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The table below lists the legislator compensation and per diem rates for all 50 state legislatures. Per diem expenses
include foed and accommodation for legislators while conducting legislative business. NCSL does not rank legislative
salaries from highest to lowest.

State Base Salary Sessron Per Drem Rate

Alabama - $10/day. (C) $4, 308/month plus $50/day for three days during each week that
the Ieglslature actually meets dunng any session (U)

Alaska $50,400/year $234/day (depending on the time of year) tied to the tederal rate.

’ Legislators who reside in the Capitol area receive 75% of the

federal rate

Arizona $24,000/year $35/day for the first 120 days of the regular session and for spemal
sessions and $10/day thereafter. Members residing outside
Maricopa County receive an additional $25/day for the first 120
.days of the regular session and for special sessions and an
addmonal $10/day thereafter (V) Set by statute

Arkansas $15,869/year $148/day (\%] plus mlleage t|ed to the tederal rate

Califomia $90,526/year $141 86/day for each day in session.

Colorado $30,000/year $1 83/day for members who I|ve more than 50 mlles from the

_ Capitol; $45/day for members who live 50 or fewer miles from the

Capitol.

Connecticut $28,000/year No per diem is paid.

Delaware ’ $44,041/year $7,334 expense allowance annually.

Florida . $29,697/year ‘$129/day based on the number of days in session, Travel vouchers
are filed to substantlate

Georgia $17,341.68/year $173/day (U); set by the Leglslatlve Services Commlttee

Hawaii $57 852/year $175/day for members living outside Oahu during session; $10/day
for members living on Oahu,

" Idaho $16.438/year $122/day for members establlshmg a second resrdence in Boise;

. $49/day if' no second residence is established and up to $25/day
travel (V). Set by the compensation commission.

lllinois $67,836/year; $111/per session day.

members are required
to forfeit one day of
compensation per

month
Indiana $24,140.16/year $156/day (U) tied to the federal rate
lowa $25,000/year $135/day (U); $101.25/day for Polk County leglslators (U) Set by
the legislature to coincide with the federal rate. State mileage rates
apply
Kansas ' " $88.66/day (C) During interim committee meetings, members receive $129/day,
tied to federal rate, plus round trip tolls and mileage reimbursement
at 56¢. All legislators receive $354.15 (U) for 20 pay periods
($7.083), considered taxable income.
Kentucky $1,788.51/month $188.22/day (U); tied to the federal rate (110% ofthe federal per
‘ diem rate).
Louisiana " $153/day (U); tied to the federal rate.
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Base Salary
$16,800/year-plus
additional $6,000/year
(U) expense allowance

$13,852/year for first
regular session;
$9,661/year for second
regular session

- $43,500/year

$60,032.60/year

. $71,685/year

$31,140.90/year

$10,000/year

$35,915/year

$82.64/day (L)
$12,000/year

$146.29/day for
maximum of 60 days of
session

$200/two year term
$49,000/year

None
5:79,500/year
$13,951Iyear.

$162/day during
legislative sessions
(C); $162/day for
attending interim
committee meetings

$60,583.70/year

$38,400/year

$22.596(year
$84,012/year

$14,947.34/year

$10,400/year

$6,000/session;
$129/day for interim
committees

$20,203/year
$7.200/year

$273/day (C)

$660.06/week during

- the legislative session

only

$18,000/year for the
Senate; $17,640/year
for the House

$42,106/year

$20,000/year

$49,943/year

$101/day for lodging: $42/day for meals. Tred to lhe federal rate

$129/day (U) tled to the federal rate

Session Per Diem Rate

$38/day for lodging, or mileage and tolls in lieu of housing (at a rate
of $0.44/mile up'to $38/day) plus $32/day for meals. Set by statute,”

and the compensallon commission.

$10,800/year expense aIIowance for session and mtenm V) set by
the compensatlon commission.

$86/day for senators and $66/day for representahves per approval
of lhe committee chair or Ieadershlp (U). Set by the legrslature

$123/day

$103. 20/day (U); tied to the federal rate. Venification of per diem is
by roll call.

$109.78/day (U).

$128/day for members residing 50 miles or more from the Capitol;
$46/day for members inside the 50-mile radius.

$152/per day.

No per diem is paid.

No per diem is paid.

$159/day (V) tled to the federal rate.

" $172/ull day (|nc|ud|ng overnlght) $61Ipart|al day

$104/day (U) set by statute. $559/month expense aIIowance

Lodging reimbursement up to 30 tlmes 70% of the daily lodging
rate ($1,569 per month as of 10/1/2013) (V).

"No per dlem is pa|d

) $153/day (U) tled to the federal rate

$157/day.

A No per dlem is pald

$140/day for meals and housmg for each stateW|de session day
and committee meeting; tied to the federal rate.

$110/egislative day (U); set by the legislature.

$188/legislative day (U); tied to federal rate. -

$150/day (U) set by ethics commlsswn

$115/day (V) lodglng allotment for each calendar day $39/day
. meals (V).

$107/day for lodging (ovemight stay) or $61/day for meals and
mileage if commuting.

$180/day for senators; $170/day for House members.

$90/day.

$131/day during session (U); set by the compensation commission. :
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State | Base Salary I Session Per Diem Rate

$88/day maximum (U); set by the compensation commission (80% -
of the federal rate). Per diem authorized under 13.123 (1), Wis,

. Statutes, and Leg. Joint Rule 85. 20.916(8) State Statutes. Joint

- Committee on Employment Relations (JCOER) establishes the
maximum amount according to recommendations of the Director of
the Office of State Employment Relations. The leadership of each
house determines, within that maximum, what amount to authorize

_for the session,

Wyoming $150/day during " $109/day (V), including travel days for those outside of Cheyenne;
. session : set by thq legislature.

Source: Nationa_i Conference of State Leg/'slaturés 2014
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