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If you are no longer working, waiting to apply for 
retirement past your normal retirement age will not 
increase your retirement benefit. Benefit payments will 
begin the first day of the month after you meet eligibility 
requirements and will not be retroactive. 

When applying for retirement you must specify your 
retirement date on the PERS Application for Retirement 
Benefits. 

By law, your retirement date will be the first of the month 
after the following requirements are met:

•	You meet the minimum service and age requirements 
for retirement. You should not leave employment until 
you are absolutely certain that you are eligible to retire.

•	You have terminated employment. Note: If you 
terminate your employment on the first day of the 
month, you will not be appointed to retirement until 
the following month. 

•	Your Application for Retirement Benefits is received by 
the Division of Retirement and Benefits prior to the 
date you plan to retire. 

Benefit Calculation
Your pension benefit calculation is dependent on your 
years of service as well as your average monthly salary. If 
you terminate employment before working 115 days in 
your last year of employment, your last salary will not be 
included in your average monthly salary.

Health Benefits
New benefit recipients will be covered under the State of 
Alaska Retiree Health Plan (AlaskaCare) as of the 
retirement effective date. Those who must pay for coverage 
are also covered as of the retirement effective date if they 
elect coverage prior to retirement. 

You should know the eligibility requirement for 
your tier so you can request an application 
packet for retirement benefits at least 120 days 
before your anticipated retirement date. It is 
your responsibility to contact the Division to 
initiate the retirement process. 

Tier I – First  
entered the PERS on 
or before June 30, 
1986

Early retirement at age 50 if 
vested, and normal at age 
55 if vested. Any age with 
30 years service or 20 years 
of police/fire service.

Tier II – First 
entered the PERS on 
or after July 1, 1986

Early retirement at age 55 if 
vested, and normal at age 
60 if vested. Any age with 
30 years service or 20 years 
of police/fire service.

Tier III – First 
entered the PERS on 
or after July 1, 1996 
but before July 1, 
2006

Early retirement age at 55 if 
vested, and normal at age 
60 if vested. Any age with 
30 years service or 20 years 
of police/fire service.



Alaska Division of Retirement and Benefits

6th Floor, State Office Building  |  333 Willoughby Ave. |  P.O. Box 110203  |  Juneau, AK 99811-0203

Member Services Contact Center
Hours: Monday - Thursday 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.  |  Friday 8:30 a.m. - 3 p.m.

Toll-Free: (800) 821-2251  |  In Juneau: (907) 465-4460  |  Fax: (907) 465-3086  |  TDD: (907) 465-2805 
doa.drb.mscc@alaska.gov

The information in this brochure is not intended to replace the Alaska Statutes, the Alaska Administrative Code, or the plan documents.   
Language contained in Alaska Statutes, the Alaska Administrative Code, and the plan documents governs the plans.
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Your application should 
be filed with the Division 
a minimum of 60 days 
prior to your retirement 
effective date. If the 
Division does not receive 
your application by this 
requested time, eligibility 
reporting to the health 
carrier may be delayed. 
To ensure a smooth 
transition with your 
health insurance 

coverage, please submit your application early. 

When your application is received, a health plan welcome 
kit with information and forms will be sent to you. This 
will be confirmation that your eligibility is being reported 
to the claim administrator. Your health insurance 
identification cards will be mailed to you shortly after 
your eligibility has been reported. At that time, you will 
be able to file for reimbursement of any covered medical 
services that occurred since your retirement date. 

If you first entered the PERS after June 30, 1986, and you 
are under age 60 or if you first entered PERS after June 
30, 1996, and have less than 10 years of credited service, 
you must enroll and pay the monthly premiums to be 
covered under the medical plan. 

Police/fire plan members who first entered the PERS on or 
after July 1, 1986, and who have at least 25 years of 
police/fire service are not required to pay premiums for 
medical insurance regardless of age.

Checklist for Pre-Retirement Planning
TT Contact Pre-Retirement Services and request an 

estimate of benefits and retirement application 
packet at least 120 days before your prospective 
date of retirement.

TT Arrange for a counseling appointment.

TT Fill out your packet and mail to the Division at least 
60 days before your retirement effective date.

Required Items:
Court certified copies of divorce or dissolution documents 
(if applicable.)

Retirement benefits are paid once at the end of each 
month. However, the processing of your first benefit 
check can take approximately six weeks from your 
retirement effective date. Once your application has been 
processed, benefit checks will be automatically issued at 
the end of each month. 

Taxes
PERS benefits are taxable by the federal government as 
soon as they are received.

What Tier Am I?
Members who first entered 
a PERS position and were 
making contributions:

•	Tier I — Before 7/1/86.

•	 Tier II — On or after 
7/1/86, but before 7/1/96.

•	Tier III — On or after 
7/1/96, but before 7/1/06.

The information included 
here only applies to Tiers I, 
II, and III.


