
STATE OF ALASKA 
ALASKA OIL AND GAS CONSERVATION COMMISSION 

333 West 7th Avenue, Suite 100 
Anchorage Alaska 99501 

Re: In The Matter of Alyeska Pipeline Service ) Docket No. OTH-11-28 
Company Meter Prover Calibrations. ) 

) 
) June 20, 2011 

NOTICE AND ORDER 

Alyeska Pipeline Service Company (APSC), as operator of the TransAlaska Pipeline, notified the 
Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission (Commission) by correspondence dated June 17, 
2011 of its intention to proceed with calibrating the provers used for certification of custody 
transfer meters for Lisburne and Sadlerochit fields. 

Pursuant to 20 AAC 25.228(i), the Commission requires at least 24 hours advance notice so that 
a representative of the Commission can witness the operation. APSC has given the Commission 
prior notification of the planned prover calibrations and the Commission has advised ASPC of its 
intention to witness the calibration. However, Alyeska has further indicated that the 
Commission's inspector will be denied access unless the inspector actively participates m 
Alyeska' s energy isolation protocols. This prerequisite is unacceptable to the Commission. 

The Commission is unwilling to waive its presence at the prover calibrations. Should ASPC 
proceed with the calibrations without the presence of the Commission's inspector, the current 
certification of the calibration of the provers will be rendered invalid. Therefore, APSC is 
ORDERED not to proceed with the calibration of the provers used for certification or in any 
other way invalidate or tamper with the existing calibrations without the prior approval of the 
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Cathy P. F erster, Commissioner 
Alaska o· and Gas Conservation Commission 

Commission. Failure to comply with this order is a violation of law and subject to penalties as 
prescribed by law. See, AS 31.05 .150. 

DONE at Anchorage, Alaska and dated June 20, 2011. 

RECONSIDERATION AND APPEAL NOTICE 

As provided in AS 31.05.080(a), within 20 days after written notice of the entry of this order or decision, or such further time as 
the Commission grants for good cause shown, a person affected by it may file with the Commission an application for 
reconsideration of the matter determined by it. If the notice was mailed, then the period of time shall be 23 days. An application 
for reconsideration must set out the respect in which the order or decision is believed to be erroneous. 

The Commission shall grant or refuse the application for reconsideration in whole or in part within I 0 days after it is filed. Failure 
to act on it within I 0-days is a denial of reconsideration. If the Commission denies reconsideration, upon denial, this order or 
decision and the denial of reconsideration are FINAL and may be appealed to superior court. The appeal MUST be filed within 
33 days after the date on which the Commission mails, OR 30 days if the Commission otherwise distributes, the order or decision 
denying reconsideration, UNLESS the denial is by inaction, in which case the appeal MUST be filed within 40 days after the date 
on which the application for reconsideration was filed. 

If the Commission grants an application for reconsideration, this order or decision does not become final. Rather, the order or 
decision on reconsideration will be the FINAL order or decision of the Commission, and it may be appealed to superior court. 
That appeal MUST be filed within 33 days after the date on which the Commission mails, OR 30 days ifthe Commission 
otherwise distributes, the order or decision on reconsideration. As provided in AS 31.05.080(b), "[t]he questions reviewed on 
appeal are limited to the questions presented to the Commission by the application for reconsideration." 

In computing a period of time above, the date of the event or default after which the designated period begins to run is not included 
in the period; the last day of the period is included, unless it falls on a weekend or state holiday, in which event the period runs 
until 5:00p.m. on the next day that does not fall on a weekend or state holiday. 




