State of Alaska

Department of Administration

Alaska Public Offices Commission

Alaska Department of Administration, Alaska Public Offices Commission
Administration >  Alaska Public Offices Commission >  Commission >  Commission Members

Commission Members

Irene Catalone

Ms. Irene Catalone was appointed to the Public Member seat of the Alaska Public Offices Commission effective March 1, 2014 for a five year term.  Ms. Catalone resides in Fairbanks and is retired from the State of Alaska Department of Community and Economic Development where she worked as a local government specialist for over 20 years.  She has also worked as an employment specialist for the State of Alaska.  In addition to her state service she has also served as the CEO of the Interior Housing Authority and on the Boards of Directors for Deloycheet Corporation, Tanana Chiefs Corporation, and the Copper Valley School Association.

Elizabeth Hickerson

Ms. Hickerson is a Democratic member from Anchorage and was selected to fill the unexpired term that was held by William Walters. Ms. Hickerson is an attorney and retired from the State of Alaska, civil commercial section in the Attorney General's Office. She is a sole practitioner in Anchorage. Her term expires March 1, 2015.

Ron King

Ron King is a Republican member from Kenai. He retired from state service in 2010. He holds a Bachelor of Science Degree from Central Washington State College. During his 34 year career, he has held a number of progressively more responsible positions and retired as Chief of Surface Transportation from the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities. His work involved coordinating and reviewing the submission of federally required planning documents, managing all federal highway funding, Federal transportation planning certifications and funding eligibility. His term expires March 1, 2018.

Kenneth Kirk, Chair

Kenneth Kirk is a Republican member from Anchorage. Mr. Kirk has been an attorney in private practice in Anchorage since 1987. He has worked in a variety of areas including family law, probate and estate planning, collections, elections and campaign finance law. He has held many public service positions, including most recently serving on the Appellate Rules Committee of the Alaska Court System and chairing the Elder Law Section of the Alaska Bar Association. His term expires March 1, 2016.

Vance Sanders, Vice Chair

Mr. Sanders is a Democratic member from Juneau, Alaska.  He was appointed in 2012; his term expires in 2017.  Mr. Sanders is an attorney in private practice.  He and Rachel are parents to Logan (22), Jacob (18), and Molly Sanders (16).