(for Ages 16-18)
You have just turned 16! You have had your learner's permit for 6 months and have a good driving record. Now you may apply for a provisional driver license. A provisional license allows you drive with more freedom than your learner's permit; however, there are still several important restrictions that you should be aware of.
- What if I'm not 16?
If you are under 16, you want to apply for a learner's permit.
If you are over 18, you want to apply for your first driver's license.
- How do I get my Provisional License?
Please note: The DMV has developed additional services to assist Alaska's rural residents with licensing issues unique to remote communities. Please read the guide to rural driving.
- Requirements to receive a provisional driver license:
- You must be at least 16 years old or older.
- You must have held a learner's permit for a minimum of six (6) months
- While practicing with your learner's permit, the adult with you must have been licensed for 1 year and must be 21 years of age or older.
- Your parent, legal guardian or employer must provide proof that you have had at least forty (40) hours of driving experience. This must include at least ten (10) hours of driving in challenging circumstances such as inclement weather and nighttime driving.
- Completed Parental Consent (form 433).
- Completed Application for Alaska Driver License, Permit or Identification card Application (form 478).
- Pay applicable fees.
- Provisional License Restrictions
- You may not carry passengers under
the age of 21, except siblings.
- You may not drive between 1:00 & 5:00 a.m.
- unless accompanied by a person who is at least 21 years of age that is licensed to drive the type or class of vehicle being driven.
- unless driving to or from your place of employment or within the scope of your employment. All driving must be along the most direct route.
- You may not carry passengers under the age of 21, except siblings.
- What if I made a mistake while driving with a learner's permit?
- If you are convicted of a violation of a traffic law, you must wait for six months before you can apply for your provisional driver license.
- If you receive traffic citations which total 6 or more points in a 12 month period or 9 or more points in a 24 month period, you must take a nationally certified defensive driving course. If you do not take a course, the DMV can suspend your privilege to drive.
- What if I make a mistake while driving with my provisional license?
A violation of the restrictions is an infraction with a $200.00 penalty and a 2 point violation that will appear on your driving record.