Victim Program Information
Who Can Get Help?
- Victims who have been physically or emotionally injured as a result of a violent crime that occurred in Alaska
- Victims of drunk drivers of hit and run
- Dependents of homicide victims
- Alaskan residents who are the victims of terrorism overseas
- Parents of minor victims who have suffered loss and expense as a result of the crime and/or injuries
In order to qualify for compensation, there are certain statutory requirements that must be met.
What Must I Do to Get Help?
- You must report the crime to local law enforcement within 5 days of the crime; if reported more than 5 days after the crime you must provide a written explanation
(note the Board may waive this requirement if the victim is a minor or for good cause)
- You must cooperate with law enforcement and prosecution
- You must apply for compensation within 2 years of the crime
(note the Board may waive for good cause or if the victim is a minor)
- If you have insurance or are covered by a state or federal program e.g. Indian Health Services or Medicare, that must be applied to medical expenses first.
For more details see eligibility section.