Welcome to the Division of Motor Vehicles
The Division of Motor Vehicles titles motor vehicles, including trailers and manufactured homes; registers motor vehicles, including trailers, snow vehicles, powered and non-powered boats, and All Terrain Vehicles, and licenses drivers statewide. The Division serves most of the Alaska population over 16 years of age by providing evidence of motor vehicle ownership and by issuing driver licenses to those qualified. The Division is also responsible for the administration of the safety responsibility law, driver improvement point system, and the collection of motor vehicle registration taxes.
Create, record and renew registration of vehicle ownership, and provide testing, issuance and reporting of driver licenses.
Supporting Alaska’s Veterans
Military CDL Road Skills Test Waiver
In recognition of the driving skills honed during military service, DMV now offers qualified veterans a waiver from the CDL road skills test. To see if you qualify for the waiver or for more information about the new program, please visit our military page at http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/akol/military.htm.
Alaska DMV Moves to Central Issuance of New Driver Licenses
May 7, 2014, Juneau, Alaska - In an effort to enhance the security of driver licenses and identification cards (ID), the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (AK DMV) is moving to a Central Issuance process starting June 2014. The phased approach begins with issuance and renewal of Alaskan driver license or ID and does not require customers to immediately obtain a new license. At that time of renewal Alaskans will receive a temporary card that acts as an official form of identification until a secured license or ID is mailed, a practice similar to credit cards or voter ID cards.
For more information Click Here
Attention Commercial Drivers License (CDL) Holders
NEW MEDICAL CARD REQUIREMENTS FOR CDL HOLDERS
EFFECTIVE May 21, 2014
A new federal requirement for Commercial Driver License medical cards goes into effect May 21, 2014, and will require that your medical examination be completed by an examiner on the National Registry as established by federal law in 2012.
Information about this program was sent to medical providers across the state. To see if your medical provider has been certified, or for more information about the National Registry please visit http://nrcme.fmcsa.dot.gov.
You may also contact the Division of Motor Vehicles at 907-269-5551 or visit our website http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/akol/cdl.htm for more information.
Please be aware: This does NOT MEAN you need to go and get a new medical card. This is strictly moving forward for drivers obtaining a new medical card after May 21, 2014. Your existing medical information will not be removed, deleted or become unusable and will be valid through the expiration dates that we have on file. For more information regarding Medical Cards click here.
New permanent registration tab for applicants 65 years or older
Effective January 15, 2014, the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will be issuing a new permanent registration tab for applicants 65 years or older who are entitled to one free noncommercial vehicle registration, or anyone with a disability who is entitled to one free noncommercial vehicle registration
The permanent tab is orange-red in color with a large “P” in place of the 2-digit year, and should be placed in the upper right corner of the rear license plate. Vehicle registrations will reflect the permanent status.
Proposed new DMV regulations
A notice of proposed changes in the regulations of the Division of Motor Vehicles has been posted on the Online Public Notice System. For PDF copies click the below links:
New Online DMV Service - Online Sale Pending
Sold your car?
To protect yourself from further liability for the vehicle after you have sold it, use our online form to quickly report the sale.
New Guide for Parents of Teen Drivers
The DMV has launched a new program designed to help parents and guardians teach their teen the skills needed to be a safe and successful driver. More information about The Parent’s Supervised Driving Guide.
No Enhanced Driver License Border Crossing Program
Alaska is not participating in the Enhanced Driver License program for border crossings. More information on the new border requirements for entering the United States by land or by sea is available from the U.S. Customs and Border Protection.