Violent Crimes Compensation Board
Are you the victim of a violent crime? Financial assistance may be available to help pay for your crime related expenses. The Violent Crimes Compensation Board provides limited financial help to victims. The financial loss has to be the direct result of a violent crime and not reimbursable through another source such as insurance or worker’s compensation. The maximum that may be awarded is $40,000.
Am I Eligible?
- Violent crime against the person. Property crimes are not included.
- Crime must have occurred in Alaska within past 2 years.
- Crime reported to law enforcement within 5 days of crime.
- Must cooperate with law enforcement and prosecution.
- Must not have provoked or contributed to incident resulting in injury or death.
More details can be found under Eligibility.
Types of Compensation
- Medical/Dental treatment (after any other coverage including Medicaid, Medicare, Insurance etc)
- Lost wages
- Transportation and trial attendance costs
- Loss of support for dependents of homicide victim
For more information please refer to our Frequently Asked Questions
Next Board Meeting
Thursday, February 20th
Public Session at 8:30 am
Any one wishing to participate in the Public Session must contact Pearl Younker at 1-800-764-3040 or 907-465-3040
The State of Alaska does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age or disability in employment or the in provision of services and complies with the provisions of the Alaska Human Rights Law AS 18.80
If you believe you have experienced discrimination on any of these bases, you may file a complaint with either the Alaska State Commission for Human Rights, or the U.S. Department of Justice, Office for Civils Rights.