Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission

Welcome to the AOGCC

Who we are

The Commission is an independent, quasi-judicial agency of the State of Alaska. It is established under the Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Act (AS 31). Its regulatory authority is outlined in Title 20, Chapter 25 of the Administrative Code.

The Commission oversees oil and gas drilling, development and production, reservoir depletion and metering operations on all lands subject to the state's police powers.

The Commission acts to prevent waste, protect correlative rights, improve ultimate recovery and protect underground freshwater. It administers the Underground Injection Control (UIC) program for enhanced oil recovery and underground disposal of oil field waste in Alaska. It serves as an adjudicatory forum for resolving certain oil and gas disputes between owners, including the state. The Commission carries forth statutory mandates consistent with the protection of health, safety and the environment. It strives for cooperation with industry, while maintaining well-defined and essential regulatory requirements.

To protect the public interest in exploration and development of Alaska's valuable oil, gas, and geothermal resources through the application of conservation practices designed to ensure greater ultimate recovery and the protection of health, safety, fresh ground waters and the rights of all owners to recover their share of the resource.


  • Prevent waste of Alaska's oil and gas resources
  • Protect correlative rights of the mineral interest owner
  • Maximize recovery of oil and gas for the benefit of Alaska's citizens
  • Protect freshwater from contamination by oil/gas/mud during drilling, production, and abandonment operations
  • Administer Alaska's Underground Injection Control program for oil and gas wells
  • Inspect oil field drilling, production, metering, and abandonment activities
  • Evaluate, modify, and approve drilling and workover operations
  • Evaluate, modify, and approve oil pool development rules
  • Adjudicate disputes between owners
  • Maintain state production records
  • Maintain well history files and well records


  • Oil and gas industry
  • Concerned citizens and organizations
  • Alaska Department of Natural Resources
  • U.S. Department of the Interior
  • Alaska Department of Revenue
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

General questions and requests.
Questions and submissions regarding all field reporting.
Join Our Mailing List - If you or your organization would like to receive Public Hearing Announcements and Copies of AOGCC Orders, click here.

For immediate assistance in the event of a field emergency, please call: (907) 659-2714

The Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Act (1955) created the Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission (AOGCC or Commission). The Commission was composed of the Governor of the Territory of Alaska, the Territorial Commissioner of Mines, and the Territorial Highway Engineer. Rules and regulations governing Commission activities became effective on October 1, 1958.

Under the State Organization Act of 1959, the Oil and Gas Conservation Commission was abolished, its function and authority transferred to the Department of Natural Resources, Division of Mines and Minerals. A group within the department was designated to hold hearings and issue decisions on oil and gas matters. This group was the Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Committee which consisted of the Director of the Division of Mines and Minerals (Chairman), the State Petroleum Geologist, the State Petroleum Engineer, and the Deputy Commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources.

In 1968 the Division of Oil and Gas was created within the Department on Natural Resources. The new division arose from the Petroleum Branch of the Division of Mines and Minerals. The Alaska Oil and Gas Committee was placed within the new division, and consisted of the Director, Chief Petroleum Geologist, and Chief Petroleum Engineer. In 1976 the word "conservation" was added to the division's title, and it became the Division of Oil and Gas Conservation.

With the advent of production from Prudhoe Bay in 1977, the Legislature became concerned with the potential conflict between the state's revenue interest in high production rates on state leases and the state's conservation interest in protecting total ultimate recovery. To obviate its concern, the Legislature amended AS 31.05 by Chapter 158, SLA 1978 to create a new Commission, effective January 1, 1979, as an independent quasi-judicial agency within the executive branch of the state. Initially, the new Commission was housed within the Department of Natural Resources, but in 1980 it was transferred to the Department of Commerce and Economic Development. More recently, Governor Hickel transferred the Commission to the Department of Administration on February 17, 1994.

AOGCC 50th Anniversary 1958-2008

50th Anniversary Publication

Our Resources, Our Past, Our Future: AOGCC - 50 Years of Service to Alaska

  • Download a copy here - 7.72 MB

Petroleum Engineering Commissioners

  • Richard V. Murphy 1959 - 1962
  • K. Davison 1962 - 1963
  • Karl VonderAhe 1963 - 1968
  • O.K. “Easy” Gilbreth, Jr. 1968 - 1978
  • Hoyle H. Hamilton 1977 - 1981
  • C.V. “Chat” Chatterton 1982 - 1990
  • Russell A. Douglass 1990 - 1995
  • J. David Norton 1995 - 1996
  • Robert Christenson 1997 - 2000
  • Julie Heusser 2000 - 2002
  • Mike Bill 2002 - 2003
  • Randy Ruedrich 2003 - 2003
  • Cathy Foerster 2005 - 2019
  • Jessie Chmielowski 2019 - Present

Geologist Commissioners

  • Donald D. Bruce 1959 - 1962
  • Thomas R. Marshall, Jr. 1962 - 1978
  • Harry W. Kugler 1979 - 1986
  • William W. Barnwell 1986 - 1988
  • David W. Johnston 1989 - 2000
  • Daniel T. Seamount, Jr. 2000 - Present

Public Member Commissioners

  • Phil R. Holdsworth 1955 - 1963
  • James A. Williams 1959 - 1969
  • Charles F. Herbert 1964 - 1967, 1970 - 1973
  • Dale Wallington 1967 - 1969
  • Homer L. Burrell 1969 - 1973
  • Lonnie C. Smith 1979 - 1992
  • Leigh Griffin 1992 - 1993
  • Tuckerman Babcock 1993 - 1996
  • Mary Marshburn 1997 - 1997
  • Camille Oechsli Taylor 1997 - 2003
  • Sarah Palin 2003 - 2004
  • John K. Norman 2004 - 2014
  • David J. Mayberry 2014 - 2015
  • Mike Gallagher 2015 - 2015
  • Hollis French 2016 - 2019


Jessie Chmielowski
Dan Seamount


Jody Colombie
AOGCC Special Assistant
Samantha Carlisle
Executive Secretary
Phoebe Brooks
Statistical Technician
Hugh Winston
Statistical Technician
Tracie Paladijczuk
Administrative Officer
Angie Droese
Administrative Assistant
Abby Bell
Natural Resource Tech
Megan Mcphee
Office Assistant


Jim Regg
Senior Petroleum Engineer
Guy Schwartz
Senior Petroleum Engineer
Dave Roby
Senior Petroleum Engineer
Victoria Loepp
Senior Petroleum Engineer
Chris Wallace
Senior Petroleum Engineer
Mel Rixse
Senior Petroleum Engineer


Steve Davies
Senior Petroleum Geologist
David Boyer
Senior Petroleum Geologist
Meredith Guhl
Petroleum Geology Assistant


Bob Noble
Petroleum Inspector
Jeff Jones
Petroleum Inspector
Matt Herrera
Petroleum Inspector
Guy Cook
Petroleum Inspector
Brian Bixby
Petroleum Inspector
Lou Laubenstein
Petroleum Inspector
Adam Earl
Petroleum Inspector
Austin McLeod
Petroleum Inspector


Michael Kair
Analyst Programmer