Alaska Department of Administration
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
State Reaches Tentative Agreement with PSEA
March 12, 2014, Juneau, AK ï¿½ The State of Alaskaï¿½s Department of Administration has reached a tentative agreement with the Public Safety Employees Association (PSEA) on a three-year contract covering the period of July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2017. Monetary terms for the agreement must be approved by the Alaska State Legislature and the contract must be ratified by PSEA union membership.
ï¿½Now more than ever the stateï¿½s responsibility is to negotiate labor contracts that promote recruitment and retention of professional public safety employees while lower long-term costs and liabilities within sustainable levels,ï¿½ said Commissioner Curtis W. Thayer. ï¿½By reducing personal leave accrual for new employees, adding a leave cap with mandatory use at higher levels while negotiating reasonable cost of living and survivor benefits increases for our public safety officers, the tentative agreement reached with PSEA accomplishes this balance.ï¿½
ï¿½PSEA members proudly protect and serve urban and rural Alaskans. PSEA believes public employees should be Alaska's top priority, and will continue fighting for fair wages and benefits for our members,ï¿½ said PSEA/AFSCME Local 803 Executive Director, Jake Metcalfe. ï¿½We are pleased to have reached a tentative agreement with the State of Alaska on our contract.ï¿½
The tentative agreements contain the following provisions:
- A one percent (1%) increase to the wage schedule effective July 1, 2014, another one percent (1%) increase effective July 1, 2015 and a two percent (2%) increase effective July 1, 2016.
- Employee accidental death insurance while in state travel status will increase from $100,000 to $200,000 effective July 1, 2014.
- Reduction of personal leave accrual rates for new employees hired on or after July 1, 2014 as follows:
- 0-2 years of service accrual 14 hours per month (down 2 hours)
- 2-5 years of service accrual 17.5 hours per month (down 2.5 hours)
- 5-10 years of service accrual 21 hours per month (down 3 hours)
- 10-15 years of service accrual 24.5 hours per month (down 3.5 hours)
- 15+ years of service accrual 28 hours per month (new leave accrual tier for new hires)
- Personal leave accrual cap at 1500 hours effective December 16, 2014 (a change from no cap).
- Mandatory personal leave usage is increased to 80 hours annually for those holding under 400 hours of leave on December 16, 2014. Members holding over 400 hours of personal leave on this date are exempt from the cap; however, their mandatory annual usage is increased to 120 hours.
- Effective July 1, 2014, the Employerï¿½s health insurance contribution rate will be $1,371 per eligible employee per month after which the employer contribution shall be the amount necessary to maintain coverage under the Select Benefits Default Plan (Economy Plan).
For more information about labor contracts, contact Kate Sheehan, Labor Relations Manager, or the union representing the bargaining unit. Members of public employee bargaining units with questions about their own contracts should contact their union representatives.
For more information: Kate Sheehan, Labor Relations Manager, 907-465-4403