Motorcycle: A vehicle having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more than 3 wheels in contact with the ground; the term does not include a tractor nor does it include 3-wheel all-terrain vehicles.
Motor-driven cycle: A motor cycle, motor scooter, motorized bicycle or similar conveyance with 50 cc or less of displacement.
1) Any operator under 18
2) Any passenger on a motorcycle, regardless of age
3) Anyone with an instruction permit, regardless of age
4) Anyone taking a road test for their motorcycle license, regardless of age
MOTORCYCLE (M1) LICENSE:
An applicant for an original motorcycle license (see below for motor-driven cycle) must be at least 16 years of age and must have held an instruction permit for a minimum of 6 months, if under the age of 18. If an applicant is under 18 years of age, they must have parental consent to obtain the license.
An applicant will be required to pass the following tests prior to being issued a motorcycle license. The license fee is valid for approximately five years. The license expires on your date of birth.
*In lieu of the written motorcycle test and the motorcycle road test, an applicant may present a card issued from the Motorcycle Safety Foundation showing they have passed one of the Motorcycle Rider Courses listed below. The course must have been successfully completed within the current or previous calendar year. Courses completed in other states will be accepted as well as those in Alaska; however, you must go to a DMV in person in order to obtain the motorcycle license.
MOTOR-DRIVEN CYCLE (M2) PERMIT:
An applicant for an original motor-driven cycle permit must be 14 or 15 years of age and must have parental consent to obtain the permit.
An applicant will be required to pass the following tests prior to being issued a motor-driven cycle permit.
An applicant for an original motorcycle instruction permit must be at least 14 years of age. If an applicant is under 18 years of age, they must have parental consent to obtain the permit. An applicant is required to provide several items if they have not obtained an Alaska State Identification card or an instruction permit or driver license for a vehicle. Please see the following for a list of acceptable items.
An applicant will be required to pass the following tests prior to being issued a motorcycle instruction permit. The permit is valid for two years from the date of issue. Effective July 1, 2007, a permit can be renewed ONE TIME, ONLY.
Motorcycle Licenses for Military Members:
In Alaska a motorcycle license is a class of license and not an endorsement. This means that under Alaska law a person obtaining a new class of license, such as a motorcycle license, must be examined by the DMV. Due to the requirement to appear in person, the Alaska DMV cannot make any modifications to your current class of license if you are not physically present in the State. This also applies to members of the military who may be stationed out of state.
The instruction permit is valid only under the following conditions:
a. is at least 21 years of age
b. has been licensed for that class of motorcycle for at least 1 year.
A motorcycle helmet that meets or exceeds established standards must be worn at all times the applicant, regardless of age, is on the motorcycle or motor-driven cycle.