Legislator compensation varies across legislatures. The lowest annual state legislator salary in 2023 was \$100 and the highest annual state legislator salary in 2023 was \$142,000. In 2023, the average annual base salary for a state legislator was \$43,494. This represents a 6% increase in average annual legislator base salary since 2022. However, salary is only one component of legislator compensation. Each year, NCSL collects data from all 50 states, the U.S. territories, and Washington D.C. on legislative salaries and per diems. This year, NCSL conducted a broader survey to learn more about additional compensation for legislative leaders, insurance and retirement benefits, and office and staffing allowances in additional to regular compensation. The tables linked to below provide nationwide data for each of these categories.

State/Territory /D.C.	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per mile)	Per Diem
Alabama	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$53,913.	65.5 cents per mile. Mileage is tied to the federal rate. Legislators can receive mileage in the interim.	The per diem rate is dependent on how far a member is from their base. Legislators who are 0-5 hrs, 59 minutes from their base do not receive a per diem. Legislators who are 6-12 hours outside of their home receive \$12.75/day. Legislators who are over 12 hours away from their home base with no overnight receive \$34/day.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators.  Members can receive pay outside of session.
Alaska	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$50,400.	Automobile = \$0.655, Boat/Motorcycle = \$0.635, and Airplane = \$1.74. Legislators may receive mileage reimbursement in the interim.	\$307/day.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators.
			Members can receive per diem outside of session.
American Samoa <u>[i]</u>	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$25,000.	No data available.	Legislators only receive a per diem in connection with any approved travel authorization. The federal per diem rate is used.
			Per diem is vouchered. Per diem is taxable for all state legislators.
Arizona	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$24,000.	Legislators can	The session per diem rate for state legislators residing in Maricopa County is \$35/day for the first 120 days of regular and special sessions and \$10/day for all following days. For legislators residing outside of Maricopa County, 100% of the average of the six highest months of the annual federal per diem rate for Maricopa county, including lodging, as determined by
			the United States general services administration. The director of the

State/Territory /D.C.	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per mile)	Per Diem
			department of administration shall determine this amount annually (as of Spring 2023: \$238/day) for the first 120 days of regular and special sessions and half that amount (as of spring 2023: \$119/day) for all following days. This is set in statute, but will change each year as the US general services administration adjusts the federal rates.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for all state legislators.
Arkansas	_	federal rate. Legislators can receive mileage in the interim.	Varies per member. If they reside within 50 miles of the State Capitol, it is \$59/ day. If they reside beyond 50 miles from the State Capitol, it is \$155/ day.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
California	receive an annual salary \$122, 694.	Mileage is tied to the federal rate. Legislators can receive mileage in the interim.	\$214/ day.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session
Colorado	whose terms started in	59 cents per mile. Mileage is tied to the federal rate. Legislators can receive mileage in the interim.	For legislators living within 50 miles of the capitol: \$45/day. For legislators living more than 50 miles from the capitol: \$237/day.  Per diem is vouchered. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators. Per diem is tax exempt for some state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
Connecticut	receive an	Mileage is tied to the federal rate. Legislators can receive mileage in the interim.	Members do not receive per diem.
Delaware	Legislators receive an	40 cents a mile. Legislators can	Members do not receive per diem.

State/Territory	Race Valary	Mileage (cents per	Per Diem
/D.C.		mile)	
	annual salary of \$49,202.	receive mileage in the interim.	
District of Columbia	ers receive an annual salary	reimbursable.  Out-of-town mileage is reimbursed if the member is on official business and the destination is farther than 50 miles one way from the District of Columbia.  Members must present proof of actual mileage incurred and it is reimbursable at rates established by the	Members do not receive per diem.
Floridatiil	Logislators	federal GSA schedule.	Dar diam rates established by Speaker of the
Florida[ii]	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$18,000.	44.5 cents per mile.	Per diem rates established by Speaker of the House and the President of the Senate. Data about amounts not available.
Georgia	Legislators	65.5 cents per mile.	\$247/day.
	receive an annual salary of \$23,341.72.	Mileage is tied to the federal rate.	Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports., Per diem is vouchered. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
Guam[ <u>iii]</u>	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$54,080.	No data available.	No data available.
Hawaii		65.5 cents per mile.	\$225, but this is given to non-Oahu legislators only.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is tax exempt for all state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
Idaho	Legislators receive an	65.5 cents per mile. Legislators may	For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: \$74/day. For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol:

State/Territory	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per	Per Diem
/D.C.	base salary	mile)	i di bidii
	annual salary	_	\$221/day. Both rates are tied to federal per
	of \$19,913	interim.	diem rates.
Illinois	Legislators receive an	65.5 cents per mile. It is tied to the federal	\$157/day.
	annual salary	rate.	Legislators automatically receive the set per
	of \$85,000.		diem on eligible days and do not need to
			turn in receipts or expense reports. Per
			diem is taxable for some state legislators.
			Per diem is tax exempt for some state legislators.
Indiana	Legislators	65.5 cents for	\$196/day.
IIIuiaiia	receive an	mileage. Mileage is	\$1907day.
		tied to the federal	Per diem is vouchered. Per diem is taxable
	of \$29749.	rate. Legislators are	for some state legislators. Per diem is tax
	0. 4237 131	eligible for mileage	exempt for some state legislators.
		reimbursement in the	
		interim.	Members can receive per diem outside of
			session.
Iowa	Legislators	50 cents per mile.	\$175/day outside of Polk County,
	receive an	Legislators may	\$131.25/day for Legislators who live within
	annual salary	receive mileage	Polk County, which is the county with the
	of \$25,000.	reimbursement in the interim.	seat of government.
			Legislators automatically receive the set per
			diem on eligible days and do not need to
			turn in receipts or expense reports. Per
			diem is taxable for some state legislators.
			Per diem is tax exempt for some state
			legislators if they turn in receipts.
			Members can receive per diem outside of
			session.
Kansas	Legislator	58.5 per mile cents	\$157.00/day.
	salary is	per mile. Legislators	
	based on a	may receive mileage	Legislators automatically receive the set per
	daily rate of		diem on eligible days and do not need to
	\$86.66 for	interim.	turn in receipts or expense reports. Per
	each session day and for		diems is taxable for some state legislators.
	attendance to		Members can receive per diem outside of
	any		session.
	committee		
	meetings or		
	approved		
	conference		
	attendance		
	during the		
	interim.		
Kentucky	Legislator	65.5 cents per mile.	\$203.28/day for members sworn in after
	salary is	Mileage	January 1, 2023; \$188.22 for members sworn
	based on a	reimbursement is tied	in before 2023.

State/Territory /D.C.	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per mile)	Per Diem
	\$188.22/calen dar day during	interim.	Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
Louisiana	receive an annual salary	Mileage reimbursement is tied to the federal rate. Legislators may receive mileage reimbursement in the interim.	\$175/day. Changes with federal rates every Oct 1st.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is reimbursed to state legislators when they submit receipts or turn in expense reports. Per diem is taxable for all state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
Maine[iv]	_	46 cents per mile	The session per diem rate for state
	receive an annual salary of \$16,245.12 in the first legislative session and \$11,668.32 in the second legislative session.		legislators is \$70/day for lodging, or, in lieu of lodging, round-trip mileage at the lower of \$0.55/mile or the federal standard mileage rate, plus actual tolls and \$50/day for meals.  Per diem is vouchered.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
Maryland	receive an		Lodging \$108/day, Meals \$63/day.  Per diem is reimbursed to state legislators when they submit receipts or turn in

State/Territory	_	Mileage (cents per	
/D.C.	Base Salary	mile)	Per Diem
		reimbursement in the interim.	expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators.
			Members can receive per diem outside of session.
Massachusetts[v]	receive an annual salary	No mileage is reimbursed. Each member of the general court shall annually receive an amount for expenses to be paid as follows: (i) for members whose primary residence is located at a distance that is equal to or less than 50 miles from the state house, \$15,000; and (ii) for members whose primary residence is located at a distance that is greater than 50 miles from the state house, \$20,000. This can be used for travel expenses.	
Michigan	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$71,685.	65.5 cents per mile. Mileage	No per diem is paid. Legislators receive an expense allowance of \$10,800/year for session and interim. Set by the compensation commission. Vouchered.
Minnesota	Legislators receive an annual salary \$48,250. This salary will increase to \$51,750 on July 1, 2023.	Legislators may receive mileage	\$66/day for House members. \$86/day for Senate members.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators. Per diem is tax deductible for some state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
Mississippi	Legislators receive an	66 center per mile. Mileage reimbursement is tied	For Senate: \$157/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered. For House: 1\$157/day if present on roll call.

State/Territory	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per	Per Diem
/D.C.		<b>mile)</b> to the federal rate.	
	annual salary of \$23,500.	Legislators may receive mileage	Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some Senators. Per diem is taxable for all Representatives.
			Members can receive per diem outside of session.
Missouri	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$37,711.	Mileage reimbursement is tied to the federal rate. Legislators may receive mileage	\$125.60/day.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators.  Per diem is tax exempt for some state legislators.
Montana	Legislator salary is based on a daily rate of \$104.86 on any legislative day during session or during committee days during the interim	Mileage	\$171 per day/day.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
Nebraska[vi]	Legislators receive an	reimbursement is tied	For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: \$55/day. For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol: \$151/day. Both rates are tied to federal per diem rates.
Nevada[ <u>vii</u> ]	Legislator salary is based on a daily rate of \$130 for each day the legislature is in session	65.5 cents per mile. Mileage reimbursement is tied to the federal rate.	
New Hampshire	receive an	65.5 cents per mile. Mileage reimbursement is tied to the federal rate. Legislators can instead choose the state mileage rate reimbursement option, which is	Members do not receive per diem.

State/Territory /D.C.	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per mile)	Per Diem
		.38/mile for the first 45 miles, and .19/mile thereafter. With this alternative method, the reimbursement is reported as taxable income and the legislator does not need to have driven. Legislators may receive mileage in the interim.	
New Jersey	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$49,000.	None.	Members do not receive per diem.
New Mexico	_	Mileage reimbursement is tied to the federal rate. Legislators may receive mileage reimbursement in the interim.	Per diem is reimbursed to state legislators when they submit receipts or turn in expense reports. Per diem is vouchered. Per diem is tax deductible for some state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
New York[ <u>viii]</u>	,	65.5 cents per mile. Mileage reimbursement is tied to the federal rate.	Members receive per diem, amounts not available.
North Carolina	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$13,951.	.29 cents per mile. Legislators may receive mileage reimbursement in the interim.	\$104/day.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
North Dakota	Legislator salary is based on a monthly rate of \$537 a month. This will increase to \$592 a month starting on July 1, 2024.	Mileage reimbursement is tied to the federal rate. Legislators may receive mileage reimbursement	\$193/day. \$205/day starting July, 2023.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for all state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.

State/Territory /D.C.	Rase Salary	Mileage (cents per mile)	Per Diem
Northern		No data available.	Members do not receive per diem.
Mariana Islands	receive an annual salary of \$32,000.		
Ohio	Legislators receive an annual salary \$69,876.	58 cents per mile for legislators living outside Franklin County. Legislators may receive mileage reimbursement in the interim.	Members do not receive per diem.
Oklahoma	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$47,500.	Legislators may receive mileage	\$168/day.  Per diem is reimbursed to state legislators when they submit receipts or turn in expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators.
Oregon	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$35,052.	Legislators may receive mileage	\$157/day.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
Pennsylvania	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$102,844.07	65.5 cents per mile. Mileage is tied to the federal rate.	\$181/day.
Puerto Rico	No data available.	No data available.	No data available.
Rhode Island	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$17,626.63	65.5 cents per mile. Mileage is tied to the federal rate.	Members do not receive per diem.
South Carolina	receive an annual salary of \$10,400.	Legislators may receive mileage reimbursement in the interim.	\$176/day.  Per diem is vouchered. Per diem is tax exempt for some state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session
South Dakota	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$14,778.60		\$157/day for legislators who reside more than 50 miles away from the capitol.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to

State/Territory /D.C.	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per mile)	Per Diem
		round trip per week to their home district).	turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is tax exempt for all state legislators.
Tennessee	Legislators receive an annual salary of \$28, 406	\$.625 per mile. Legislators may receive mileage reimbursement in the interim.	\$313/day for legislators whose residence is 50 or greater miles from the seat of government. \$79 for Legislators who residence is less than 50 miles from the seat of government.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
Texas	Legislators receive an annual salary \$7,200.	For representatives 65.5 cents per mile and mileage is tied to the federal rate. For senators, for car travel - \$.58 per mile for airplane travel - \$1.21 per mile Legislators may receive mileage reimbursement in the interim.	\$221.00/day.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for all state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
U.S. Virgin Islands	Legislators receive an annual salary \$85,000.	None.	Members do not receive per diem.
Utah	Legislator salary is based on a daily rate of \$293.55 on legislative days. Legislative days are defined as days with official, designated legislative meetings and in which legislators sign attendance sheets.	65.5 cents per mile. Mileage is tied to the federal rate. Legislators may receive mileage reimbursement in the interim.	Per diem is determined by eligible reimbursable expenses (with receipt): mileage, lodging, breakfast up to \$13, lunch up to \$15, and dinner up to \$26.  Per diem is reimbursed to state legislators when they submit receipts or turn in expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.

State/Territory /D.C.	BACE SAIATV	Mileage (cents per mile)	Per Diem
Vermont	Legislator salary is based on a	65.5 cents per mile. Mileage is tied to the federal rate. Legislators may receive mileage	Per diem is divided between meals and lodging. Meals: \$69/day. Lodging: \$134/night.  Per diem is reimbursed to state legislators when they submit receipts or turn in expense reports. Per diem is taxable for all state legislators.
Virginia	the Virginia Assembly receive an	65.5 cents per mile. Mileage is tied to the federal rate. Legislators may receive mileage reimbursement in the interim.	\$209.00/day.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators.  Per diem is tax exempt for some state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
Washington	Legislators receive an annual salary \$57,876.	Legislators may receive mileage	\$190.00/day.  Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators.  Members can receive per diem outside of session.
West Virginia[ix]	receive an	65.5 cents per mile. Mileage is tied to the federal rate.	Members who commute daily receive \$75/day. Members who do not commute daily receive \$175/day.
Wisconsin		\$0.51 for a car and \$0.285 for a motorcycle. If your residence is within 25 miles (round trip) of the capitol you cannot claim mileage. Legislators may receive mileage reimbursement in the interim.	For the House: The overnight rate is \$155.70/day. The non-overnight rate is \$77.85/day. Legislators that represent a portion of the county that the Capitol is in receive only the rate of \$77.85/day. Per diem is optional. Per diem is vouchered. Per diem is taxable for some state legislators. Per diem is tax exempt for some state legislators.  For the Senate: Up to \$140/day for days spent in Madison for state business. Dane County Senators are allowed half of that amount, or \$70 per day. Legislators automatically receive the set per diem on eligible days and do not need to turn in receipts or expense reports. Per diem is taxable for all state legislators.

State/Territory /D.C.	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per mile)	Per Diem
			Members can receive per diem outside of
			session.
Wyoming	\$150/day.		\$109/day.  Per diem is reimbursed to state legislators when they submit receipts or turn in expense reports. Per diem is vouchered. Per diem is taxable for all state legislators.
		interim.	Manahaya ang yangiya nay diana aytaida af
			Members can receive per diem outside of
			session.

[i] There is one representative from the Swains Island who is paid \$20,000/year. This member does not have a vote.

[ii] Data about legislator salary was obtained from <u>FL Statute 11.13</u>. Data about mileage and per diem was obtained from <u>FL Statute X 112.061</u>

[iii] The most recent data is from 2019.

[iv] Data about legislator salary, mileage reimbursement, and per diem was obtained from the 131st Maine Legislature Legislators' Handbook.

[v] Data about legislator mileage reimbursement and per diem was obtained from MA General Laws Part I Title I Chapter 3 Section 9c.

[vi] Data about legislator salary and per diem was obtained from the Official Site of the Nebraska Legislature. Data about legislator mileage reimbursement rates was obtained from NE Revised Statute 81-1176.

[vii] Data about legislator salary and per diem was obtain from NRS.218A.630 and NRS.218A.645. Data about mileage reimbursement rates was obtained from a State of Nevada Governor's Finance Office 2023 All Agencies Memo.

[viii] Data about legislator salary was obtained from <a href="news-media">news-media</a>. Data about legislator mileage reimbursement and per diem was obtained from the Office of New York State Comptroller Guide to Financial Operations Sections <a href="XIII.4.C">XIII.4.C</a> and <a href="Senate Guidelines on Per Diem">Senate Guidelines on Per Diem</a>. <a href="[ix]">[ix]</a> Data about legislator salary was obtained from the <a href="news-media">news-media</a>. Data about legislator

mileage reimbursement and per diem was obtained from the <u>news media</u>. Data about legislator