Alaska Department of Administration
Administration >  DOA Divisions

The following is a greeting given in one of the 20 indigenous languages recognized by the State of Alaska.

Ade’ ndadz dengit’a?
Language: Deg Xinag
Translation: "Hello, how are you?"

Department Of Administration Divisions

The Department of Administration is comprised of ten divisions that provide support services to both internal and external customers. In addition, the department provides administrative support services to five independent state agencies, boards, or commissions.

External Customer Services

Motor Vehicles

creates, records, and renews vehicle registrations and provides testing, issuance and recording of driver’s licenses

Office of Public Advocacy

provides guardianship, child advocacy (guardian ad litem) and legal services to vulnerable Alaskans

Public Defender Agency

performs this constitutionally required governmental function by providing legal defense services for those who do not have the financial means to hire an attorney

Retirement and Benefits

administers and provides record keeping and counseling services for the following retirement systems: public employees, teachers, judicial, national guard and naval militia, and elected public officers. (Internal and external client base)

Internal Customer Services

Administrative Services

provides general administrative and support services including accounting, budget, procurement and computer desktop support


develops, operates, and maintains statewide accounting and payroll systems that meet vendor payment, payroll and financial reporting requirements of state government

Office of Information Technology

provides and maintains secure and reliable information technology infrastructure for voice and data and manages enterprise applications used across the executive branch

Personnel and Labor Relations

provides human resource services to state agencies to include pay plans, training, labor contract negotiations, arbitration and mediation

Risk Management

provides protection of the financial assets and operation of the state from accidental loss.

Shared Services of Alaska

provides services that help other agencies perform their public missions. The division consists of central purchasing, leasing and facilities, central mail and surplus property.

Agencies, Boards, and Commissions:

Alaska Public Broadcasting Commission

provides the citizens of Alaska with an integrated public broadcasting system.

Alaska Public Offices Commission

administers the state’s four disclosure laws: campaign disclosure, legislative financial disclosure, public official financial disclosure, and regulation of lobbying.

Office of Administrative Hearings

is an independent, quasi-judicial agency whose administrative law judges hear and decide executive branch tax, retirement and benefits appeals and conduct administrative adjudications on behalf of executive branch agencies in more than forty categories of cases.

Violent Crimes Compensation Board

reduces the financial hardships caused by crime-related medical expenses or loss of income sustained by innocent victims of violent crimes in Alaska. It also provides financial payments to dependents of deceased victims.