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2021 Legislative Compensation and Travel Expense Allowances During Regular Sessions

Alabama n/a $51,734 56/mile. For overnight stays: $85/day. For two or more days with 

overnight stays: $100/day.

Alaska n/a $50,400 56/mile. For legislators whose permanent residence is not in Juneau: up 

to $293/day. For Juneau legislators: no per diem. Additionally, 

legislators who must move to and from Juneau for regular 

session are entitled to be reimbursed for relocation expenses.

Arizona n/a $24,000 56/mile. Tied to the 

federal rate.
For legislators residing within Maricopa County: $35/day for the 

first 120 days of regular and special sessions and $10/day for all 

following days. For legislators residing outside of Maricopa 

County: $60/day for the first 120 days of regular and special 

sessions and $20/day for all following days. Set by statute.

Arkansas n/a $42,428 56/mile. For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: $55/day. 

For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol: 

$151/day.

California n/a $114,877 53/mile. $211/day.

Colorado n/a $40,242 56/mile. For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: $45/day. 

For legislators living more than 50 miles from the capitol: 

$219/day. Set by the legislature. Vouchered. 

Connecticut n/a $28,000 56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

No per diem is paid.

Delaware n/a $47,291 40/mile. No per diem is paid. 

Florida n/a $29,697 44.5/mile. $152/day for up to 50 days for senators and up to 60 days for 

representatives. Vouchered.

Georgia n/a $15,608 56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

$173/day. Set by the Legislative Services Committee. 

Unvouchered.

State Mileage Reimbursement 

Rate (cents/mile)

Session Per Diem RateSalaries

Per Diem Salary Annual Salary



Hawaii n/a $62,604 56/mile. For legislators who do not reside on Oahu: $225/day. For 

legislators living on Oahu during the mandatory five-day recess 

only: $10/day. Legislators who do not reside on Oahu also 

receive reimbursement for their air travel costs to commute 

from their home island to Oahu.

Idaho n/a $18,691 56/mile. For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: $71/day. 

For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol: 

$139/day.

Illinois n/a $69,464 39/mile. $151/day.

Indiana n/a $28,102.50 57/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

$183/day. Unvouchered. Any additional expenses must be 

approved by the President pro tem.

Iowa n/a $25,000 39/mile. $172/day. Unvouchered.  During the interim, hotel stays are 

covered for two-day meetings or with prior approval. 

Kansas $88.66/session day.n/a 56/mile. One round trip 

per week.

$151/day.

Kentucky $188.22/calendar day.n/a 56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

$166.10/day.

Louisiana n/a $16,800 56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

$160/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.

Maine n/a $15,417 for the 

first regular 

session. $10,923 

(estimate) for the 

second regular 

session.

44/mile. $38/day for lodging (or mileage up to $38/day in lieu of lodging, 

plus actual tolls). $32/day for meals. Set by statute.

Maryland n/a $50,330 56/mile. Legislators 

receive $750/year as 

taxable income for in-

district travel, but they 

may decline the 

allowance.

$106/day for lodging. $56/day for meals.



Massachusetts n/a $70,536 No mileage 

reimbursement. 

Legislators residing 

within 50 miles of the 

statehouse receive an 

office expense stipend of 

$17,043 that can be 

used for travel expenses. 

Legislators residing more 

than 50 miles from the 

state house receive 

$22,723.

No per diem is paid. Legislators residing within 50 miles of the 

statehouse receive an office expense stipend of $17,043 that 

can be used for travel expenses. Legislators residing more than 

50 miles from the state house receive $22,723.

Michigan n/a $71,685 56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

No per diem is paid. Legislators receive an expense allowance of 

$10,800/year for session and interim. Set by the compensation 

commission. Vouchered.

Minnesota n/a $46,500 56/mile. One round trip 

per week. Tied to federal 

rate.

For senators: $86/day. For representatives: $66/day. Additional 

compensation for communication, living expenses and district 

travel may be possible.

Mississippi n/a $23,500 56/mile. $151/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.

Missouri n/a $35,915 37/mile. $121/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.

Montana $100.48/legislative day.n/a 56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

$126.12/day. For additional expenses, legislators also reeive a 

primary $3,000 stipend and a secondary amount between 

$1,000 and $4,000 depending on the square mileage of a 

legislator's district. 

Nebraska n/a $12,000 56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: $55/day. 

For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol: 

$151/day.



Nevada $164.69/calendar 

day up to 60 days. 

Senators who are 

not up for 

reelection until 

2022 receive 

$159.89/calendar 

day.

n/a 56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

$151/day. Travel allowance of $10,000/session, and additional 

$900/session leadership allowance.

New Hampshire n/a $100 56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate. Legislators can 

instead choose the state 

mileage reimbursement 

option, which is 38/mile 

for the first 45 miles, and 

19/mile thereafter. With 

this alternative method, 

the reimbursement is 

taxed as income, and 

legislators do not need 

to drive their personal 

vehicle.

No per diem is paid.

New Jersey n/a $49,000 No mileage 

reimbursement.

No per diem is paid.

New Mexico n/a $0 56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

$165/day (January and February); $194/day (March). Tied to 

federal rate. Vouchered.

New York n/a $110,000 56/mile Tied to federal 

rate.

For non-overnight travel: $61/day. For overnight stays: 

$176/day.

North Carolina n/a $13,951 29/mile. One round trip 

per week.

$104/day. Set by statute. Unvouchered.  For additional 

expenses, legislators receive $559/month.



North Dakota n/a $518/month. 

$526/month 

starting July 1, 

2021; 

$537/month 

starting July 1 

2022.

56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.  

$186/day. $189/day starting July 1, 2021; $193/day starting July 

1, 2022. 

Ohio n/a $67,492 52/mile for legislators 

living outside Franklin 

County.

No per diem is paid.

Oklahoma n/a $47,500 56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

$165/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.

Oregon n/a $32,839 56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

$151/day.

Pennsylvania n/a $90,335 56/mile.Tied to federal 

rate.

$178/day.

Rhode Island n/a $16,636 57.5/mile. No per diem is paid.

South Carolina n/a $10,400 56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

$173/day. Tied to federal rate.

South Dakota n/a $12,851 One trip is paid at 5/mile, 

and the remaining are 

paid at 42/mile. One 

round trip per week.

$151/day. Legislative days only. Unvouchered.

Tennessee n/a $24,316 47/mile. For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: $61/day. 

For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol: 

$295/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.



Texas n/a $7,200 50/mile. $1.21/mile for 

single, twin and turbo 

engine airplanes. Set by 

general appropriations 

bill.  Legislators also 

receive reimbursement 

for transportation costs 

for one roundtrip home 

each week. 

$221/day. Set by ethics commission. Unvouchered.

Utah $285/legislative 

day.

n/a 56/mile. No per diem is paid. Legislators residing more than 100 miles 

from the capitol can receive expense reimbursement for meals 

and lodging.

Vermont n/a $742.92/week during session.56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

$75/day because the legislature is meeting remotely for the 

2021 session. 

Virginia n/a $18,000 for 

senators. $17,640 

for delegates.

56/mile. $211/day.

Washington n/a $56,881 56/mile. Tied to federal 

rate.

$120/day.

West Virginia n/a $20,000 48.5/mile. $131/day. Set by compensation commission. Unvouchered.

Wisconsin n/a $55,141 51/mile. One round trip 

per week. 

$115/day for senators who reside outside of Dane County; 

those in Dane County receive $57.50. $153 (with overnight) or 

$76.50/day (no overnight) for representatives. Per diem can be 

claimed up to 90 days per year.

Wyoming $150/day. n/a 56/mile. $109/day. Set by legislature. Vouchered.  Legislators also receive 

an additional $300/month; 1/2 salary for 1 day of preparation 

for each day the legislator is engaged in work for the 

Management Council or any committee; and 1/2 salary for each 

day the member travels to and from an interim activity for 

which he/she is entitled to receive a salary.


