, in which case the appeal MUST be filed within 40 days after the date on which the application for reconsideration was filed.

If the Commission grants an application for reconsideration, this order or decision does not become final.  Rather, the order or decision on

reconsideration will be the FINAL order or decision of the Commission, and it may be appealed to superior court.  That appeal MUST be filed

within 33 days after the date on which the Commission mails, OR 30 days if the Commission otherwise distributes, the order or decision on

reconsideration.  As provided in AS 31.05.080(6), "[the questions reviewed on appeal are limited to the questions presented to the Commission

by the application for reconsideration."

In computing a period of time above, the date of the event or default after which the designated period begins to run is not included in the

period; the last day of the period is included, unless it falls on a weekend or state holiday, in which event the period runs until 5:00 p.m. on the

next day that does not fall on a weekend or state holiday.


