Re:

STATE OF ALASKA
ALASKA OIL AND GAS CONSERVATION COMMISSION
333 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 100
Anchorage Alaska 99501-3539

Regulatory Cost Charges for Fiscal ) Other No. 55
Year 2009. ) December 10, 2008

ORDER ESTABLISHING FISCAL YEAR 2009
REGULATORY COST CHARGES

IT APPEARING THAT:

1.

On October 7, 2008, pursuant to 20 AAC 25.615, the Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation
Commission (Commission) gave written notice of proposed fiscal year 2009 regulatory cost
charges under AS 31.05.093 to operators subject to those charges.

. Notice of a public hearing on the proposed fiscal year 2009 regulatory cost charges was

published in the Anchorage Daily News on August 26, 2008 and October 24, 2008.

A public hearing was held at the Commission's offices on October 21, 2008 and December
10, 2008.

FINDINGS:

1.

The appropriation, excluding federal receipts, made for the operating costs of the
Commission for fiscal year 2009 is $5,104,400.

The lapsed amount of the fiscal year 2008 appropriation that is included to reduce the
regulatory cost charges in the fiscal year 2009 appropriation under AS 31.05.093(d) is
$488,995.

The amounts constituting Vop under 20 AAC 25.605(a) for the operators subject to a fiscal
year 2009 regulatory cost charge are as follows:

Aurora Gas, LLC 386,660 Bbl
BP Exploration (Alaska) Inc. 1,923,061,229 Bbl
ConocoPhillips Alaska Inc. 455,903,043 Bbl

Marathon Oil Company 10,605,592 Bbl
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North Slope Borough 222,236 Bbl
Pacific Energy Resources Ltd. 1,982,079 Bbl
Pioneer Natural Resources 5,534 Bbl
Teck Cominco Alaska 19 Bbl
UNOCAL 38,607,385 Bbl
XTO Energy, Inc. 3,648,012 Bbl
Total 2,351,826,853 BbI
CONCLUSIONS:

1. The Commission elects not to include in its calculation of fiscal year 2009 regulatory cost
charges an allowance to cover charges that the Commission may be unable to collect.

2. Using the formula set out in 20 AAC 25.605, the fiscal year 2009 regulatory cost charges are
as follows:

Aurora Gas, LLC $733.07
BP Exploration (Alaska) Inc. $3,645,919.72
ConocoPhillips Alaska Inc. $864,343.72
Pacific Energy Resources Ltd. $3,757.81
Marathon Oil Company $20,107.08
North Slope Borough $421.34
Pioneer Natural Resources $10.49
Teck Cominco Alaska $.04
Union Oil Company of California $73,195.50
XTO Energy, Inc. $6,916.24
Total $4,615,405.00

3. The payment dates under 20 AAC 25.620(a) are December 31, 2008, February 28, 2009 and
April 1, 2009.

4. 1If the regulatory cost charge is less than $20.00, the charge is waived: the administrative
burden of processing such de mininis payments exceeds the value to the State of collecting
them. This waiver is applicable to the current fiscal year and all subsequent fiscal years.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the operators listed in Conclusion 2 - except for
the operators covered by Conclusion 4 - shall pay their respective regulatory cost charges as
required by Conclusion 3.
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ENTERED at Anchorage, Alaska, and dated December 10, 2008.

Daniel T. Seamotnt, \Jr., Chair
A il onservation Commission

1/

0 V', ¥oifrhissioner

1 Gas Conservation Commission

I

Cathy P .O(Voerster,/ Commissioner
Alaska (il and Gas Conservation Commission

RECONSIDERATION AND APPEAL NOTICE

As provided in AS 31.05.080(a), within 20 days after written notice of the entry of this order or decision, or such further time as the Commission
grants for good cause shown, a person affected by it may file with the Commission an application for reconsideration of the matter determined
by it. If the notice was mailed, then the period of time shall be 23 days. An application for reconsideration must set out the respect in which the
order or decision is believed to be erroneous.

The Commission shall grant or refuse the application for reconsideration in whole or in part within 10 days after it is filed. Failure to act on it
within 10-days is a denial of reconsideration. If the Commission denies reconsideration, upon denial, this order or decision and the denial of
reconsideration are FINAL and may be appealed to superior court. The appeal MUST be filed within 33 days afer the date on which the
Commission mails, OR 30 days if the Commission otherwise distributes, the order or decision denying reconsideration, UNLESS the denial is
by inaction, in which case the appeal MUST be filed within 40 days after the date on which the application for reconsideration was filed.

If the Commission grants an application for reconsideration, this order or decision does not become final. Rather, the order or decision on
reconsideration will be the FINAL order or decision of the Commission, and it may be appealed to superior court. That appeal MUST be filed
within 33 days after the date on which the Commission mails, OR 30 days if the Commission otherwise distributes, the order or decision on
reconsideration. As provided in AS 31.05.080(b), “[t]he questions reviewed on appeal are limited to the questions presented to the Commission
by the application for reconsideration.”

In computing a period of time above, the date of the event or default after which the designated period begins to run is not included in the
period; the last day of the period is included, uniess it falls on a weekend or state holiday, in which event the period runs until 5:00 p.m. on the
next day that does not fall on a weekend or state holiday.




