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The Division of  General Services is a 

customer-driven organization that 

values integrity, customer service, 

mutual respect, teamwork, and 

innovation. 

Competitive Levels 

Procurements below $100,000 ($200,000 for 

construction) generally require the solicitation 

of only 3 quotes or informal proposals. 

Therefore, you should market  directly to the 

various state agencies: 

http://doa.alaska.gov/dgs/cam/staff.html 

Procurements above $100,000 are typically 

posted to the state’s Online Public Notice 

System: 

http://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices 

State Executive Branch Departments 

Executive Branch Departments must follow 
the state’s procurement code, which is made up 
of statutes, regulations, and policies. These are 
all available on the Division of General 
Services’ (DGS) website, located at: 
http://doa.alaska.gov/dgs/ 

The list of Executive Branch departments and 
contact information is located in the Public 
Purchasing Officers section of the website. 
This list also includes contact information for 
other non-Executive Branch agencies, such as 
the Court System, the University of Alaska, and 
the Alaska Railroad, should you have questions 
about their purchasing procedures, which may 
vary from those of the Executive Branch. 

The Department of Transportation and Public 
Facilities contracts for construction and the 
state equipment fleet. Their website is at: 
http://dot.alaska.gov/procurement 



Preferences 

The State of Alaska is interested in doing 
business with a variety of customers. Alaskan 
companies in particular may qualify for one or 
more preferences, which are applied to the 
cost of the bid for evaluation purposes only. 
Some of these preferences are: 

 Alaska Bidder (5%) 

 Alaska Veteran (5%) 

 Alaska Product (3%, 5%, or 7%) 

 Employment Program (15%) 

 Alaskans w/ Disabilities (10%) 
 
A guide to all available preferences, 
qualification criteria, and examples of how 
they are applied may be found at: 
http://doa.alaska.gov/dgs/pdf/pref1.pdf  

More Information 

More information, including a more detailed 
guide on doing business with the state, 
Frequently Asked Questions, a listing of 
public purchasing officers for all state 
agencies, and more can be found by visiting 
the Division of General Services’ website at: 
http://doa.alaska.gov/dgs/ 

Top Ten Areas The May Affect Your 

Efforts To Do Business With The State 

 Late is Late. Your bid/proposal must 
arrive before the opening date or it will 
not be accepted. 

 Alaska Business License (AKBL). All 
companies must possess a valid AKBL 
before being awarded a contract. 
Alaskan companies wishing to claim a 
preference must possess a valid AKBL 
by the bid opening date. 

 Modifications. Do not change or 
modify the terms or conditions of a 
solicitation when you submit an offer. 
Contact the procurement officer with 
any questions. Also, be sure to include 
every required item when submitting 
your offer. Check and double-check the 
solicitation requirements. 

 Pre-Bid/Pre-Proposal Conference. 
It’s important to attend any pre-bid or 
pre-proposal conference. These are 
often your best opportunity to ask 
questions about the solicitation and offer 
your input. 

 Solicitation Problems/Concerns. 
Advise the procurement officer in 
writing of problems or concerns before 
the deadline for small procurements or 
at least 10 days before the deadline for 
formal solicitations above $100,000. 

6. Protest. If all else fails, file a written 
protest. Protest procedures are usually 
included in the solicitation documents. 
For procurements less than $100,000, 
you are required to first attempt to 
resolve the dispute informally. Protest 
procedures are also included in the 
statutes and regulations on DGS’s 
website. 

7. Previous State Prices. You might not 
know this, but the state’s previous bid 
and contract prices are public 
information. Simply request such 
information from the procurement 
officer. 

8. State Payments. Payments are usually 
made within a couple of weeks. The 
state is generally required to process 
payments within 30 days or there’s a 
1.5% interest penalty on the unpaid 
balance. 

9. Company Size. Some companies 
believe their business is too small to 
sell to the state. However, the state 
actually spends millions of dollars in-
state each year for small quantity 
purchases. 

10. Help. The state is open for business 
and we are here to help you succeed. 
Please contact the Division of General 
Services with any questions about 
doing business with the state. 


