Alaska Department of Administration, Divison of Motor Vehicles
Administration >  Motor Vehicles >  limited licenses
 

Limited License

How can I obtain a limited license?

Limited license applications can be obtained online at Alaska.gov/dmv. Make sure you use the correct form. There are no limited licenses available for driving a commercial vehicle, cancellation of driving privileges or refusal to submit to a chemical test.

You may apply for a limited license by completing the requirements on the application form and paying the non-refundable processing fee of $100.

For the 1st offense of DUI or 2nd or more offenses of the under 21 violation of driving after drinking, a limited license can only be issued for the last 60 days of a revocation.

If you have further questions regarding limited licenses please call Juneau Driver Services at (907) 465-4361, ext. #2 to speak with a customer service representative.

Misdemeanor DUI Limited License

If your Misdemeanor DUI/Refusal was dismissed in court you may not need a limited license. Please complete form 405 and submit to the address listed on the form.

Limited licenses are available after the first 30 days for the first offense and 90 days for subsequent offenses and you will be required to obtain an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) just prior to issuance of the limited license.  There are several steps to the application process.

 

Steps to a limited license:

  1. Mail the misdemeanor limited license application, and $100 application fee to:
    Division of Motor Vehicles
    PO Box 110221
    Juneau, AK 99811-0221.
  2. DMV will then review your record and mail you an individualized list of requirements for the limited license, based on your driving history. These will include:
      • Completion of Form 478 Application for Driver’s license
      • Pass the vision test (at your local DMV, no fee)
      • Pass the general knowledge written test (at your local DMV, no fee, practice test online)
      • Install an ignition interlock device (IID) on every vehicle you will be driving (Get from the interlock installer, fees set by installer)
      • Schedule and pass a road test
        • *If you have not had a valid driver’s license in the last 5 years. The road test must be taken at a DMV office, where available.  A $15 fee applies.
        • Road test must be taken in vehicle with IID installed.
      • Financial Responsibility Filing (SR 22 insurance filing form) for Alaska dated in the last 30 days(Get from your insurance company, fee set by insurance company)
      • $20 licensing fee (check, money order or credit card authorization form)
      • All holds on your driving privileges in state or out-of-state must be resolved

    All limited license are issued by the Juneau Driver Services office.  Your local DMV office can provide assistance with documenting the vision, knowledge and road test requirements, but cannot issue the limited license.  Once you have met all requirements the remaining documents requested by the DMV  may be submitted electronically to doa.dmv.jds@alaska.gov , by fax to 907-465-5509, or by mail to the address listed above.  If your application or payment is sent by mail, tracking is recommended.  Note: Submitting your limited license application does not equate to valid driving privileges.  Do not drive until you receive the limited license from DMV.

  3. DMV will mail you the limited license.  Once you receive the limited license, you are authorized to operate a non-commercial motor vehicle that has an ignition interlock device installed through the expiration date on the license as long as the limited license is in your possession while driving and your driving privileges remain valid. 

Please Drive Safely!

Felony DUI Limited License

This limited license requires verification from the Alaska Court System that you are currently participating in, or have successfully completed Wellness or Therapeutic Court or the equivalent in an area where this program is not available.  Wellness or Therapeutic court is available in Anchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau, Bethel, and Ketchikan.

Steps to a limited license:

  1. Please contact the Alaska Court System using form CR-742 for verification of eligibility. To use this form you must have successfully completed Wellness or Therapeutic Court with the Alaska Court System. If you are in an area where Wellness or Therapeutic Court is not available use form CR-741.
  2. Once you have received court verification of eligibility, mail the court form, felony limited license application, and $100 application fee to:
    Division of Motor Vehicles,
    PO Box 110221,
    Juneau, AK 99811-0221
  3. DMV will then review your record and mail you an individualized list of requirements for the limited license, based on your driving history.  These will include:
    • Completion of Form 478 Application for Driver’s license
    • Pass the vision test (at your local DMV, no fee)
    • Pass the general knowledge written test (at your local DMV, no fee, practice test online)
    • Schedule and pass a road test
      • *If you have not had a valid driver’s license in the last 5 years. The road test must be taken at a DMV office, where available.  A $15 fee applies.
    • Install an ignition interlock device on every vehicle you will be driving (Get from the interlock installer, fees set by installer)
    • Financial Responsibility Filing (SR 22 insurance filing form) for Alaska dated in the last 30 days (Get from your insurance company, fee set by insurance company)
    • $20 licensing fee (check, money order or credit card authorization form)
    • All holds on your driving privileges in state or out-of-state must be resolved

    All limited license are issued by the Juneau Driver Services office.  Your local DMV office can provide assistance with documenting the vision, knowledge and road test requirements, but cannot issue the limited license.  Once you have met all requirements the remaining documents requested by the DMV may be submitted electronically to doa.dmv.jds@alaska.gov , by fax to 907-465-5509, or by mail to the address listed above.  If your application or payment is sent by mail, tracking is recommended.  Note: Submitting your limited license application does not equate to valid driving privileges.  Do not drive until you receive the limited license from DMV.

  4. DMV will mail you the limited license.  Once you receive the limited license, you are authorized to operate a non-commercial motor vehicle that has an ignition interlock device installed through the expiration date on the license as long as the limited license is in your possession while driving and your driving privileges remain valid.

Please Drive Safely!

Mandatory Insurance limited license

GENERAL INFORMATION:

Mail or deliver the completed application to Juneau Driver Services, PO Box 110221, Juneau, AK 99811-0221.

Failure to complete all the necessary sections of the application will delay your limited license. You may be eligible for a limited license to use for work or medical care purposes if you have not been previously suspended for Failure to Maintain Mandatory Insurance in the previous 10 years.

AS 28.22.041(c)(2) You must surrender your driver’s license along with this application unless the license was previously surrendered. If you are under 18 years of age a Parental Consent form either notarized or witnessed by a DMV employee is required to be submitted with this application.

For further information please call (907) 465-4361, ext. #2 to speak with a customer service representative. Form must be completed in blue or black ink.

FAQ

Can I ride a motorcycle on a misdemeanor or felony limited license?

Yes. In addition to meeting all other requirements for the limited license under AS 28.15.201(d) or (g), limited motorcycle privileges can be granted after passing the motorcycle knowledge and skills test if required (bikes must be equipped with an IID).

The skills test fee is $15. Appointments can be scheduled online or at a DMV office.

An additional $20 licensing fee applies if the motorcycle license is later added to your Class D (regular vehicle) limited license. If you meet the requirements to obtain both a motorcycle and vehicle limited license in the same application a one-time $20 fee applies.